We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and wow is it a dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Islander Motel
Ranked #96 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cheap and wow is it a dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

ok it was a last minute reservationand i was low on funds.
so i searched around and found the islander...it was cheap and avail last minute in august ....however it was a total dump
chipping paint bad pannelling smelly room bad a/c and just run down dirty.
it was a bad place to stay .the doors to the rooms had way old eys ...think gas station bathroom. the place was just what i guess i paid for in ocean city md. a cheap dump
please save more money and stay in a better place or change your dates but do not stay here .
i will enclose a few pick of the nathroom floor,which was cracked,
dirty and by the way lealed to the floor blow us ...oops
the walls in the bathroom were painted plywood no covering at all
gross...there was nomicrowave like my reservations said and the manager was not very fluent in english. he semed friendly but just not helpful
if this is the best 165 a night can get you in o.c. don't go
live and learn but don't stay here unless ya like the distinct experience of living in a housing project ...

  • Liked — the location to the marina
  • Disliked — the fact it was so run down and no phone/alarm clock /microwave ..nasty bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hoterwah00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    9
    24
    102
See reviews for
64
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

This hotel web site is very deceiving. The web site makes it look like a palace. It is actually a DUMP. The place is very dated, which is ok if the dated amenities function properly. This is not the case at the Islander.

The rooms were cleaned with some type of industrial strength cleaner that smells worse that the mildew and dampness that it is meant to cover. The room was dirty. We actually purchased cleaner and Lysol and cleaned ourselves.

The desk clerk boasted that the room was recently remodeled. The carpet was stained in several places, the kitchenette was built with wood veneer cabinets circa 1975, the fridge was old and didn't work well. The wood paneled walls are vintage 1965. The room door lock had evidently been tampered with and did not work properly. The door lock would stick and the key did not fit properly. The dead bolt simply did not work. The room key did not fit the lock.

The ice machine did not work. We reported this to the office staff and they responded that they knew, but did nothing t fix it in seven days. We requested towels, bath mats, hand soap, etc. twice. All we got were excuses from the staff. I finally followed one of the staff to the laundry and got towels. The next day, I had to request towels again. They finally responded with a weeks worth of towels. This was the third day of a seven day stay.

All of this only cost us an average of $138 per night. This adds up to one big WARNING. These people are liars. They are rude and do not accomodate their guests. They merely take your cash and ignore your requests. As an OC regular, I will make every effort to send people across the street to one of the numerous other facilities on the block. STAY AWAY FROM THE ISLANDER.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everthing but the location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macsrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

I've been staying at the islander for 3 years in a row and it's great, clean, fun atmosphere, but most important it's CLEAN! The price you pay for the room is excellent (compared to other motels in the area). The staff is AMAZING and willing to help you at any moment (for NORMAL/NON WACKY requests). I don't understand some of these people and there insane comments.When you go to a motel,you go to stay inside the room 24/7 or do you go to the beach, pool, shop, etc? I mean get real, It's a nice, clean, room with a bed, your not in there for no longer then 6 hours (when ur sleeping) GET A GRIP! If your going to the OC, I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Violas304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ze1okorussian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

I had a great time staying at the Islander. The motel has a nice atmosphere to it which made my stay that much more relaxing. It is minutes away from the beach and everything else you may need to enjoy your vacation to full potential. Had a great time. Looking forward to coming here again soon.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ze1okorussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

Well, this was the second time I stayed at the Islander. My family has been taking a vacation to Ocean City for years now. We booked 3 rooms. All of the rooms had a mildew smell from wet carpet, and my aunt's room's AC didn't work. When she asked for someone to come and fix it, it took 5 hours, and it was 98 degrees outside. We had to buy Lysol to spray the carpets and cleaned the bathrooms ourselves. When we got home, all of our clothes and bags smelled like the room! The only good side to this place is location. We were 2 blocks from the beach and in walking distance to food.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeesasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

Me and a few of my friends were planning a trip to Ocean City in 2004 since we were graduating. I searched the Web for a few weeks and found the Islander Motel. I printed out the pictures and all details, and we all decided on that one. It is only 2 blocks from the beach, which is amazing! It has great service and the security guard was so nice and checked in with us every night because there was a lot of rowdy people around. Only thing- it didn't have a clock/alarm clock. My boyfriend and I are planning to go to Ocean City this year (he has never been to a beach!) and I definetly filled him in about the Islander Motel. If we get to go, that is where we will be staying. I loved it and its great service!

Stayed June 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank chrystal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

Great vacation! Great price!

The Motel was very good. We had a great time. Our room was very clean and service was perfect. We stayed 6 days and had a Great Vacation. Highly recommended this Motel for people who have children.

Lyudmila

  • Liked — How nice owner are
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Adul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#67 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#73 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands Motel
Crystal Sands Motel
#60 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Property: The Islander Motel
Address: 2001 Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3549
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Islander Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a family owned and operated business, we understand how important it is to keep our customers completely satisfied. From our flexibledaily, weekly and monthly rates to our spacious, quiet lodgings, we are the perfect location for a great vacation! UNDER New Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Ocean City
Islander Motel Ocean City
Islander Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing