We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“August 2012” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabonay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seabonay Motel
Ranked #70 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
anurse98
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“August 2012”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our experience with this hotel was horrible. Most of the staff was arrogant. The price was no cheaper than most of the other hotels for the end of August. The room was dirty and the bathroom was covered with mildew. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel did refund our money and it is in a nice location.

Room Tip: The room was dirty and the bathroom was covered with mildew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anurse98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    28
    14
    44
See reviews for
62
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

By far, the worst accommodations, even at this price, I've ever had. Much of bathroom was broken, moldy, and/or dirty. I could scrape soap residue off shower wall with fingernail. Wallpaper was patched numerous times. Clothes rack fell off its makeshift holders and cracked wife on the head. Thankful that kids are unharmed. I would not pay $39/night for this room again, let alone the $149/night labor day weekend price extorted.

Room Tip: beach side would probably have a better view, at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lds1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Brush Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights. Great Location...very close to the boardwalk and restaurants. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a small refrigerator in the room. The oceanfront view was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_K74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here 2 weeks ago for 5 nights. This motel is very run down. Between our family members we had 3 rooms. Two rooms smelled terrible. Like cat urine. When we checked in the carpet had wet spots that never dried. The towels and blankets are stained. The maids cart looked very disgusting. They found the guy who sweeps the floor stoned/drunk and asleep on the second floor balcony in the corner. One day we didn't even get towels. The overall feel is that you don't want to touch anything. Our toilet seat was cracked in half, took 2 days to replace, and was replaced with a seat too small for the toilet. Everything is chipped and semi dirty. When we were swimming a guy was there hosing off the patio and skimming the pool while we were in it. If you are looking for a place that's cheaper and you don't care about what kind of room you have, go for it. We still had a great vacation on the beach - if you like a comphy room and nice looking place go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here last year for a long weekend at the beach. Very affordable and close to the boardwalk. The rooms are clean and basic, but how long are you in the room? The beds are quite comfortable, and it has a small frig. A microwave in each room would be a plus! We will definitely return for another stay !

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center. Pool view is more economical since you are on the beach and not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We decided to book at the Seabonay based on cost and location. After reading all the reviews here, we did not have high expectations going in so we were not surprised that the motel was old. We were given a third floor room, which is smoking floor...being non smokers the rooms smell bothered us but it was tolerable...people were smoking on all floors as were staff so dont think it would have mattered what kind of room we had. The room was definitely run down and bathroom was old as well. Air conditioning didnt work great but we didnt go there to sit in motel room. It served its purpose for comfortable beds ( no bed bugs), a hot shower and great oceanfront location. We would comeback to Seabonay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This motel is outdated. The pictures were very deceiving. It's very old. The outside and the rooms are not clean. The airconditioning did not work well. The terrace looks like it's going to fall apart. However, the pool was nice and the beach view was nice. If they fixed it up and modernized it, it would be a great place to stay. Not worth the money spent for an oceanview room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#42 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#64 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#54 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunes Court
Dunes Court
#48 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabonay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabonay Motel

Property: Seabonay Motel
Address: 2711 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabonay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block north of the boardwalk, the Seabonay is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. All rooms are air-conditioned with a refrigerator and two double beds. All rooms share a walkway balcony. Feel free to take a swim in our 8ft. deep outdoor pool or if the beach is what you’re after, the Seabonay is directly oceanfront. From our location, you will be within walking distance from restaurants, amusements, the boardwalk and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Seabonay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabonay Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing