We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Safari Motel Boardwalk
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Gold Coast(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$170
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$319
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Manor Hotel, Court & Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$319
$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel & Spa(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$219
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$567
$511
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
100
42
33
12
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
42
33
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog roomscommon balconyclean roomsocean viewboard walkthe room was nicetrip to ocean citythe past yearsboardwalkcleanlinessbalconiesmaidlaptopporchproperties
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 202 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would like to tell you about my most recent trip to the Safari Motel boardwalk OC MD, we had the great oppurtunity to visit Ocean City Maryland for a nice relaxing and wonderful vacation. We keep going back to OC MD and of course would stay nowhere else due to the wonderful staff at the Motel and the fact that they are pet friendly, excellent location and the most convient location right on the boardwalk with the beach and ocean right outside your door. Restaurants and shops right on the boardwalk and easy acess if you want to talk the bus anywhere in Ocean City. We stayed there from Sept 25th till Oct 2nd. As usual the staff was very friendly, the rooms were extremely clean. and free ice, coffee, tea and great hospitality. Our dogs Starr and Eddie had a great time on the boardwalk and beach as well and was treated great from the staff as well. I know I have written numerous compliments and have stayed at this motel for about 17 yrs and a couple times a year. But when you find the best place there is in OC to stay there is no need to look for any other place when it could not compare to this place. Al and I , Cecelia and Starr and Eddie would like to take this time to thank Arthur and the entire staff, Yolanda and Marie for an excellent vacation again. We are looking forward to seeing you again shortly. I would recommend that everyone wanting a relaxing and great motel to check out the Safari Motel.

Room Tip: If you have pets you would want to stay on bottom floors to take pets out easier.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beach027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

In planning our vacation to ocean city the week after labor day, one of our requirements was to be able to take our two dogs with us. Safari seemed like a good choice, and it absolutely was. The "pet" rooms were on the first 2 floors and of course had tiled floors, not carpet. Nice basic rooms, VERY clean! comes with a small fridge, and coffee in the lobby. The staff was exceptional and very polite. There was the sound of pups missing their owners from the lobby, but we never heard anything in our room. We had the chance to talk with some people on the beach, and when we told them where we were staying, they said that everyone they talked to from there were equally as happy as us! A definately recommendation, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

PRO: Ok to start off with it was very clean. This place is a border line "Hotel" not motel. We felt very comfortable there. The mattress and box spring were both covered with a removable and washable cover to prevent infestations and I could tell that it was brand new. The carpet and bathroom flooring was clean and not sticky or damp ( I hate that). For a motel the room had a fridge that was not tiny and the bathroom was acceptable size. The staff was very helpful and would not accept tips (We tipped anyways :))
CON: There are no beach front views from the rooms although it is on the boardwalk, so be careful when you see beach front listed (They do however have a veranda in front of the building). Also even from the Third floor you can hear the loud music from the store downstairs which starts early in the morning.

Room Tip: Top floor would be best to cope with noise from music and people upstairs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is our second time staying at Safari and there was no question about it when we decided to go on this visit. This place is ideal for us since we take our dog with us and they are super helpful as our last time. The room was clean which is important to us and beds are comfortable. Thank you Art for your wonderful hospitality and making our stay enjoyable. The friend we had with us will also be taking advantage of your facility hopefully in the near future.

Room Tip: This location is ideal because it is right on the boardwalk and convenient to shops and beach. Perfect if you have kids (to run to bathroom in hotel), and if you have dogs (to check on them easily). It is a bit small but we did not spend a lot of time in the room anyhow especially right on the boardwalk. The aircondition unit did not bother us it blocked out any other noise (if any) and helped us to sleep better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luclog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are looking for a pet-friendly hotel in Ocean CIty, MD, the choices are few and far between. Safari Motel is right on the boardwalk and the parking is free so these are big deals. The room was tiny but clean. I am amazed by the pet fees being charged in Maryland and Virginia. This one was $30 per night and in my current location, they are actually charging $40 per night for a declawed, spayed female cat. Ridiculous!!!
At Safari, the usual amenities that we have all become accustomed to during our travels, are absent. No breakfast, no hairdryer, nowhere to hang clothes, needless to say, no iron but again this is the beach so I guess it's okay to walk around wrinkled.
I found it to be overpriced but I guess when you are on the boardwalk, it's whatever people are willing to pay.

Room Tip: I was placed on the first floor next to the front desk and ice machine. Punished for having a pet I guess since there was plenty of vacancy at the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews