We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2012 stay”
Review of Plim Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plim Plaza Hotel
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed June 8, 2012

we were at the Plim, May 28 thru June 2 2012. We know they put a lot of money into repairs because one could see them. Our room had been redone , new paper, new bathroom tub lining, new service center, refrig and micro in room, nice touch. no more going to the lobby to heat any food. Soda machine - still 40 cents

Room Tip: we stayed lobby level and poolside room. Staff great and friendly as ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank memehazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 458 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

Been staying here for the past 3 yrs!!! the first yr. we stayed pool side which was a great view and could hear the live music..loved the pool and the hot tubs!!! wasnt pleased about the seating outfront on the boardwalk seats were always full!!! last year was not PLEASED at all got stuck in was seemed like a dungeon..when u looked out the windows all you seen was a brick wall!!! Not to mention went to the beach and came back to the room to find 2 maids in our bathroom using our hairspray and combs to do there own hair..wtf!!! ewww.. I think the best part about this hotel is the parrot and how close it is to the boardwalk and ocean!!! think this place needs some major upgrades!!! would bring alot more people in if the rooms were bigger and cleaner just sayin...........

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

i stayed at the Plim Plaza aprox.12 summers ago and never went back until I went to the beach over Memorial Day and my co-worker was staying there and I met her at the bar/restaurant they have there. She and her boyfriend were staying there and were very upset over how disgusting and dirty the room was. I told her I wish I knew she was staying there I would of warned her! We all went up and checked out the room and it was as I remembered only alot worse. Paint peeling off, dirty smelling, mold in bathroom, for God's sake how are they passing inspections? They need to tear it down and start over! Great location but don't let that fool you. Been going to OC for over 20 years shop around many decent clean hotels close to the boardwalk. Don't take the risk of getting sick.

Room Tip: Spinnaker on I think 18th street awesome. Safari on boardwalk, not fancy but clean and reasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great location, but will not stay there again until improvements are complete. The smell in the hallway was a rancid combination of Final Net Hair Spray (from the 70’s), Old English, Mold, Body Odor and Heat. Although they were making improvements to the pool deck, they were patching carpet in the hallway which implies the smells are there to stay. The first thing I did in the room was clean dried toothpaste off of the metal shelf. The cleaning staff was friendly, but do not understand common courtesy. One morning at 8am, we were awakened by a maintenance man talking very loudly on his cell phone while he paced up and down the hallway. Another day, I was walking behind a cleaning person who walked very slowly. She would not speak nor allow me to pass her. Cushions on lobby furniture were stained and the furniture did not match. The beautiful front porch is full of cigarette smoke...all day long. The room was tiny, but had new windows, new shower insert and tile, new carpet (although dirty), good A/C and the configuration of closets and bathrooms insulated it from adjacent room noise. The staff was super sweet, and we met several nice people in the lobby area.

You have a great location, dedicated staff, and guests who would pay a bit more if changes were made: I recommend - replacement of all hallway materials, no-smoking enforcement on front and back porch, new sheets that fit snuggly to the bed (slide off when you turn and expose you to mattress), train cleaning and maintenance staff on hospitality, reward front desk staff for hospitality, enforce a uniform (matching shirts for all staff), offer discount coupon to guests for food or drink at your pool bar to encourage use. Replace the furniture in lobby with quality materials that match - to encourage use. You are doing a lot of things right, and I wish you well.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere until improvements are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

When we checked in, we could tell the staff was overworked and undertrained - from waiting in line until our time came to check in, I kept envisioning the soup nazi... "No ROOM for YOU!"

That was the hightlight of our stay at this pit of stale cigarrette smoke, moldy carpeting and "forgiving" floorboards, but wait the best is yet to come!

Every time the people in the room above us flushed their toilet, water cascaded down our wall.

We couldn't get out of there fast enough.

This place needs to be razed and a new property built. With all the money pouring into OC, there should be regular inspections of hotels. The inspector or licensing agent who certified this place as safe needs to be investigated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

we have stayed a few times for my wife's family get togethers and while the staff is very nice the rooms are horrendous . Our last stay we spent the extra money to get a porch room hoping it was in better condition than the rest of the place , it wasnt .The AC broke 3 times and had to be replaced once at about 2am .The window in the bathroom was busted and one of the windows was half way out of the frame . The floor in the bathroom smelled of mold and the floor was spongy , my foot went right through it . It was all together dirty too . We had to wait an extra hour to get the room because they were "cleaning" it . There was debris on the floor after the "cleaning" and an extra hours wait for them to do nothing .Dont go here unless you like a dilapidated hotel , if this place wasnt on the Boardwalk it would have been raised long ago .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drube77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I've been staying at The PLim Plaza for years. Last year was my last.
The rooms were dirty, the staff was rude. The entire week we stayed neither the pool or the jacuzis were cleaned.
You could see hair and oils floating on top. Horrible.
Lastly we got woken up at 4:00 am in the morning by a fire alarm which was a false fire alarm, but everyone had to be evacuated cause some ex. employee got fired supposedly and wanted to go out with a big bang.
You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JBosco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#55 of 104 in Ocean City
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#18 of 104 in Ocean City
1,001 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#5 of 104 in Ocean City
880 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#56 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plim Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plim Plaza Hotel

Address: 104 N Baltimore Ave, Boardwalk and 2nd St., Ocean City, MD 21842-4019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range: $116 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plim Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plim Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of the boardwalk, directly on the ocean. All of our rooms come with a refrigerator. During the day, grab a drink at the Caribbean Bar located next to the Olympic sized outdoor pool. At night feel free to relax on the spacious front porch and watch the people go by or head out for a walk and see what you can find on the boardwalk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plim Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plim Plaza Ocean City
Hotel Plim Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing