We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, clean hotel, would return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here about a year ago with a group of friends. Convient location across the street from the beach, but far enough away from all of the action going on down towards the boardwalk. We had a suite which was large enough for 4 of us. The breakfast was a nice touch too. Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelman1979_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 398 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

From check-in to the complimentary breakfast (now with Belgian waffles!!), our stay was delightful. We stayed in a King Suite on the 4th floor. There is no balcony or view to speak of, however the room was huge and very clean. We did have a squeaky bathroom door, which was rectified within minutes of our reporting it. The staff is very friendly. Our room was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Room 421 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Love2Travel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I was also a guest in the room reviewed by Whitney C and experienced the incidents as stated.

Jim, I'm glad we put our room request in, via phone, in APRIL and didn't try to put our room request in days before arrival. I'm sure that would prove difficult.

We stayed two nights in July, Sunday through Tuesday. Overall, the stay was just adequate for our group - 7 people total - and the time we would be spending there in the room. I will reiterate that the housekeeping staff during the early morning of our check out day were unnecessarily loud as if they were yelling from room to room to each other. When asked to please keep it down, one of the staff gave a rude reply as if we were bothering them! This occurred around 8:30 am and while maybe some guests had left to head to the beach or check out, I am sure there were others besides us that were still asleep. In addition, on the 2nd day of our stay (Monday) when housekeeping came in, towels and washcloths were not replenished even though we specifically even asked for extra as we left the room. The hot waffles were good, except for the wait - which was to be expected. The distance to the beach was good.

Although this experience didn't totally ruin our trip, it didn't exactly make it totally enjoyable either. I wanted to show my girlfriends a nice time at the beach since they each came from different parts of the country. I do not think I'd stay at this particular hotel again, even with the offer of a discount.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here while I attended a conference and my wife beached it every day. The room was great, clean and very comfortable. The common areas of the hotel could have been cleaner but our room was spotless. For a hotel with many families, it was very quiet. We would stay here again, especially since other hotels in the area we almost $500.00 a night during the busy season.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCRDSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

When the reservation where made over the phone directly with BW, we were told our 2 rooms booked were across the hall from each other (a request we made). On checkin we asked before getting things out of car and going to rooms and we were told yes they were. They were not. They were down the hall from each other. When I mentioned to front desk "gentleman," he told me it's not possible to have the 2 type of rooms we booked across the hall from each other (because there were only standards across the hall from our suites). Then why were we told twice they were? And one of those times was not 10 minutes beforehand! And I saw in the other rooms when housekeeping where in the rooms and this was a lie.

Then on our second morning there, we were rudely woken up by housekeeping staff loudly speaking in the hallway about personal issues and gossiping. When I told them children were asleep and to please keep it down, one of the "ladies" laughed at me. I asked how my request was funny and she said I didn't know what they were talking about. I told them I didn't care, I was there to SLEEP not to hear their conversation. They continued to speak loudly and YELL down the hall at each other throughout the morning. Later when we were packing everything up, I found a hat and beer bottle cap from previous 'tenants.' It was clear the rooms weren't being cleaned as our rooms after our first night stay was not vacuumed, items weren't restocked and the beds were barely made. I made my concerns known on checkout and was told that we could have 20% off our next stay. Why in the world would I return to a place where the room is going to be unclean and the staff is going to rudely wake us up??

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiminoc, Owner at Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear Whitney C.
Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to provide us with your comments. There is simply no excuse for "rude staff" and an "unclean room". I sincerely apologize for this. Please know that we care a lot about how our guests are treated. You will notice that most of our reviews are "very good". We spend a lot of time training our staff on good customer service, and what guests expect from us. I apologize as it appears that we dropped the ball completely this time.

Our housekeeping staff normally gets very good compliments, and they are normally very courteous to our guests. Most of them have been with us for several years, and I was suprised by their conversation with you. I am sorry.

I believe you booked your reservation a few days before your arrival, so this made it a little more difficult to get the rooms "next to" or "directly across" from each other. We try to do whatever our guests asks us to do wihtin the scope of our operations. All of our Suites are on the south side of the hallway, and all of the standard rooms (the room type you stayed in) are located on the north side. Again we apologize for the confusion.
Jim Schneider
Manager/Owner
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I had a reservation for this hotel and and a dire family emergency arose which prevented me from leaving town. I spoke with Bob, who refused to even refund a portion of my deposit or work with me in any way. I realize that the cancellation was after the date required, but this was an emergency situation. I was very disappointed in their rudeness while being completely unsympathetic to my situation. I will never book with Best Western again.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank steacher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiminoc, Owner at Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Dear Teacher95.Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to provide your comments. I am sorry we were not able to refund your deposit for the first night's stay, but the front desk staff was only following policy. We are a family owned and operated Hotel, and look at each "cancellation" on a case by case basis. If you had cancelled and we still had the opportunity to rent your room, then it would not have been a problem. Best Western cares about your opnion and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Again I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

If you've vacationed in any east coast beach town, you know most of the hotels are relatively the same with a few bad apples mixed in. This place was well in line with your shore hotel. We had the suite with microwave and fridge and it was very roomy. Free breakfast was a great perk with fresh waffles, cereal, fruit, and pastries. Two minor downsides... you can only have one parking spot, no exceptions. I even offered to pay for an additional spot. No way. There's free parking across the street, but spaces are limited. If you get one, DO NOT move your car. As it's right next to the beach, getting one during the day is next to impossible. Nighttime is easier. Second downer is there is no pool, but we actually snuck into the one attached to the condos near the back of the hotel without issue. Good place to stay, reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FOXY0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#18 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#20 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Address: 5501 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-3144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range: $57 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Best Western Ocean City Hotel And Suites
Ocean City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing