We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July 2013 Beach trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marigot Beach Suites
Ranked #43 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Toms Brook, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“July 2013 Beach trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not a bad place to stay but did expect a little more. Give this an overall 3.5 rating. I have been at better places but also worse. Things I liked - great view, wonderful master bedroom and bath. Size of condo was good, love having the washer/dryer, beach bar, and restaurants were great. Breakfast buffet was a plus. Evening meals a little pricy. Things that could have been better; a working fridge. We had to keep coolers in the room because the fridge would never get cold. Got stuck on the elevator twice. This was probably due to the age of the building itself. Outdoor pool was not big enough to accommodate all the guests.

Room Tip: Don't count on the sleep sofa unless you bring foam or air mattress to add. If you need to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Marigot Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I'm sorry you had problems with the refrigerator in your unit. If anything like this happens in the future, please contact the front desk so maintenance can remedy the situation as soon as possible. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    109
    55
    30
    21
See reviews for
171
27
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a 1 BR condo on the first floor as part of a group of 6 other families for our yearly family reunion, and I have to say we were very pleased. I was very nervous having read some of the other reviews about cleanliness and bugs and being dated and all, and I suppose we stayed during a time when some phases of the renovation have been done already. Yes a little dated but really for the age of the property we felt it was well maintained (at least our unit was). No problems at all. Clean, no bugs, clean linens. We loaded up before we came with food items and drinks. I cooked ahead of time and brought. We only ate out twice, having all we needed to make our meals in the kitchen. It was clean and spacious enough. If we needed anything we just called guest services at the Clarion and they assisted immediately. We only called 3 times- once for towels, then a broom, and then late checkout on departure day. The view was great though we were just on the first floor. The beach was lovely. The kids enjoyed the pools. We actually never used Marigot pools (didn't know they had until the last day). We went to several attractions all within close driving distance for the 15 kids in our group. The boardwalk was nice. What else? Free parking and wifi was also great! We stayed at the Hilton the first time we came to OC 3 summers ago and while it was also very nice, we will never blow that kind of money again. We definitely got much more value the money spent. Also I think if you book through the Clarion the experience is much different than if through an agent that's renting an owners condo as you won't be able to vouch for the condos condition. Again we had no problem at all and would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Uzogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Marigot Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate your review, and your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing your family again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

On the plus side:
- location in North Ocean City
- beach front
- spacious accommodations
- nice balcony
- you can hear and see the live music at the deck bar at the Clarion next door
- AC worked great in blazing heat
- folks were nice

On the down side:
- dated, kind of dingy building, dirty elevators
- living room furniture was stiff
- no shower curtain in one of the bathrooms
- found a used bandage in one of the bedrooms
- lock stuck on the door
- dishes from previous occupant were left in the dishwasher and the detergent packet was still glued to the receptacle

On the picky side:
- trash was among the dunes below our balcony. Might be OC's job to pick it up, but for appearances if nothing else, I'd think the Clarion would take care of this.

On the confusing side:
What is the Clarion doing with this building? Some owners still own condos, but we were just left wondering what the plan is. Is the Clarion going to eventually buy all units? Are they going to renovate? Or is it just an additional place to rent space next door to the hotel?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollisKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Marigot Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Some of the units are in need of updating, and we diligently work on renovations on the off seasons. I do apologize for the oversight of the shower curtain; a housekeeper must have forgotten to hang a new one. And I sincerely apologize for the used bandage found in the unit. There is no excuse for that, and I've passed that along to the Director of Housekeeping.

We own 80 of the units in the Marigot Beach building. As I said we are renovating in the off seasons. We rent these condos along with our hotel rooms, so they are a continuous part of or inventory. We don't know if more will be purchased or not; it depends on the availability of the units and our needs at the time.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Marigot. I like the availability of both the indoor and outdoor pools. The health facilities are fantastic for being a hotel! I like that we are half an hour from the outlets and half an hour from the boardwalk. We always enjoy listening to the band each night although I believe the drinks are a bit pricey. The negative part was that our condo needed a little remodeling work in the kitchen. Plus, it wasn't really a functioning kitchen -- no blender or mixer and the silverware was sparce. Other than that, we had a wonderful time and hope to go again next year if we can get a discount.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbb1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Marigot Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are constantly renovating in the off seasons, and we will start again after we say goodbye to summer. Blenders and mixers are not part of the standard set up in the condo kitchens, but there should have been full sets of utensils. If you ever check in, and you're missing utensils, plates, bowls, etc., please call the front desk, and we will bring you what you're lacking. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

2nd time staying here. Condo was clean. A little outdated but nice location. Outside pool is a little small for both hotels but there are 2 inside pools too. Nice to have kids activities like face painting offered. Poolside bar is awesome. Food at Horizon's was fair. A little pricy. Easy access to beach. Very disappointed in hotel staff though. Someone was parked in our parking space everyday and staff did nothing about it. Just told us to park in staff parking. Very inconveinent. Also needed a handicap space and they were always full. Only have 4 spaces for handicap. Also very inconveinent. Would stay here again though. Overall great place to stay...stayed in room 409.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Marigot Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am sincerely sorry that you had those parking issues. Telling you to park somewhere else is not an acceptable answer. If you have problems in the future that you feel aren't being resolved to your satisfaction, please contact Mark Elman, General Manager, and he will see that your situation is resolved to the best of our ability. Again, my apologies, and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore Suburbs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just coming up to the end of another great week in Ocean City. Fifth or sixth year in a row we've stayed at Marigot Beach. Skimming through recent reviews of this property, I found it important to weigh in once again (I rated this property last summer too).

I keep reading comparisons to the Hilton and the Holiday Inn 17th St., both of which I've stayed in (we typically stay in a hotel during the offseason, due to downtown O.C. not being as noisy offseason, and because our length of stay is shorter so we don't need the amenities provided at the Marigot). First of all, it's silly to compare a suite to a condo. The condo has two bedrooms, a sizable living room, a dining table that seats six, and a FULL KITCHEN with refrigerator, freezer, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, pots and pans, dishes, and a washer and dryer. The suites at the Hilton and Holiday Inn have a fridge and microwave, and the living room is tiny. If you have more than 4 people, someone is sleeping on the sleeper sofa--ugh.

The Marigot Beach two bedroom units have a bedroom with a king bed, a second bedroom with two double beds, and they've recently updated the units to include a flat screen TV in both bedrooms plus one in the living room. There is a spacious walkout oceanfront balcony that connects off the living room and master bedroom. There are two baths, one off the master bedroom and one in the hallway between bedrooms. Several reviews rightfully point out that the place is clean, but could use updating. I've spoken to a Housekeeping Supervisor several times in the elevators (there are 3 elevators for 12 floors and 144 units) this week, and she's conveyed that this past winter they completed phase one of the renovations (new linens, flat screen TVs, curved shower rods) and phase two kicks off this coming offseason.

The nightly price for one of these condos in peak season is comparable, and sometimes less, than the price of a suite at the Hilton or Holiday Inn. And you get so much more. If your kids are 8 or older, the pools at the Hilton and Holiday Inn have no value, as the water slides at both are designed for very little children. At the Marigot Beach, you have access to the indoor pool at the condos (nothing to be excited about) as well as the great outdoor pool next door at the Clarion, the fun and large indoor pool at the Clarion, and the two hot tubs at the Clarion. The Health Club/Spa at the Clarion puts the Hilton and Holiday Inn to shame, with a steam room, hot tub, eucalyptus room, and tons of equipment.

Perhaps what I like best about staying here is the various places to eat at the Clarion. Because you're a Clarion guest while staying at the Marigot, you can sign checks to your unit--no need to carry cash. Choices include Lenny's Beach Bar and Grille, with table service, an oceanfront bar steps from the outdoor pool, and a carryout counter as you enter and exit the beach. Best of all, you don't need to walk up to the bar if you want to relax: their servers will serve you at the pool OR on the beach! Beginning at 4 everyday, a live band plays on the deck, and there's a huge deck party every Monday with food and drink specials.

Inside, adjacent to the indoor pool, there's another bar with the same food and drink choices. Then, there's an adjacent "regular" bar with tables and lots of TVs that connects to the main restaurant. Down the hall, there's a large nightclub with live nightly entertainment.

The bottom line is, there's a lot more comfort for families here at a similar pricepoint compared to the "all suite" hotels. Hop on a bus and you're 20 minutes away from the Boardwalk and Jolly Roger, and half that time to reach Seacrets, Macky's, Fager's Island, and Fish Tales. I can;t wait to see how the remainder of the renovations unfold this offseason!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Marigot Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the awesome review and your continued patronage! It truly is good to know that you appreciate the condos and the available amenities at the Clarion. We will see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The room711 was dirty when we got here this week. The kitchen and bathrooms has not been cleaned in months. We have ants in the room and room service responded with bug spray for flies. We complained again they came up and were going to spray the kitchen with our food right there. Besides the fact they couldn't speak English to help us. We had our dinner out and it was covered in ants. I have not seen anyone clean anything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedee718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Marigot Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you had with condo 711. The units are cleaned after each guest checks out; but I'm sorry they didn't appear to be so. I have spoken to the Directors of Housekeeping and Maintenance regarding these issues, and they have since been taken care of. I hope you give us a second chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.0 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigot Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Beach Suites

Property: Marigot Beach Suites
Address: 10002 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marigot Beach Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigot Beach Suites offer 1, 2 and 3 bedroom Oceanfront suites fully-equipped with kitchen, washer and dryer, and a large balcony. Enjoy the fabulous ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marigot Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigot Beach Condominiums Hotel Ocean City
Marigot Beach Condominiums Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing