We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barefoot Mailman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barefoot Mailman
Ranked #40 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Whenever we go to Ocean City and take our dog Midnight with us we stay here! We love that they are pet friendly, the price is extremely reasonable and the hotel is close to everything we need.

We usually don' spend much time at the hotel so we have never used the pool here (also we usually visit when it's a bit cooler out).

The rooms are not amazing but they definitely have all the necessities and are always clean. The staff have always been professional, friendly and very helpful.

We would recommend staying here if you need a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    79
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
93
74
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is the second time I stayed at the hotel, I love this hotel it is in a great location and very convenient. I had a issue this yr no hot water, it was a issue with their water heater, but their prices are VERY REASONABLE for the room as well as for the pet charge $10.00 per day no matter how many animals you have. Count me in next yr!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lashea202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Motel was great; it was a lot bigger than I expected and no doggie smells either. This was our first trip together (our dogs with us) and we were all very pleased. We had a problem with the heater but someone was up pretty quickly and fixed the issue. They also brought us a thick blanket to put under the door, there is a large space between the door and the floor and the draft was unbelievable. I would think no big deal in the summer but it was supposed to get in the teens while we were there and the blanket made a huge difference. The young woman and man that handled our heating issue were super nice, the nicest staff we encountered while we were there.

Our view was of the street and ocean, the balcony was wonderful but if you have smaller dogs like Chihuahua, Maltese, Pomeranian etc. they will be able to squeeze through the slats, we had one large and small but it was too cold to be an issue, so if you have puppies or smaller dogs, bring along a longer-ish doggie gate if you go when it’s warmer so the dogs can enjoy the balcony too. The motel supplies dog waste bags and also has a sandy dog area, but we took them to the beach, way more fun.

The carpet was clean and seemed new, the furnishings were new and modern, the bed was comfortable, linen not new but clean, there was a small TV in the room, which we both thought was too small for the room, but there were a decent amount of channels to select from. There was also a microwave, small refrigerator and table and chairs in the room. Note: you will need to pay $10.00 a day extra for your dogs no matter if there is one or three, it will be $10.00 per day. I thought that was very reasonable.

There is a sink in the room on the outside wall of the bathroom which was very convenient; there was also an ironing board and lots of closet space, extra blanket and pillow. The bathroom was nice, and the only problem with the water is that we had to wait for a while on the hot water to come in….just be patient, it will come…LOL you will know it’s getting hot after it starts to screech…after it gets going the water pressure is pretty good and they give you plenty of towels, now the towels are discolored and well, not very clean looking but they were clean, just very stained.

There is covered parking and an elevator and a snack machine in the parking area. There is also a walkway (street) to the beach that was so close, we walked the dogs on the beach every time they had to go out.…they loved the beach and the sand, and the ride down wasn’t too stressful for them (or us with them) so we will definitely be coming back and I will want room 526, it has a great view of the sunset and ocean.

It is a ways from the boardwalk (which starts around 20th street?) but if you’re with your pets, you probably drove like we did, so it wasn’t an issue. However, in the summertime, from what I read on the signs posted by the motel, the dogs ARE allowed in that area on the beach as long as they are leashed. Good to know since they ARE NOT allowed on the beach near the boardwalk area or on the boardwalk after April 30th. So all-in-all this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boo2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a joy to find a truly pet friendly motel with a well appointed room. The motel is conveniently located a few blocks from The Ocean City Convention Center and 1/2 block from the beach. There were no odors and the staff was extremely helpful. The king size beds were very comfortable. Our room had a full size, spotless bathroom as well as a large vanity with separate sink opposite the bathroom as well as a microwave and refrigerator. Each room has it's own outside balcony with chairs and table. They offer both sheltered and open parking. I would highly recommend this motel, especially if you have pets. Looking forward to staying there next year!

Room Tip: If your pet is large and does not like to climb stairs, request a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff, good value, dog friendly (which you wouldn't know without being told since the rooms are very clean and smell fresh. What a gem of a motel in OC. We will be coming back and I hope soon :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TTMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife, dog, and I had a great stay this past weekend!

Pros-
The staff were especially friendly during all interactions.
One of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on in a hotel.
Room did not smell bad (since they took dogs, expected a dog smell, no unpleasant odors at all)
Sandy dog area on property for doggy "needs", also adjacent pathway (with bags) as a backup.
Large Room with sink in both bathroom and one by one of the two beds (1 King, 1 Full).
Had an issue with the AC not working, came back that night to a brand new unit in our window.
Close to BJs restaurant (great place!).

Cons-
Little further away from the exciting parts of the boardwalk than we wanted.
When someone showered upstairs in the morning, water dripped down from the ceiling tiles into our bathroom (I told them about it and that said they are aware of the issue and are getting it fixed asap, which I believe because of the fast response with the AC unit).

Even with the two slight cons, I highly recommend staying here if you have dogs and worst comes to worst, take a cab to get from here to the bars on the boardwalk, we will next time we visit OC!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We decided to take our 3 dogs with us for a first 'family vacation'. After arriving at the place we knew accepted pets and learning they were closed (which was a blessing because it truly looked like a dump) we googled pet friendly hotels and Barefoot Mailman popped up. We couldn't get over the beautiful room complete with a microwave and refrigerator! Not only were the hotel rooms spacious and incredibly clean but the price we paid (because it was off season) was amazing.
We now know where we are staying next time we head to the ocean!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#45 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Property: Barefoot Mailman
Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Mailman 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing