We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Rideau!”
Review of Rideau Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rideau Motor Inn
Ranked #87 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Center Valley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We love the Rideau!”
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I have been staying at the Rideau for several years now. You just can't beat the location!
Everything is right in front of you.
I do think the place could use a little more updating than the furniture and paint. Other than that the staff is nice, the pool is great,parking is safe, there is a bar and funnelcake stand right underneath of you!!!
We love the Rideau and will continue to stay here!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank erikac1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    16
    14
    17
See reviews for
34
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We went to the Rideau Motor Inn for a three night stay in August of 2009 in a ocean front room. The staff was very friendly and helpful while we were there. The room was clean and roomy. Also the room's view of the ocean was incredible.The beach was straight across from our room and only seconds away from the Boardwalk. Overall i would definitely recommend the Rideau Motor Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtn. Lake Park, Md.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My husband and I drove to O.C. the morning of July 4,2009 to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I was very tired because my I had just arrived back in the U.S. from Germany. We arrived at the Rideau Motor Inn and checked into room 204, when we opened the door I thought I would have a heart attack. The room was filthy, it had one little window which looked into another room that was completely gutted. The curtain rods were rusted, the sink in the bathroom was cracked and had a big seam of caulking on it. Then there was another sink outside of the bathroom, which was outdated and dirty. I'm a country girl,and come from a small rural area, I'm definetly not a fancy girl, or a rich spoiled girl, but this was horrible. I cried for two hrs. After I gained my composure, I went to the office and ask if there were any other rooms available and the unpleasant desk clerk said not until tomorrow and it will cost you $83.00 more,so the next day we moved from one horrible room to a less crappy room. This place should be called "The Redo Motor Inn", because it needs torn down and rebuilt. I can see why they don't give refunds, because once people check in and see the rooms, they would definetly check out!!! Dave and Connie Simmons

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank connies3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Winchester,Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The room was very poor and needed a lot of make over. Very run down. Had a balcony and ocean front which was good. As much as the room cost they could at least replace the mattress which felt like sleeping on the floor. And bring your own pillows because there pillows there were so worn out that they were as thin as paper and lumpy. The service was poor. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieWinchester_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, OH
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

The Rideau is the best kept secret in Ocean City. The recently updated NONSMOKING rooms are huge, the oceanfront balcony view is fantastic, parking is safe and steps from your room and the clean pool is great! Yes, the bathrooms need updated and it's a bit of a struggle hauling suitcases up several flights of stairs. However, if you are looking for a great value the Rideau can't be beat. Five women were very comfortable in their 5 night stay in the LARGE oceanfront room. Check out the Rideau website and their reasonable prices.

  • Liked — large room and great oceanfront balcony
  • Disliked — dated bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsg5698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

My sister and I stayed here for 3 days with 5 children, ages 6 months, nine, eleven and 2 fifteen year old girls. we had a wonderful time! our room was facing the pool and was the largest room i have even stayed in, it was easily the size of 2 regular rooms, our house keepers were awesome, sure the room was old but very very clean. The pool was amazing, and the location was ideal for us with all the kids. I will definately stay here again in the future, by far the best experience i have had in ocean in the past seven summers of going there!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lillbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

This was the very first place we stayed at when we began our visit to Ocean City a few years ago. We stay here every time we visit. The reason why I love this place is because of its location ,its easily accesssible to park rides,arcades,beach,and restaurants, which are all in walking distance. After we spend all day at the beach, we can shower near the pool site,and then spend all evening swimming in the pool which is very safe for our children. When it gets real late ,we sit on the balcony overlooking the ocean and watch tourist strolling the boardwalk. The parking is free. Overall this is a nice place to stay and our children love it.

  • Liked — its on the boardwalk and close to the ocean and other events and has a pool
  • Disliked — the furniture and beds
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank oceanfront_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#86 of 103 in Ocean City
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#60 of 103 in Ocean City
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rideau Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Motor Inn

Property: Rideau Motor Inn
Address: 10 S Atlantic Ave, Boardwalk and N. 1st Street, Ocean City, MD 21842-4062
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rideau Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the best location in Ocean City within walking distance to shops & restaurants, the widest beach, oceanfront with the best views, all up to date conveniences, swimming pool, on site parking with great personal service and a family atmosphere, all of which are hallmarks of the Rideau experience. We welcome you to enjoy your family vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rideau Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Motor Hotel Ocean City
Rideau Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing