We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for families!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place for families!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place is great. Very nice indoor pool. Very good for families with young children. The people are very friendly and the pool lifeguard was great with the kids.
My dauther left her blanket the when we left. We called them a week later and the found it and sent it to us.. Great job guys!!! Thank you soooo much.
Only a few miles from the wild horses.. They are there all year long and are a must see.. I would send anyone to stay here. And have told a ton of people about our time at this hotel. If you are thinking about it just try it!! You will be happy. This is our 4th year staying here never had a problems..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shizdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write. I love Assateague as well...the ponies are just beautiful and it never gets old watching them. The visitors center has a wonderful museum with a touch tank...all free. We hope to see your family again soon to make some more memories!


Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    293
    78
    37
    32
See reviews for
757
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Shore Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We went to Oc for a weekend getaway. When we arrived our room wasn't ready, but we were early so they gave us our bands and told me they would call us when our room was ready. So we went and changed and headed for the pool. First thing walking into the pool room was like walking into a wave of chlorine. It was really bad. The pool itself was freezing. We could only take about an hour and a half. By the time we left my throat was burning, and no I didn't swallow any water. I never got a call to let me know the room was ready, but when I checked with the front desk our room was ready. Our room was really nice. Roomy and clean. My only complaint with the room is the beds. They have the temperpedic mattresses, and I'm not a fan. Too hard for me. We didn't take part in the movie that night but we did get the complimentary popcorn which is always great. The next morning I had a sore back and a scratchy throat. We packed up the next morning checked out and went to the pool. The chlorine smell was still awful, but the pool was warmer. The kids couldn't stand the chlorine very long so we left. We love coming to Francis Scott Key Resort but not if it's going to make us sick.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jiwdurando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your honest comments. With the extreme cold and the heavy loads the air circulation can at times be an issue. We had our health inspection this past Wednesday passed in all areas. We do cholorine checks during the whistle blows to ensure our levels meet our capacity. With the warmer temps this week we have been able to open the ceiling during short periods when we are closed to re-circulate the air.

Most of our guests do love our Tempurpedic Mattresses. I wish we could ensure a perfect fit for each guest and I apologize that you did not sleep well on the mattress.

I hope that your family will return in the future. Though I can't change the mattress I will do whatever possible to ensure your stay is enjoyable.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I would first like to say THANK YOU to the FSK resort for helping the last three years make the Maryland Fire Chiefs Golf Tournament a success. Their donation of a weekend stay for our silent auction has helped raise funds for some very good causes, National Fallen Firefighters, Maryland Fire and Rescue Memorial, and the MSFA Foundation. My wife and I had a very enjoyable weekend at FSK, the staff was very friendly and the room was great. Although the resort appeals to families with children (ours are grown) we will definitely return,

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms are about the same, Just relax and have fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you...we are proud to support many charities as we are blessed with so many worthwhile organizations that help countless people. We appreciate the wonderful review and hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our family had a really nice time at the resort. Because we traveled in February, we were not able to experience all of the outdoor activities that FSK has to offer, but we hope to return later this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank our3hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We hope you do come back and join us when we are in full swing in the summer season. We are so glad that you came and enjoyed your stay with us!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you have kids this is the perfect place for you
Mini golf indoor/outdoor pool
Arcade room
Doesn't appeal so much to the couples without kids as was my case
Still enjoyed the pool bar and would have been in the hot tub if more isolated from the pool itself
Overall I had a good time though

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KWSmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
You are right we are geared for the family but we have taken our couples and teens in mind with a new pool / bar project for 2015. We will have a wonderful adult only hot tub with waterfall seculded from the family hot tub, pool and putt putt. We will also have a pirate ship bar along with gift shop and grill! Hope you will give us another shot!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was soooo blown away at how comfortable and clean the accommodation was!! from the memory foam mattresses, to the abundance of towels.... the friendly and helpful staff, we had such an unbelievable get away, yes ocean city is a ghost town in the winter, but it was such a perfect getaway from busy New york! great family time! super relaxing and a definite do-again!!thank you for making our family time soo special!!

Room Tip: ask for the florida building, you will be right next door to the water park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikikumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Making family memories...love it! With all the cold and snow that NY has had to endure we are glad that Ocean City and the FSK could give you all some time to relax together. We hope to see you all again very soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great weekend getaway!! We all had a wonderful time. The room was comfortable and the staff friendly. We have 2 children 5 and 7 who couldn't get enough of the indoor pool. The snack bar at the pool was reasonable priced with choices for both kids and adults. Free Movie rentals for your room & daily scheduled movies for all. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone with small children, probably not the best choice for kids preteen+.
Close to Food, Shopping and the Shore.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your honest comments. We are trying to fill the teenage gap and we are very excited about our new project for the summer of 2015. We will be replacing our outdoor pool area with a new pool, mini golf, splash area called Shipwreck Cove. We are hoping to feature so teen zone time for this area of the property to help with that age bracket.

Take Care
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,376 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#25 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Property: Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing