We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ox Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Blue Ox Bar and Grill
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are family friendly causal dining. Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Great Crabcakes, burgers and Famous Blue Plate specials. Seating available inside or outside. Full bar with drink specials all the time. Home of the Looney Bin Comedy Club. Large parties welcome.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

First off, we had two people that should have not been seated at a HIGH table. One of our party had a cane which should have clued the waitress right there! But no, they had a HELL of a time trying to sit down. Then to top off super slow service and cold food. There was a hole in the floor that my friend and I found as we walked in and out, we both lost our balance. We will not come back! Its a good thing that they automatically added the gratuity, because a tip was not in their future!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    36
    42
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pricey for a "bar and grill"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

stopped in expecting some inexpensive, quick food for lunch....im sure their $21 filet is great, but in order to stay below $10 a person you are stuck with burgers. I didnt have an issue with the food, it was great, as was the service, i just had figured they would have cheaper options when advertising themselves as a 'bar and grill'.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Family_Of_Three_PA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Would Not Go Back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Four adults went for dinner. Crab Bisque was horrible - no crab, very runny and almost oily and served barely warm. Caesar Salad was drenched in dressing - soggy. Cheese steak Sub roll too big for meat on it - all roll. Waitress hard to find after dinner served. While we are leaving, the Manager is discussing staffing for the next day and sitting at the entrance with a big plate of food eating away. Very unprofessional!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went with a group. The food was ok. the veggie of the day was zucchni aand there were no other options. The waitress said it was roasted zucchni but it tasted boiled and it was gross. The bread bar was nothing to brag about. Not sure of the purpose of 3 options of cubes of bread with 3 different spreads, sitting at the front of the restuarant by the door where it can easliy become stale.

The chicken nachos were dry. They looked old. The crab dip was good and the spinach dip was great. Both serverd with grilled pita bread. I had a bite of my husbands burger. It was ok.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetpecantandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blue Ox for dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

good food, prompt service. Friendly waitstaff, Thanks Spencer! We had a coupon too. plenty of parking, very full menu of seafood and meat choices. Very BLUE decor! Not my fave color for a dining area though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmpressBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ox Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing