We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barefoot Mailman

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Barefoot Mailman
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We just got back from the Barefoot Mailman and had a great stay there. The office staff was very friendly and check in was a breeze. The convenience of having an elevator in the garage made it easy to go get our things upstairs. Having a luggage carrier helped a lot too.
We had an efficiency room which was very clean and had no pet odors, The room did need the bathroom updated, but other than that I have no complaints. We plan on going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    79
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
93
73
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here because they are pet friendly and dogs are allowed on the beach after October 1st. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My dogs were treated like family...they even let them swim in the pool:) Great location! I just cannot say enough about my experience. Will be going back next year around the same time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katminor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've stayed here every Sept. for the last couple years( use to stay @ Castle in the Sand, then we got a dog, and they recommend Barefoot)and I have no complaints. Great place, good employees and clean. Love staying there! The front desk lady knew who I was just by my voice, impressive! We arrived a little early and they let us check in early.Clean rooms( and I'm a housekeeper @ Country Inn & Suites) and I know clean and the housekeeper(Clementine) did a great job!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. My husband, cat(s) and I have been staying here 2-3 times a year for over a decade. We first found this place while looking for pet friendly places to stay in OC. If you are a pet owner, then you know how hard it is to find a clean, reasonable place to stay in OC with pets. Other places want to charge you extra for a pet and then put you in their pet friendly rooms that are dumps. That is not the case at The Barefoot Mailman. Every room is very clean and comfortable. The staff (though I consider them family now) are truly caring, friendly, pet loving folks. I only wish that they were open year round (hint, hint to Adam!). :) Thank you Bonnie, Joy, Stevie, and the entire staff! You make this Ohio family's stay very enjoyable. Take care and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stevie the manager came to my room one of the first mornings, banging on the door and proceeded to open the door own her own. She yelled at us for "being loud" the night before. And gave us all problems about it. And soon later found out she had the wrong room. She said she was going to charge me $20 extra dollars cause we had 6 people sleeping there the first night. Which I didn't mind. Then when I checked my bank account, I learned she charged me $60. So I go the the office and she wasn't there. So when I checked out the last day, she was there and she gave me the reciept for the $60 extra charge. I asked her what it was for and gave me a complete attitude. So we were going back and forth. She said she already charged my card and she couldn't do anything about it. I asked the refund in cash but she refused. Then I told her that I was gonna give her a bad review online and she said she didn't care cause it's rated best motel in ocmd. And picked up a piece of metal and put it in my face and bragged about it. I just told her told have a good day walked out and she didn't say anything in return. One of the employees gave me a number to call. I called "Bob" which is her boss and told him what had happen and he said he would talked to her about it and call me back. Still never got a phone call back. This is the worst experience with costumer service and motel/hotel experience I had ever had. I DO NOT RECONMEND STAYING HERE!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jason195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

First thing, the room smelled like dog pee. The sheets were dirty and one bed was double the size of the other. The first night we went down, the room next to us had a few people over, which did not seem loud to us what so ever, and we were right next door. The next morning around 730am, one of the ladies that worked there came banging on the door. As i opened it, she came barging in the room saying that there were sixteen people in the room last night and that if we made one more false move and had anyone else besides the two of us in the room at anytime, they would call the cops and have us locked up, mind you we paid 140 dollars a night and they told us we couldn't have one person in the room besides the two of us.( Bullcrap). After she came in the room flipping out, one of the cleaning ladies came up to tell us that the original women felt bad because our room was SPOTLESS and there was no way we had all these people we claimed to have. We left and stayed somewhere else. Once we checked out, no refund, she did not say one word to us or apologize for acting he way she did. This was the worse experience I have ever had. Stay at the Tidelands, the rooms are reasonably priced and we had a wonderful experience there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stay there several times a year. We have never had a spec of trouble. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. They even helped us out when there was a storm at home and we had no electricity. We were able to get another room for the night, they really went out of their way. The cleaning staff there is also great. Every time they see you they ask if there is anything you need or they can do for you. I just wish they were open year round.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinbadsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#67 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#41 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Property: Barefoot Mailman
Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Mailman 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing