We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,216)
Filter reviews
2,216 results
Traveler rating
1,355
534
201
74
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,355
534
201
74
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenadult poolswim up baroff seasoncorner suiterain showerliving roomjacuzzi tublarge bathroomamusement parkfitness centershower headflat screenbeach accesslong weekendfamily vacationplenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,692 - 1,697 of 2,216 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel offers the right kind of activities that suit our family with two young children. The rooms are well appointed with two separate rooms a decent size kitchen and large bathroom with a jacuzzi. I heard from other guests about various problems they encountered but our stays have been spared any headaches with this year being maybe somewhat of an exception. Nevertheless, I rate it five stars for everything that it has to offer. Excellently spaced rooms, three pools, access to a very large beach, a gorgeous view from any floor above the first level, many free kids activities from arts and crafts to cooking classes and daily movie nights, concierge services, a really decent poolside food service (that could stay open a little longer) and Coffeshop (with some Starbucks products). The staff is overall very courteous and helpful. Is it perfect? No, but what on earth is perfect. The high cost of a room is not that unreasonable if you consider the two two room with two queen beds, a queen pull-out sleeper sofa and plenty of room for kids air mattresses or a hotel-provided crib. We book every year at least 8 months ahead to not run into any booking issues.
I would have plenty more to say about the logistics of getting these large rooms ready for customers trying to check in earlier then 3 PM while allowing other to stay later than 11:00 AM at the same time keeping the rooms to a standard of cleanliness that is necessary. Needless to say, there is lefty of room to complain if you have a hotel full of Hilton Diamond and Gold members who play their membership level trump card quite frequently.
I love this place and would not consider staying anywhere else while in OC. I consider it a home away from home.
A few ways to improve would be to train staff in the following:
- No bellman bs stories necessary if you don't want to share your carts at 8:30 PM. I doubt that 2 of 3 carts have flat tires. The bellmen are mostly very senior, so train the rookies in proper conduct. Keeps the tips flowing in the long-run.
- I should not have my floor neighbor open my room door with his key. What was that all about? I call my own customers personally for something less important.
- If customers voice concern about some clearly offensive hotel guests who need to show their white hoodie confederate flag pride shirtless (not making this up), a call from the hotel manager would be OK to calm down some nerves. This is America and freedom of speech is key and people can ink whatever they please. At least you asked for a cover up.
- You need to figure out a way to get the rooms serviced while working around your other constraints and guest personal schedules. Why not just ask a guest what works for them during their stay?

Just some thoughts to your great place even better.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank PhilAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and two teenage children spent a little under a week at the Hilton Suites. By far the best thing about the hotel is the location. It sits directly on the beach with great views of the ocean from the room balcony and access from the first and ground floors. It appears to be a private beach for hotel guests only; and, although it does fill up, there was always a spot to put down towels or beach chairs and be fairly close to the water. There are two chair and umbrella rental kiosks down at the beach for those wanting to spend the whole day. Also, the hotel is located quite close to a number of shops and restaurants and is within a half-mile or so of the beginning of the bordwalk. We walked down and took the tram for $3.00 a piece (each way) down to where all the action is further down....very convenient.

The suite itself is a small living room area with a pullout couch, a galley kitchen, large bathroom with two sinks, and a large bedroom with a balcony overlooking the pools and beach area. The living room is small and dark because of the way the room is situated with the windows at the back toward the beach. The pullout couch was not comfortable and my son ended up sleeping directly on the couch. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom had decent toiletries and plenty of towels. Service was good.

My one complaint is that the entire property, which is fairly new, seems a bit worn already. The pool had a constant film of sand in it from people coming in from the beach. It never seemed to be fully cleaned out. The bar area down by the beach was grimy and our table was not cleaned when we sat down (only plates and drink cups were removed). The carpet and walls were a bit stained in the room. The whole place seemed like it was in need of a good cleaning and paint job.

Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay. The area is quite built up so lots to do, especially for the kids and the beach is gorgeous. We would recommend for a short family trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not only was this a great place to visit but the hotel is the best in ocean city. We had four teenagers with us and all were entertained by the beautiful beach and the wonderful pools Hilton had to offer. Our room was spacious enough for the boys and the master bedroom had the balcony with a view of the ocean. It is pricey but worth every penny when you consider having a full kitchen. It is about five blocks from the boardwalk, well within walking distance.

Room Tip: I would not stay on the first floor unless you have small children. Both pools get noisy but the pools did seem to close early, about six or seven o'clock.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We truly enjoyed ourselves at this hotel. The rooms are like larger Embassy Suites one-bedroom units with a full kitchen. We were able to fit 4 teens into the living room area by using the queen size sofa bed and two air mattresses. The guys were fine with it. My wife and I enjoyed the large bedroom and the awesome oceanview terrace. While the terrace isn't huge, given the view, who cares.

It's a pleasure to find a hotel of the caliber in Ocean City. We had a great time at the beach, which was incredibly clean. The water quality was outstanding. On several occasions we were entertained by passing schools of dolphins frolicking very nearby by. The hotel also has an indoor pool, as well as two outdoor pools, one of which is for kids. For families with young children, the kid's pool is wonderful, and there seemed to be a lot of activities at the hotel for little kids. But the other pool was relatively quiet, except when one of the hotel bands was playing (a little too loudly).

The staff was great. The concierges were very helpful, and the restaurant was pretty good. I would like to see a better quality gym at the hotel. If you're looking for a laid back but quality hotel, this is a good fit. If you want a quiet, secluded space, this is not for you, nor is this a party hotel. We are already excited to be booking for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thelevinefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Things we like- every room faces the ocean- keep in mind the first floor walks out into the pool area and probably would not be able to see the ocean from their rooms. Every room is a suite, if you have stayed at an Embassy Suites, the lay out is the same- walk in the room to a living area with a large flat screen TV and a pull out sleeper sofa, next is the kitchen area with a stove and full size refrigerator, to the side of this is a spacious bathroom, continue on there is the bedroom, with sliding glass doors for the balcony that overlooks the beach and ocean. We also like the friendliness of the employees- whether it was Maria that cleaned our room daily or Steve who served breakfast or numerous people that worked the front desk. We were there 6 nights, they were on top of everything. We had a noisy refrigerator which was taken care of very quickly, we needed extra towels several times and they were brought up quickly. Most of the time there is fruit down by the front desk, also on the weekends when the USA Today is not dropped by your door they had copies of the Baltimore Sun at the desk. We had very good service in the breakfast area, we are Hilton gold so we had discount passes that took $18.50 off the bill, the service was prompt and friendly, the food was very good, fruit was very fresh, great was to start our day. Even though the hotel was sold out every day we were there we never had troubles being seated and served quickly. The outdoor pool area is very nice, you always have people reserving chairs and then not using them until much later, but we never had a problem finding chairs. The sun goes down relatively early on the pool area, particularly on the adult pool side. Given the volume of people the area to and from the beach was kept clean, including the area to spray the sand off your feet. We had one dinner in, we used the 20% off coupon we received upon arrival, it was nice to be able to stay in the hotel for an evening and not go out and wait in line at a local restaurant. Parking was a bit full, however we only had to park in the auxiliary lot across the street once during our stay. We tried to park in the parking garage mostly as the car was kept out of the sun and it made it easier just to keep beach things in the trunk and not have to lug them back and forth from the room. The hotel is conducive to young families given the spaciousness of the rooms and bedding. We also heard almost no sounds from other rooms, seldom you would have somebody yelling or talking loudly from their balcony.
We are less fond of Ocean City than the hotel. The hotel is located a brief walk from the boardwalk, which was just fine with us. Restaurants typically do not take reservations, an hour wait is common during the summer. Most have a strong bar area, not my cup of tea. The beach was very full and a bit crowded for my taste. Traffic on a rainy day moves very slowly. On nice nights many people rent scooters and drive in the bike lane, with little care. All this to say, we liked the hotel a lot better than the area. When the family gets a little older it will be nice to go back outside of prime season. We will be back!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor, on the adult pool end, we liked it a lot.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeedSomeSunNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews