We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place to enjoy the beach with your pet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Mailman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barefoot Mailman
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to enjoy the beach with your pet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I wanted to go to the shore while dogs were still allowed on the beach. I booked a room for the last three days in April, and was thoroughly pleased with the entire stay and accomodationsl. Tremendous value during the off season, with a minimal daily charg for my dog, The room was large, spotless, well appointed, and a half-block from the beach. Loved every minute, and the staff made me and my dog feel very welcome. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovemydog1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    74
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
86
69
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Claymont, Delaware
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

room was clean. never needed anything, the maids checked every day if we needed anything. the motel is in walking distance to beach and many restaurants and one of few that accepts dogs. the pool looked clean, unable to use it because too cold on our visit. they have an elevator and luggage carts for your convenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tsquared1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for a clean room, a place with an adequate pool, close to the ocean side, and the option of a dog friendly accommodation, this is easily your best choice to stay in Ocean City, if not your only place to stay. We have stayed here in the off-season and during the peak summer months, and with our dogs and without..and the service and the room quality has been consistently good. The rooms are clean and offer the simple hotel/motel accommodations that you come to expect and want, and it all comes at a fair Ocean City, ocean-side price...and there is above-average customer service from the front desk. What else can you expect. Sure the parking is tight, but this is the expectation from any of these types of hotels. Again, an ideal location . If you have expectations beyond this, look elsewhere....if you want to bring your dog, then this is more or less your only choice unless you want to spend much more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lurknomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, MD
Level Contributor
264 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Barefoot Mailman Hotel several times. They have pet friendly rooms which are very clean. They also have efficiency rooms with a kitchen which I usually try to reserve..
The office staff is very friendly and accomadating. The location is ideal for beach access. When i travel to O.C. I will always stay there. Yes, there are no private balconies, but with the ocean half block away, who cares!

Room Tip: Rooms on the end are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ms_tinkerbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were looking for oceanfront and pet friendly with a balcony. This place has it all. However, if you are wanting a private balcony..this is not private. The stairs lead up to the walkway to your room and your door opening is connected to the walkway. The bedroom area was quality. The bathroom floor and shower could be updated. We stayed here but drove with our dog to Assateague Island everyday so she could be on the beach with us. The people in the office were very nice. Parking was adequate with no complaints about this place from our party. We will definitely be returning to OC this summer (I hope)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed in May 2012 and again Oct 2012. The rooms are clean, the beds are reasonably comfortable and the front desk staff very friendly. I can't say enough good things about them! We unfortunately booked the end of September/1 October, which was the weekend of the Volkswagon street races but our wonderful hosts went above and beyond to keep the hotel quiet for those seeking some rest and relaxation. The dog loves it here.

We can't wait to go back in the Spring!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsKittyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed on two different occasions in May when the rates were cheaper. All dogs receive a goody bag at check-in. We arrived before check-in time, and they let us into our room early. The office staff was very accomodating and friendly! We felt right at home. The rooms have been updated recently and were very clean, with plenty of space for two people, and no pet odors at all. The 35th street ocean side location was perfect...far enough from all the hub-bub and noise of the boardwalk, and a quick walk to the beach. Be sure to check out the Hot Deals and Super Saver Specials on their website! Try and reserve ahead of time, especially during a holiday or special event weekend. The rates are reasonable and since it's one of only a few pet-friendly hotels in Ocean City, they often book up fast. We will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
4.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#65 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#44 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#35 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#25 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Property: Barefoot Mailman
Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Mailman 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing