We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Kings Arms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Arms Motel
Ranked #88 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed July 25, 2012

First of all absolutely horrible customer service. Second if something of your will be stolen police will not respond right away since the management abuses their services so much calling the cops for NO reason. For example when our friend who DOESN'T stay with us wanted to use the restroom in our room not only the cops were called but also we were yelled by the management. So if you wanna have a good vacation spend extra dollars but stay away from that place. A quote from one of the managers "We have our clientele so you can pack your stuff and leave". And I bet their clientele is their family members and friends since noone else will put up with that craziness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I chose this motel for the price, pool, close proximity to restaraunts & Jolly Roger amusement park. It is not the Ritz, don't expect 300 thread count sheets, or anything like that. There were no toiletries, which is fine for us as we brought our own. Really the only cons for me was that the mattress wasn't super comfortable, and that there were people smoking & drinking out front most of the day & night. I traveled with my young daughter, mom, & sister. Over all, the value is pretty good! You ice get cold A/C, mini-fridge, microwave, pool with outdoor shower (so you can clean up from the beach), its 1 block from the beach, and our room had laminate wood floors. Restaraunts are within walking distance, there is a beach store next door which came in handy for my family, pancake restaurant a few doors down, Jolly Roger amusement park is right across the street, 1 block down. We had an enjoyable stay here and would reccommend it for budget-conscious travelers!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BunnysMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A friend and I along with a total of 4 kids stayed for 2 nights and found the manager and staff to be extremely rude and unpleasant. The lady even yelled at a friend of ours who stopped by to chat and told her to go home now and that she couldn't sit at the pool unless we paid for her. The rooms were not great, smelled and were very dark. Even the main lobby area was so mildew smelling that I had to cover my nose when we walked in. The only thing nice about the place was the pool and I think it was only because it was so hot! I would never stay in this motel ever again. Not only did the manager ruin our first few days of vacation, but the accommodations were terrible!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katec57589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My husband and I always go to Ocean City MD on vacation. We never stayed at Kings Arms before and saw that their prices were cheaper than the place that we normally stay so we decided that we would try it. NEVER AGAIN will we stay there. The rooms really do smell like mold and mildew, and it is like you are staying in a dungeon. I read StaceyB2011's review and thought maybe she just had a bad experience, well no because my stay was the same way.

We arrived right before the hurricane hit in August. When my husband and I were walking the boardwalk we heard from the loud speakers at several other hotels that there was a mandatory evacuation of Ocean City. When we went back and asked the people at our hotel they said that didn't know what we were talking about. They would have let us stay and be stuck in the hurricane if we wouldn't have asked around. After complaining to the staff that we wanted our money back because we paid in cash for the 4 night stay we were to have the finally refunded our money. BUT ... when we got home we see a change for $160 on our credit card, which was almost double the room rate for one night and we didn't even stay overnight. THE CITY HAD TO BE EVACUATED, so of course we didn't stay. We had to call and dispute the charges on our credit card after we called the motel over 5 times and never received a response.

I have stayed at many places in Ocean City over the years and this is by far the WORST place I have ever stayed. I am not normally a person that would right a review, but our experience was so terrible that I wanted others to know so that they do not have to waste their time or money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lacy0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have been staying at the Kings Arms for many years. It has always been an enjoyable stay at a reasonable price. We just came back yesterday from bike week there and had a great time. If you want a nice quiet place to stay this is it. We reserve the same room every time we go there. It is one block from the boardwalk or the bay. Mike Postick Ashland, PA

Room Tip: We like second floor because you can see the ocean and the bay from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mike17921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

An economical place with no frills. The room was clean and included a table and two chairs. We had a king bed - pillows and bed were both comfortable. There was plenty of room for our coolers, bicycles, and luggage. Room included a microwave and a refrigerator. Initially the refrigerator was turned off and i was worried it didn't work, but it was up and running well by the time we came back from dinner. The microwave worked fine. We couldn't find the channel we wanted to watch. The service guy was very sweet and came back twice to help us find the program. The pool was clean with plenty of chairs, but located next to a busy street. They have an outside foot shower. Bring your own shampoo/conditioner and tissues. The towels were small and thin but did the job. The maid gave us some extra towels. A (7-11) convenience store is two blocks away, the beach and boardwalk is one very small block away. The motel is situated just outside the busiest area of the boardwalk so the traffic is a little lighter. A great location. Close to miniature golf, restaurants, and amusement park. I would stay here again for the price and convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I wish after reading these reviews on this motel I could've cancelled and not lost any money. One person commented on how bad their clothes all smelled of mold, she was right. At first it smells damp when you walk in and then you shut the door and you feel like you are in a dungeon. It was very dark. I noticed the smell on my sweater I wore out to dinner one night, it made me sick. Not to mention that we weren't told that it was Senior Week the week we made our reservation. The mouths on these teenagers. We couldn't even sit out on the chairs because of their language. So I have decided for all future vacations I will only at better name hotels or condos, yes I expect to pay more but after having to wash every piece of clothing twice and having the feeling I did everytime we had to walk back in that place, I don't care how much it costs me. Please keep looking. This is the perfect place for rowdy teenagers, not families.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StaceyB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.0 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#74 of 104 in Ocean City
41 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#75 of 104 in Ocean City
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#39 of 104 in Ocean City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Oceanside Inn
Casablanca Oceanside Inn
#86 of 104 in Ocean City
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Sands Motel
Crystal Sands Motel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#73 of 104 in Ocean City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Motel

Address: 2403 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3427
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $56 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Arms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Motel in Ocean City Maryland invites you to relax and enjoy your summer vacation in our clean, comfortable and friendly motel. Our convenient location is a half-block from the Ocean City Beach and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We provide three kind of rooms, rooms with two double beds, rooms with one king bed, and rooms with one double bed. The Kings Arms Motel is within walking distance of Ocean City's amusements parks, as we are located on twenty fourth street and Baltimore Ave the Jolly Rodgers amusement park is just four blocks from our motel, many fine restaurants as the Embers Seas Food Buffet is just across the street and Phillips Buffet is just three blocks down from us, and the Ocean City Beach just half a block from the motel. All of our rooms are non smoking and equipped with satellite TV, wireless internet access for free, refrigerator, microwave, air-conditioning with heat, hairdryers, an outdoor swimming pool with a sun deck, free parking for one car per room, and private bath. Complimentary coffee and tea is available in the motel lobby every day fresh. Our goal at the Kings Arms Motel is to make your summer vacation a relaxing experience so you can enjoy that time with your family or friends. Families, groups and couples will find our quiet, clean, and comfortable motel ideally suited to your needs. We maintain a quiet and relaxing nighttime atmosphere so you wake up refreshed and ready for more of Ocean City's beach and sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Kings Arms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing