We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Bonita Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonita Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just got back from our stay, Can't say enough good things about how awesome the staff was. They were kind, courteous, and very efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. The balcony had a view of the ocean as well as the bay. The location was convenient to shops and restaurants. Overall, it was a great stay and a good memory for my family. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueclaws2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the excellent review! We love hearing about our guest experience and are thrilled that you had a "Great Stay"! As you mentioned, we have an exceptional location close to the beach and many great restaurants and night life. We hope you make Bonita Beach part of your OCMD tradition. Thanks again for being our guest!

Sincerely
The Carousel Group Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    147
    56
    35
    47
See reviews for
166
116
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the good. This hotel is close to the beach with no streets to cross. The parking is covered which is great for hot days, although the spaces all small. The room is a good size, with a small kitchenette & a balcony. However the overall housekeeping is poor. The outdated bedspread actually had a patch sewed loosely onto it. The room smelled musty. Mattresses were bumpy. Bedding was very old & worn. Worst of all is the bathroom. The tub had very sloped sides so there was only a small space to stand safely. The sloping sides were very slippery & there are no anti-slip decals. Towels were small & thin. When we arrived, I had to clean the bathroom door handle which was sticky. This place needs a serious makeover.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bls0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your review. As you mentioned, we are at a great location close to the beach and all Ocean City has to offer. Our rooms are quite spacious and have full refrigerators and a comfortable atmosphere. We must dispute the comments about the mattresses as they are not old and management replaces any items which are worn past our brand standard. We will look into these issues and address them individually in our upcoming staff management meeting. Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to having you again in the future.

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is an awsome location for beach goers. 1/2block to beach without crossing highway. Value is in line for what u get clean room comfortable bed and nice balcony. I saw reviews about pool area and I disagree with them. The pool is not dirty it is sand and that is to be expected, you're at the beach for crying out loud! Though I didn't interact with the front desk too much they always addressed you when you were coming and going. I will be back. Recommend highly!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review and thanks for choosing Bonita Beach as your beachside accommodations. As you mention in your review, we have comfortable rooms, a great location and an exceptional value for the price. We do work hard to manage the amount of sand in our amenities, but as you stated, it can be difficult when located so close to the beach. We do have a dedicated staff whom manages this issue on a daily basis. Thanks again for your business, we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.W. PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Bonita Beach in July 2013 for 7 days, during our visit there we had a enjoyable stay. The rooms were large enough for us to not feel crowded. The property appeared to be well taken care of, we did encounter a couple bumps but nothing that was not taken care of in a timely manner. In our opinion we may have had one of the best placed rooms on the top floor area, no noise, no crowd, and a great view from the balcony. The beach was only a short walk- less than half a block. The in house pool and exercise room was small but nice, the laundry area for guests is also small but very convenient. The parking area is in the shade under hotel which is a plus for the car on hot days. All the hotel staff we encountered were polite and helpful, no complaints at all with their workers . Dollar for dollar we feel the amount we paid to stay there was very good compared to other places we have stayed in Ocean City area in the past. The hotel did not have an on site restaurant, but there is a multitude of some really great food establishments within walking distance.
Overall our stay there was relaxing and a great time spent with family. Already looking forward to returning when able.

Room Tip: Top floor area on north facing rooms seem to be a good choice if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erm295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for your great review! As you mentioned we have spacious rooms with exceptional quality. Our amenity package is the best in Ocean City, for a hotel of this size. With an indoor pool, fitness center, atrium, sundeck and game room, it's no wonder our guests are loving their stay. We are so happy you had a relaxing stay at this fine property in mid town Ocean City. Thanks again for being our guest, and thank you for your review!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is very good for the value. The hotel was very quiet with a mid size indoor pool which is located on the 3rd fl. You can walk outside the pool onto a patio with chairs that over look the street. The room was very clean with a decent size balcony and the location is near a lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued customer, thanks for your business and thanks for the great review! Our motto is "The best value and the most fun". The Bonita Beach hotel has been newly managed by The Carousel Group which is the largest growing hotel management company in Ocean City. We pride ourselves on offering an exceptional customer experience and a superior product. The Bonita Beach hotel has great rooms and a fantastic amenity package including an indoor pool, sundeck, game room, fitness center and atrium. We have a great mid town location close to fine dining, nightlife and many local attractions. Thanks again for your review, we look forward to having you as our guest again!!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Bonita Beach Hotel is a 1 minute walk to the beach, you can't beat that! All of the rooms have a balcony and a view which was wonderful. My son, fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights during Bike Week and we had a ball. Quick check in, friendly and helpful staff and the hotel is near everything.

I've stayed in a lot of "beach hotels/motels" (New Jersey, California, Florida) and this is one of the nicest. The double queen room we had looks exactly like the pics posted. Comfy beds, full size fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

I recommend this hotel 100%!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor which has the best views! Bay view on the left and the beach on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epr717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! As you stated in your review we have a great location close to the beach, great dining, nightlife and local attractions! We really appreciate all the business generated by our valued bike week fans and are absolutely thrilled you had a superior guest experience at our hotel. Thanks again for your recommendation, we look forward to having you again as our guest!!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrival; We arrived at about 8pm on a Friday evening. The hotel was easy to find, partly due to the bright color of the building.

Parking; All of the hotels parking is under the hotel, just be aware some of the parking spots are tight. The spots closest to the lobby are the worst, park further from the lobby for spots with more room.

Check-in; There was no one in line so the check in process was quick and easy. The front desk employee was friendly.

The room; Our room was 516 and had a south facing view. I booked a "Premium Ocean View" online and I believe a more premium ocean view would be the rooms on the north side that have a bigger but still partial view of the ocean...but they were the same price online so no big deal...plus on Friday night from our balcony we were able to see the NASA rocket that took off from Wallops Island and it was amazing to watch.
The beds; There were two queen size beds in the room. The beds had old comforters on them, not sure why hotels still use these but they came off the bed as soon as we walked in. The beds also had older sheets and an older blanket...time for some new linens. The beds were a little hard but okay to sleep on. There was also a pull out sofa bed in the room which we looked at and honestly wouldn't ever use. The mattress had no sheet on it and there was a lot of stains on the mattress.
TV; They must have upgraded their TV's recently because we had a flat screen TV in our room which was a pleasant surprise. There were also multiple channels which made it nice to watch after a long day on the beach.
Kitchen; The room also had a small kitchen with full sized fridge, a microwave, coffee maker and sink. There is also a limited supply of dishes and utensils...but they appeared dirty and needed to be washed before use.

Housekeeping; Below expectations. After housekeeping "cleaned" our room we noticed a note that was left in our room. The note said they were out of towels and to check back later to get clean towels. We also noticed the garbage wasn't emptied and housekeeping had taken a couple pillows from our room...kind of odd. So later that evening was called the front desk and fresh towels were brought right up.

The pool; The pool was in good condition, yes not 4-star hotel but was clean.

Location; This is where this hotel is above average...you are only a block away from a very nice, not overcrowded beach.

Overall the hotel met our expectations for a beach hotel at this star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing view to get a little more view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your informative review! We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service, and a superior experience. Our check in process is quite quick and our staff is very knowledgeable on the area and our operations. Our premium views are exceptional and at a non premium price. We prefer to pass the savings on to our customers. The Carousel Group took over this hotel this past Summer and we will be looking into your comments about the bed spreads being outdated and the sheets. As for all our hotels, we work hard to upgrade our hotels, amenities and customer experience. Along with the fitness center, atrium, indoor pool, game room and sun deck, we offer the Carousel Group vacation package during the Summer season. Stay tuned for great specials and deals for the fall and spring of 2014! Thanks again for being our guest!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
407 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#33 of 103 in Ocean City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
316 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#62 of 103 in Ocean City
279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#24 of 103 in Ocean City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonita Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Beach Hotel

Property: Bonita Beach Hotel
Address: 8100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2897
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bonita Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Beach Ocean City
Hotel Bonita Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing