We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay, close to the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Sands Motel
Ranked #57 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay, close to the Beach”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a nice quaint motel close to the beach on 18th Street. It was clean, quiet, and the staff was very friendly. There was a stove, microwave and a fridge along with a flat screen TV and WiFi. It was at the far end of the boardwalk but if you don't mind walking or taking the shuttle you will be fine. Only problem I could point out is parking. It's limited and if there are not spots you have to park about a block away on another lot they own. Overall a great experience, reasonable price, with excellent staff, and a fantastic location!

Room Tip: Try a third floor room as it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
20
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This motel is our favorite place to stay in OC because the price is great, location is perfect, and it is well maintained. The rooms are very nice and the maid service is great. It is a family owned motel and they do a great job! They don't put up with any crap so you can rely on having a good experience there! We have stayed at many other motels in OC but for the price and location none can compare to The crystal sands!

Room Tip: Book early to get a parking space in main lot or you will have to park in a lot across a big main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location was great, perfect location near the boardwalk, right in the middle of everything. The room was nice, a good size and clean! I recommend this motel to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay. We didn't have any issues with anything at all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KelseyTripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

For a young couple that needs a cheap place to stay, this was perfect. It was very clean; the maids did an excellent job. The only thing we did not like was when we asked for a box of tissues, the owner of the motel said "Nahhhhhhhh." So bring your own tissues...haha. However we really enjoyed our stay, the location is excellent (half a block from the boardwalk and beach). We would stay here again in the future, just have to bring our own tissues!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachgoers1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
severn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Don't believe what you read this hotel was a good hotel it clean and the staff was friendly and the house keeping staff were friendly. It is a nice little quite hotel. it was great location to the beach and boardwalk. there were no security guard there when we were there so don't know anything about that. The parking was a little tight in the front parking I don't know about the other lot since we didn't park there and there was no pool that's the only bad thing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: any rooms are good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misscaryn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you're looking to have a vacation with some privacy I wouldn't go here. We caught the security guard peeking through our windows and going in our rooms. You are being watched 24/7 and cannot go anywhere without being questioned. If you take a bag out of the room the security guard will check your bag. If you are under 25 you will not get a blanket on the bed. Parking was 3 blocks away. Overall the room was a decent size and clean. There were also a few maintenance problems with our room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The security ruined the stay because they were constantly checking in the windows and knocking on the door. They gave you absolutely no privacy. Tv didn't work maids didn't do a good job overall terrible stay would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trojans23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#73 of 103 in Ocean City
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun 'n Fun Motel
Sun 'n Fun Motel
#54 of 103 in Ocean City
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Motel
#67 of 103 in Ocean City
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sands Motel

Property: Crystal Sands Motel
Address: 1705 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3634
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Sands Motel is located in Ocean City MD. We are just a block away from the boardwalk and beach! Here at Crystal Sands we provide 3 different room types: King Room w/ microwave and mini refrigerator, Double Bed w/ microwave and mini refrigerator, and also our large Family Efficiency rooms w/ 2 beds, sofa bed, dining room table, kitchenette area with stove top, microwave, and large refrigerator. We have knowledgeable staff with GREAT customer service and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Sands Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing