We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Seabonay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seabonay Motel
Ranked #69 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Halifax, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

If u r looking for a place to just lay your hat, this could be the place. We had 2 children with us and the room had one chair. we were to have a view of the pool but we had a view of the trash, which at times was so big that u had to step over it. The room was not clean and the beds were not comfortable. the pool had garbage in it...a large pickle and some other things that ....OMG. there was a group of ppl hanging out of the steps when we went to check-in...made us feel very uncomfortable. Would not stay there again...for the money we will find some where else to stay.

Room Tip: some rooms maybe quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    28
    14
    44
See reviews for
63
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 5 pm. Had very uneasy feeling when we went into the one small room lobby. Room was on 3rd floor. Floors felt like were going to fall through.pix on Internet shows hotel standing alone on beach. Reality it is surrounded by hotels and motels. No beach front as advertised. Mattresses very old and thin no support. Very musty old smell in
room. Ice machine tray had black mold on it. 9 pm same night of arrival lights went out on section of hotel including our room. No electricity!! You could smell smoke in our room and the next room. We packed our bags and left. Luckily we were able to find another hotel the same night. Our vacation wasn't ruined. We found out from another guest who left the same night and ended up at the same hotel weaves to that the electric came on at 9 am the next morning!!! They tried to say it was a transformer but no other facilities lights were out! Very unsafe and dangerous hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapirillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

New Florence, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Pleasant, friendly,hospitality. cleaning staff excellent!! General Manager, Brook Hamrock (United alumni) was awesome! The rooms served our purpose, we were there for the beach and night life. Can't wait to visit again, and again. Thanks again, Michele

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fancy? No. Pleasant, friendly, efficient staff and clean rooms? Yes! A few steps from the beach and even has some oceanfront rooms. Even from our side-facing room, we could see the ocean. It's a perfect place for people who go for the beach and the town and not the hotel. It is comfortable just not like the expensive hotel next door. We love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strack83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

That was my first thought upon arrival. I've stayed at some crappy hotels/motels in OC, but this one was King Crapper. The carpets are stained (blood? I hope not)...the paint is peeling everywhere, the railings are wobbly, the pool stairs were broken and the paint is chipping inside, the ice machine was broken, the tv power button was broken, the floor had rotten spots were you could fall thru if you jumped. Seriously has not had ANY updates in YEARS and for 250.+ a night, I couldn't figure out why. For an added bonus, the partiers were on the patio all night long yelling and cursing, but when I called about it, nothing was done. No surprise there. PS - If you smoke, you'll feel right at home because everyone smokes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 871traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights on the 1st floor for over $600. First problem was there was 3 spots where the floor was falling through. The entire room smelled of mildew and there was rust in our bath tub and on every hinge of every door. The bathroom had flies all over the place. The water pressure was horrible. Our television had several blocked channels that the manager told us was impossible. Took a picture showed him and he said, "Hmm, never seen it do that before". The towels were so thin and rough you had to use your own to even have any comfort. The swimming pool had cracks and peeling paint on the bottom of it. The only plus side of this stay was it was within walking distance of the boardwalk and tram.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I wouldn't say I was wowed or anything, but I do agree with most others that it's within walking distance to the boardwalk and many restaurants, shops and literally right on the beach, however it could use some TLC. I have been going to OC for years and have stayed at many places including older motels such as the Oceanic, so I do know it's not the hilton or anything like that. I will see we did have excellent customer service, the room was clean, but very outdated and the beds were not very comfortable. It did have a pool which was nice and free coffee and fruit so that was a nice perk in the morning

. I only stayed one night, paid $110 for a double room with the pool view, I wouldn't say it was worth the $110, but it was probably that amount since it was at the end of the boardwalk and oceanfront. Would I stay again? Eh maybe, maybe I just need to try a different room, but it wouldn't hurt to update it a little bit during the off season. Id say maybe new wall surrounds in the shower, new shower curtains, perhaps new mattresses and new mini fridges (ours didn't work very well). Maybe those couple of things and it would look a little nicer. But like I said I wouldn't totally write it off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank apierce88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#45 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Motel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabonay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabonay Motel

Property: Seabonay Motel
Address: 2711 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabonay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block north of the boardwalk, the Seabonay is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. All rooms are air-conditioned with a refrigerator and two double beds. All rooms share a walkway balcony. Feel free to take a swim in our 8ft. deep outdoor pool or if the beach is what you’re after, the Seabonay is directly oceanfront. From our location, you will be within walking distance from restaurants, amusements, the boardwalk and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Seabonay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabonay Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing