We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again at the Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
A TripAdvisor Member
“never again at the Haven”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2006

We wanted to be as far down the boardwalk as possible to fish at the inlet so the Haven was thought to be a great place. Wrong! We were treated rudely from the beginning and even other visitors there complained to us on the elevator to our rooms about the attitude problem. The accomondations were really lacking and the service was terrible. The jucuzzi was dirty and no extra towels to use with it. There was no pool attendent and the pool was in a separate building across the parking lot. Also you had to park your car quite a way from the hotel. We will never go back there.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, desk clerk at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2006
We don't have a pool. You must have stayed a a different hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    25
    15
    15
See reviews for
38
38
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2006

First off, the employee working up front was beyond rude. Secondly, as we arrived in the hotel, everything looked good until we walked into the bathroom. There was urine all over the toilet, soap scum in the bathtub, open bottles of shampoo, and hair in the jacuzzi. It was absolutely disgusting that we ended up cleaning what we could while we were there. Also, there was no alarm clock, hairdryer, or iron. It is a great location, right on the boardwalk, but it's sad that no one takes care of the place. I definetly do not reccomend this place whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Coatesville Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2006

When you walk into your room it looks very nice and clean but don't look under the bed. I did to make sure we left nothing behind. The things under there were not ours. Parking stinks once we found their unguarded parking lot we had to run back to the hotel in the pouring rain with children. The management is a little rude. We used the jacuzzi and got a call from them saying that the ceiling was leaking. It was only half full.So why pay for a jacuzzi and not be able to use it with out getting a call? Oh and if you want clean towels you have to throw the dirty ones on the floor but the location is good.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2005

There is very limited parking for the hotel, mayber 6 spaces at the most. You will then have to park your vehicle without security 3 blocks from them. The hotel doesn't even have a fax machine if you would ever need to receive something. You won't be able to complain to a manager, because they claim there isn't one avaialbe. I would suggest that you never stay there.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2005

My Husband and I stayed at The Haven Hotel Sept. 9th & 10th 2005. Having never stayed there or had any information about it I was quite pleased considering the last place we took a chance on. (which was the Serene Hotel-be warned stay away.) The room itself was clean, nothing special. The only room they had available was sideview but we were so close to the boardwalk that we did'nt have to go very far for anything we wanted. I think the oceanview rooms would be much nicer. The one thing I did'nt like was the parking. We had to park our car almost two blocks away. They only have about eight parking places in the garage, you have to pay to park in front of the hotel. All in all I would stay again. but my favorite is The Holiday Inn 17th street. Already made reservations for November.

Helpful?
8 Thank sunshinebiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhgcorp, Front Office Manager at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel has changed the name to Ocean 1 Hotel & Suites.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to hosting your vacation when you return to Ocean City.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#68 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites

Property: Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Address: 101 North 1st Street, Ocean City, MD 21842 (Formerly Haven Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean 1 Hotel & Suites is located at 1st street & the boardwalk. Overlooking the beautiful beach of the Atlantic Ocean, the hotel& Suites are within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, nightlife, fishing and the amusements on the Ocean City's newly renovated boardwalk. The hotel features 16 guest rooms with a direct Oceanfront & Boardwalk view. Some rooms include an in-room two person jacuzzi tub.. We offer side view rooms as well. All rooms have a partial kitchenette and balcony. One parking space per unit. Limited on site parking and off site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing