We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The "worst western"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
Ranked #39 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "worst western"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I use trip advisor all the time when searching for a GOOD hotel for vacation...needless to say I am not sure why there were so many "good"reviews for this hotel/dump. Granted any best western is no where comparable to a marriott or Hilton...but the pictures and positive reviews for this location are VERY misleading. Upon arrival we were asked to pay the balance upfront whereas most hotels allow you to pay at check out. once assigned to our room/suite we found that the bed linens were covered with lipstick and brown stains?! When we told front desk and asked for another room they couldn't accommodate us or offer anything for this disgrace and simply sent someone from housekeeping to the room with MORE dirty sheets! The hotel is dated...hallways are dingy/dark old carpeting and we found that there were some rowdy guests...including someone who went banging on the doors/windows of guests cars parked in the completely filled parking lot. Talk about unsafe and inconvenienced... our room was the very last room on the 4th floor next to a loud ice marchine and dirty/unsafe stair well. While the beach is located across the street it's not however the hot spot or nearly as close to all the action by the boardwalk between 1st - 28th. While the staff seemed nice and pleasant... this run down beat up hotel wasn't at all! They say you get what you pay for....well we learned the hard way during our 1st trip to ocean city and will make.note to never stay here again. Two words/piece of advice in case you didn't gather it from this review: stay away!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swtl8dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    95
    55
    24
    20
See reviews for
98
94
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good Hotel, near to the beach. Good Value for a beach hotel. Probably need to be updated but considering the location and the price paid, it was good. Pretty Decent Breakfast is included. We like the location that was far from the crowd but not too far if we wanted to drive to the boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fxkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Recently spent 3 nights at this hotel. It is in prime OC location for young adults, so there are many 20 something's drinking and enjoying their vacation. Our room received two noise violations which clearly bothered management. On the third day we decided to stay out of the room to avoid risk of another violation. We returned at 2:30 AM, shut off the lights and hopped in bed. Ten minutes later we received a knock on the door informing us that we were being evicted for another noise violation. When I explained that no one had been in the room the entire night, the hotel staff was extremely obnoxious and on a power trip with two OCPD officers behind them. The police officers were sympathetic to us while the hotel staff seemed to see no issue with putting 6 24 year olds out in the rain at 3-4 AM knowing there was no where to go. I could have tolerated a morning eviction but you do not do this in the middle of the night. I asked to see how they filed their complaints and documented them, they refused. He responded "I can stand here all night and have a staring contest with you." It was clear that this "manager" watched us return home late and got some sort of satisfaction from kicking us to the curb. Completely unjustified and disgusting. I feel bad for the front desk workers who are genuinely friendly people. Management should be ashamed. Definitely never returning and I will be spreading the word. They jack up their prices knowing that young adults will pay for location and then they try to act like a family focused hotel. Do not come here with children on the weekend, its simply not that type of place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank excelsior27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Upon arrival, I immediately regretted our choice to stay at this hotel. There were marks all over the walls, stains on the curtains and bedding....and the place just felt really unclean.
On the second day, before heading to the beach I decided to put a small lipstick marking on each bed sheet (the room had 2 queen beds). Upon returning from the beach I noticed the room had been "serviced"..trash dumped and beds sloppily made up....with the same sheets I left the lipstick marks on. I called the front desk and told them the sheets had not been changed and requested them to be changed.
10 minutes later the manager knocks on the door with 1 PAIR OF SHEETS for a room with 2 queen beds. He stated the sheets had not been changed because they get changed EVERY OTHER DAY, and assured me they were scheduled to be changed tomorrow the third day. In the mean time he offered us the sheets to change ourselves stating "he didn't know how to change sheets" (????????---obviously code for it wasn't his job and he wasn't going to do it).
The next day, THE THIRD DAY we went to the beach and returned to the room being "serviced" and the beds being half made AGAIN with the SAME sheets that i put the small lipstick marks on.
My point is that the maid service is horrible and lazy. The management is also lazy and unhelpful. The room is not properly cleaned and the maids are too lazy to even change the sheets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanniGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've really enjoyed my stay at Best Western. The room was very spacious, equipped with sink, microwave, and refrigerator, scored a ten with me especially traveling with kids. My room was cleaned and stock and the staff were very friendly. I had such a wonderful experience being our first family vacation ever.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savon19111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechanicsville, maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is the 8th year i have stayed at this hotel for the American Legion Conveniton. I made my first reservation before the hotel was completed. It is a great place to stay and you cannot beat the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel for the last three years and every time we go we find something new for the guests. I think the biggest improvement is the breakfast. They are now serving whole grain breads healthier choices. The rooms are a little pricey but we stayed around the holidays so the price are higher. Overall this hotel is still a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Armienda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#15 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#35 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#29 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#30 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#20 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
Address: 5501 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-3144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western + Iniative, Odigeo, Otel, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Best Western Ocean City Hotel And Suites
Ocean City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing