We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Francis Scott Key-Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Francis Scott Key-Average”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Pretty far from the beach. You have to take a shuttle bus and walk a few blocks. They do have regular shuttle services every 15 minutes or so. It can just be incovenient to get to the beach if you have small kids or stuff to carry or it's raining.

The room was old and smelled funny. It was reasonably clean though. We ordered a room with a kitchenette and were given a room that only had a small fridge which was disappointing so make sure you save all your reservation documentation! We forgot to bring ours so we had no proof of the type of room we had ordered.

The indoor pool is very nice. Also we really liked the 50's style restaurant on the property.

Room Tip: If you order the room with the kitchenette, be sure you have that in writing. We ordered that one an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We may not be a perfect fit for all families but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. If you decide to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure your reservations are in order. We have been busy this winter with updating 122 rooms with new carpet, furniture and flat screen TV's.

If you decide to stay in town Ocean City has many wonderful choices!

Sincerely
Annemarie DIckerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    307
    83
    40
    33
See reviews for
802
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We made an impromptu overnight trip to the little treasure. We live within a few hours and we were on a mission to find an indoor pool for our daughter to play in. Well, we definitely got what we were looking for. For starters, we booked our reservation the day of on their website and got 10% off...When we arrived, check-in was pretty simple. The front desk clerk was very hospitable and explained everything...pool hours, how to get to our building, the restaurant being closed due to off season, etc. My husband was impressed that even though we just made our reservation three hours prior to showing up, they had everything printed out and ready to go for us by the time we got there. As we drove to our room, we saw the outdoor pool area, the playground and the putt-putt golf course. The motel is comprised of several building named after the original states. We were in the New Jersey building on the second floor. We had two double beds with a kitchenette. The beds were nice Tempurpedic branded beds. The kitchen was fully stocked with a setting for four. There was a little table with four chairs. Since it was cold outside (even flurrying) we drove over to the indoor pool. The building housed a gym with a few machines, an arcade and bathroom facilities with full showers, changing rooms and lockers. The arcade had an air hockey table and several arcade games. In the pool area, there was a snack bar that serves ice cream, drinks, pizza, chicken fingers, hot dogs and fries. The pool was great. There was a slide and a volleyball net. Although we didn't need them, the hotel provided life vests and beach balls. The pool area was lined with tables, chair and lounge chairs. They also had thick pool towels.

This was definitely a quaint motel that appears to be run by a family that knows how to take care of their guests and knows how to take care of their property. It was truly a fun experience and we'll definitely be back to visit in the future.

Our only cons because there always has to be cons...the paving needs to be updated and the walls a a little thin...we could hear the kids in the room next door...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travln-beegees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review! The winter can be a different vacation here in Ocean City but we try to keep a little summer all year at the indoor pool! We will hopefully be able to do additional paving this spring as some of our storms impacted some areas.

Hope to see your family again soon.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My daughter and I had to make a trip to Ocean City for the Reach the Beach Cheer competition. We stayed at the FSK and it was awesome! My daughter loved the pool! Everyone was so friendly! We loved this place so much we might just make a visit to Maryland just to stay here!

Room Tip: If you are going in the pool bring googles due to high chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We love our cheerl leaders! Thank you so much for choosing the Francis Scott Key and we hope to see your family again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice family place. Good indoor pool.
Not far from the beach and wild horses.
Outlets right across the street.
The pizza at the pool could be better.
But overall great value:-P will be going back soon..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shizdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Assateague is a wonderful destination only 9 miles from here...I wish all our guests would discover it! Lots of shopping and restaurant choices are all around us. I have made a note about our pizza...will follow up!

Hope to see you again
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

So let me start off by saying people who write bad reviews for fsk must be use to staying at the Ritz this hotel was a great place for my 2 kids the indoor pool was great other then the pool was kinda cold my 3 yr old daughter couldn't stop shaking but all in all a good pool the rooms were excellent yes the rooms did smell like a grandparents house but that goes away beds were super comfy and I'm 6 ft 1 the walls were thin but no big deal for the money it was the best place I've stayed at in ocean city and how could a hotel be bad if there sold out for the weekend service was awesome granted we did need anything they called us withing 15 minutes if arrival to see if we needed anything and if everything was OK I have stayed here before and would continue to stay here parking was hard bcus they were booked up o and the shower water was super hot and great pressure so all in all an awesome place to stay in oc so if you really write bad reviews then your probably high maintenance and you should stay somewhere else

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tattoeddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest comments in your review. We strive to give a great experience, memory making without wallet busting vacation for our families. We have been blessed with wonderful families coming year after year and we try to make our kids feel like this place was made for them!

Looking forward to your next stay!
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

FSK is the best place to stay in OCMD! Especially with kids. My family and I have been staying here every year since our girls were 5, their now 18!! For the past few years, we have been staying twice a year, once in the summer and again in early October. It is an all around great price for everything they have to offer. We have never had an issue with any ammenties or rooms at FSK. This year we have another family vacation planned, can not wait!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in almost every building at FSK except the ranchers. But I'm sure they are just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We love that you love it here! We are looking forward seeing our families in 2013! Thank you for taking the time to write!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here around bike week. We really liked the rooms. We had a kitchen room on first floor. Very nice people and very clean. They really keep after things with out bothering their customers my 3 year old loved it! Guests were very friendly also. My son had a great time at the play ground with others children who were staying also. Very nice:)

Room Tip: Shopping areas close as well as things to do
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auntcath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review.....we think we have the best guests as well! September is such a great time to experience Ocean City!

Thanks for taking the time to write!!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Property: Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Address: 12806 Ocean Gtwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing