We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the shore for your four legged friends...”
Review of Barefoot Mailman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barefoot Mailman
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Weirton, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best on the shore for your four legged friends...”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have stayed at the Barefoot Mailman for the last several years. The rooms are affordable, big, clean and comfortable. The location is fabulous - just a quick walk to the beach. The staff is friendly and efficient. If you're looking for a place to stay with your pets (or even without) this is the place to be.

Room Tip: The elevator is a little slow - if you're going to be traipsing up and downstairs with your pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail8269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    83
    19
    13
    9
See reviews for
97
75
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed with my family in late August. The motel is only a short walk to the beach. The rooms were modest, but spacious and clean. Our room included a kitchenette, that had been recently remodeled. It included everything that we needed! The staff was courteous and responsive. Unfortunately, our 7 day vacation was cut short 3 days by mandatory evacuations due to Hurricane Irene but The Barefoot Mailman completely refunded our money for those unused nights. We didn't even have to ask! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chumledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2011

When I entered the room, the first thing I noticed was that it did not smell of animals. I have been to other hotels where they don't allow pets and they smell musty. The furniture is a little old but everything was clean and comfortable. They gave a treat bag for my little girl and she loved it. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They obviously love pets and have a little area that is well groomed to take your pet to. Everyone on my floor had a pet. I registered with tripadvisor just so I can voice how wonderful these people are. They are reasonably priced and you are near the beach. My girl loved it here! I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiscuitnBrisket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We wanted to go to the shore with our dogs so I booked a room here from 10/13 thru 10/16 to try this hotel out as there are very few hotels that allow you to bring your dog.. Rates were reasonable and room was dated and worn but clean and comfortable. No smell of dogs. Close to beach and dogs had a blast there. Had a great stay and will definitely return again soon. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to take their dog with them!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taneytown MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I just returned from staying in room 311 at Barefot Mailman. It Was GREAT!! First, the management was extremely cooperative by waiting up for us, though we arrived at 2330 hours. Even at that hour the clerk was cheerful. The room was spacious and clean. The furniture was a little old and showed it, but it was in good condition. The bed was comfortable. There are NO insect guests.
The place was full in mid-October. WE spoke with other guests and had a good time.
The management is extremely pet friendly. Every other guest we encountered had their dog. The dogs used the swimming pool. The best part: Very few hotels in OC are pet friendly. The few that do allow pets gouge the guest for $35 /night extra. Barefoot Mailman charges only $10/night and welcomes the dog with a bag of treats (NO tricks!!)
Stay at Barefoot Mailman. You wil get your money's worth.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the hot water heater. If not it takes forever to get hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have never stayed at a hotel that was so friendly and pet friendly. The staff could not be more helpful. Everything was clean and odor free. The maid was excellent, made sure you had everything you needed. The people in the office truely made you and your pet feel welcome. We had a super stay and will return for our 11th stay with them.

Room Tip: Nice view of the bay and close to the beach, no streets to cross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Really enjoy my stay at the Barefoot Mailman, Very pet -friendly. The rooms are large and very clean. Had my two small dogs with me and the staff go out of their way to treat the dogs nice. Thank Goodness, it is very hard to find a Motel that welcomes dogs. Most of guest had dogs and they were well behaved. I have already book for next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
4.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#71 of 103 in Ocean City
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#24 of 103 in Ocean City
921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Safari Motel Boardwalk
Safari Motel Boardwalk
#49 of 103 in Ocean City
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Property: Barefoot Mailman
Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Mailman 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing