We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very affordable, very clean.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maridel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maridel Motel
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Patton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very affordable, very clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great value at a great price! Got a great deal at one of the travel websites and was very pleased. Extremely clean and very friendly staff. Why pay an arm and a leg when little jewels like this exist? Very basic, so bring your own alarm clock and some hangers, but other than that, it was nice to not have to shell out a lot on a room. Pool is pretty small, but it's a short drive to the board walk and close to other restaurants etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie10965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
18
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was shockingly surprised at how great this place was. I figured for a motel on bayside that it would just suffice for my one night stay. It was more than worth it though! Great prices..only $49 for a night! Flat screen T.V, A.C unit, fridge, microwave, WIFI, etc. Seriously there is so reason to pay outrageous prices at another hotel room when you can stay here, unless of course you want ocean view! The only semi negative thing is that all rooms have double beds but its a sacrifice I'm willing to make! I would most definitely recommend this place! Extremely clean to! You get the best bang for your buck!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksaunders628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We originally booked for two nights and ended up staying for five. The people here at the hotel are all very nice, the room is nice and clean. Anything you need they bring right to you. Don't expect your little travel and shampoos, bring your own. This is an old family run hotel. The pool is awesome and you are a block from the beach. Price is just right. We are looking forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My love and I took the top floor suite for an overnight stay. Although the Maridel is chock full of vintage era furnishings our experience was that it was clean and comfortable, but quite possibly in a crime strewn area that may require more detail, security, and safe procedure for their guest's parking area.
Most disappointing was the owner's, Nancy and Paul, lack of attention to the destruction of our 1994 Fleetwood Brougham while parked on their property where Paul had directed us to park. "You can just leave it parked in front there since you are just staying the night", Paul said the day we checked in. Little did we suspect that the area was so dangerous. Had we known we would have parked our car in the secured lot with the rest of the guest's vehicles.
Things happen in life and business. I am a business man. I know. I also know when a little common courtesy and at least an acknowledgment of how a patron's misfortune while being served by a business can go a long way toward's good relations and a better rating then what I am giving this motel. There was no offer of compensation for the damages to our beautiful classic car. No offer to compensate us for being up until 4AM cleaning glass out of our car at a distant 24hour Walmart so we could tape up the gaping hole in the back of our car where the window was - rain was forcasted for the day! There was no acknowledgment of their responsibility in directing us to park our car at the front of the motel exposed to pedestrian traffic. There was not even a simple 'sorry' offered up by Nancie as we checked out or by Paul as he zoomed past us with his head down like he didn't see us. Really??
Is it the Mariel's fault our car was damaged? Yes, I believe so. They know their neighborhood. Yet they directed us to park it in an exposed area. We did not have damage insurance on our car and these repairs; our return trip to Worcester County courts on Dec 4th to try to collect from the culprit Nicholas M Maher; our stay at another motel for that trip and the fuel will be out of our pocket. Some sort of acknowledgement and compensation would have been appropriate.
Too bad the management of the Maridel is so poor. The old motel itself is suffering for it.

Room Tip: Top floor suite is like stepping back into the 1950's, but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1fJef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

When we arrived, we tried to check in an hour early and they were happy to give us our room early. The check in went smoothly and quickly. When we got to our rooms we noticed that the room was outdated, but clean. We checked the sheets for bugs and stains and found none. The air conditioner worked good, as well as the microwave and refridgerator. We did notice that behind the curtains is a bar to hang towels or bathing suits and it smelled a little over there, but nothing noticeable if not standing back there. The bathroom was small and the shower was a little dirty, but nothing too unbearable. I also want to note that they do not include any extras, just the bare necessties, as far as toiletries--they only provide the towels, plastic cup and a few bars of soap, but nothing more. Inside the room, we could not hear any loud talking or televisions. Good location for convention center and other restaurants. For the money, this motel is a great place to stay! If you are visiting OC on a budget like we were, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The housekeeping staff kept the place very clean.None of the usual horror stories of places not having hot water,or black hairs in the shower.The air conditioner worked great.It was everything I expected for what I paid and it was clean.If your looking for the Ritz this isn't it BUT if you want a cool,clean room for a great price,this is it.Very quiet too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I brought a friend down with us a few years ago and we stayed at this motel. We found it to be very clean and the people were very friendly. So when my sisters family and I wanted to come down again I suggessted this motel. I called and made the reservation for 6 people, and they said ok no problem. When we came to check in the man at the desk was very rude. He asked how many people it was for and i told him and he was like "Oh that is too many people for this room blah blah blah" He argued with me about it and told me if i cancelled the reservation id have to pay the whole price of the room. Yet he didnt want al of us to stay in the room. He eventually said " if you are ok with sleeping on top of eachother idc if you stay in there" I did not appreciate his attitude and his customer service was very bad. Then when we got into the room the bathroom was very dirty the floor was dirty and we found a little baggy that looked as though it had a white substance in it. All in all....we will NOT stay there again and i will not suggest anyone else to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#64 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#39 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maridel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maridel Motel

Property: Maridel Motel
Address: 101 42nd St, Ocean City, MD 21842-3273
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#22 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maridel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maridel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maridel Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing