We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonita Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bonita Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is an awsome location for beach goers. 1/2block to beach without crossing highway. Value is in line for what u get clean room comfortable bed and nice balcony. I saw reviews about pool area and I disagree with them. The pool is not dirty it is sand and that is to be expected, you're at the beach for crying out loud! Though I didn't interact with the front desk too much they always addressed you when you were coming and going. I will be back. Recommend highly!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review and thanks for choosing Bonita Beach as your beachside accommodations. As you mention in your review, we have comfortable rooms, a great location and an exceptional value for the price. We do work hard to manage the amount of sand in our amenities, but as you stated, it can be difficult when located so close to the beach. We do have a dedicated staff whom manages this issue on a daily basis. Thanks again for your business, we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    140
    52
    33
    44
See reviews for
149
106
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.W. PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Bonita Beach in July 2013 for 7 days, during our visit there we had a enjoyable stay. The rooms were large enough for us to not feel crowded. The property appeared to be well taken care of, we did encounter a couple bumps but nothing that was not taken care of in a timely manner. In our opinion we may have had one of the best placed rooms on the top floor area, no noise, no crowd, and a great view from the balcony. The beach was only a short walk- less than half a block. The in house pool and exercise room was small but nice, the laundry area for guests is also small but very convenient. The parking area is in the shade under hotel which is a plus for the car on hot days. All the hotel staff we encountered were polite and helpful, no complaints at all with their workers . Dollar for dollar we feel the amount we paid to stay there was very good compared to other places we have stayed in Ocean City area in the past. The hotel did not have an on site restaurant, but there is a multitude of some really great food establishments within walking distance.
Overall our stay there was relaxing and a great time spent with family. Already looking forward to returning when able.

Room Tip: Top floor area on north facing rooms seem to be a good choice if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erm295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for your great review! As you mentioned we have spacious rooms with exceptional quality. Our amenity package is the best in Ocean City, for a hotel of this size. With an indoor pool, fitness center, atrium, sundeck and game room, it's no wonder our guests are loving their stay. We are so happy you had a relaxing stay at this fine property in mid town Ocean City. Thanks again for being our guest, and thank you for your review!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is very good for the value. The hotel was very quiet with a mid size indoor pool which is located on the 3rd fl. You can walk outside the pool onto a patio with chairs that over look the street. The room was very clean with a decent size balcony and the location is near a lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued customer, thanks for your business and thanks for the great review! Our motto is "The best value and the most fun". The Bonita Beach hotel has been newly managed by The Carousel Group which is the largest growing hotel management company in Ocean City. We pride ourselves on offering an exceptional customer experience and a superior product. The Bonita Beach hotel has great rooms and a fantastic amenity package including an indoor pool, sundeck, game room, fitness center and atrium. We have a great mid town location close to fine dining, nightlife and many local attractions. Thanks again for your review, we look forward to having you as our guest again!!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Bonita Beach Hotel is a 1 minute walk to the beach, you can't beat that! All of the rooms have a balcony and a view which was wonderful. My son, fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights during Bike Week and we had a ball. Quick check in, friendly and helpful staff and the hotel is near everything.

I've stayed in a lot of "beach hotels/motels" (New Jersey, California, Florida) and this is one of the nicest. The double queen room we had looks exactly like the pics posted. Comfy beds, full size fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

I recommend this hotel 100%!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor which has the best views! Bay view on the left and the beach on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epr717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! As you stated in your review we have a great location close to the beach, great dining, nightlife and local attractions! We really appreciate all the business generated by our valued bike week fans and are absolutely thrilled you had a superior guest experience at our hotel. Thanks again for your recommendation, we look forward to having you again as our guest!!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrival; We arrived at about 8pm on a Friday evening. The hotel was easy to find, partly due to the bright color of the building.

Parking; All of the hotels parking is under the hotel, just be aware some of the parking spots are tight. The spots closest to the lobby are the worst, park further from the lobby for spots with more room.

Check-in; There was no one in line so the check in process was quick and easy. The front desk employee was friendly.

The room; Our room was 516 and had a south facing view. I booked a "Premium Ocean View" online and I believe a more premium ocean view would be the rooms on the north side that have a bigger but still partial view of the ocean...but they were the same price online so no big deal...plus on Friday night from our balcony we were able to see the NASA rocket that took off from Wallops Island and it was amazing to watch.
The beds; There were two queen size beds in the room. The beds had old comforters on them, not sure why hotels still use these but they came off the bed as soon as we walked in. The beds also had older sheets and an older blanket...time for some new linens. The beds were a little hard but okay to sleep on. There was also a pull out sofa bed in the room which we looked at and honestly wouldn't ever use. The mattress had no sheet on it and there was a lot of stains on the mattress.
TV; They must have upgraded their TV's recently because we had a flat screen TV in our room which was a pleasant surprise. There were also multiple channels which made it nice to watch after a long day on the beach.
Kitchen; The room also had a small kitchen with full sized fridge, a microwave, coffee maker and sink. There is also a limited supply of dishes and utensils...but they appeared dirty and needed to be washed before use.

Housekeeping; Below expectations. After housekeeping "cleaned" our room we noticed a note that was left in our room. The note said they were out of towels and to check back later to get clean towels. We also noticed the garbage wasn't emptied and housekeeping had taken a couple pillows from our room...kind of odd. So later that evening was called the front desk and fresh towels were brought right up.

The pool; The pool was in good condition, yes not 4-star hotel but was clean.

Location; This is where this hotel is above average...you are only a block away from a very nice, not overcrowded beach.

Overall the hotel met our expectations for a beach hotel at this star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing view to get a little more view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your informative review! We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service, and a superior experience. Our check in process is quite quick and our staff is very knowledgeable on the area and our operations. Our premium views are exceptional and at a non premium price. We prefer to pass the savings on to our customers. The Carousel Group took over this hotel this past Summer and we will be looking into your comments about the bed spreads being outdated and the sheets. As for all our hotels, we work hard to upgrade our hotels, amenities and customer experience. Along with the fitness center, atrium, indoor pool, game room and sun deck, we offer the Carousel Group vacation package during the Summer season. Stay tuned for great specials and deals for the fall and spring of 2014! Thanks again for being our guest!

Sincerely
The Friendly Carousel Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes Barre
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived early to the hotel. When I checked in at the front desk we were told that due to our early arrival we would not be able to check in yet. Expected this, we knew we were early. We were told we could use the pool and other facilities to entertain ourselves until our room was ready. When we made our way to the pool area (not indoor/outdoor-only in door with a large open sliding door to the outside patio) we were so disgusted. If we hadn't already payed in advance for our room we would have looked elsewhere. The shower area was absolutely disgusting. Mold growing everywhere. No place to put dry clothes in shower to prepare to dress after shower. Pool was all sandy...not just a little sand...a lot of sand. pieces were broken around the pool including the one rail into the pool. I just kept my fingers crossed when we were finally going to our room (we were able to check in two hours before schedule). Surprisingly, the room was a lot nicer than I expected. Bathroom was clean. Patio had two nice chairs and a nice view of the ocean. If I was just reviewing this room based on the room and the location, it would not be a bad review. Later in the evening we decided to go to the game room. On the computer it showed several electronic games and the like, that I figured my kids would enjoy. There was one skill crane kind of machine and a ping pong table. That was it. The kids asked to go back to the pool...NO WAY!!!! The workers were nice enough, the room was nice enough, ....will I return....I doubt it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnef06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest thanks for your review. Our pool is cleaned and maintained on a regular basis and should have been nothing less then excellent. We do apologize if you encountered any sand in the pool area, due to our proximity to the beach it is a daily challenge to keep the area free of all sand. As you had mentioned, our rooms are quite spacious and absolutely cleaned and inspected prior to our valued guests checking in. We are at a loss of words for the video game remark in your review. The photo on the website of the electronic games is accurate, those exact games have been there since May 2013 and will continue to remain there. The electronic games are located directly next to the window, 4 ft from the ping pong table you had spoken of. We sincerely apologize for your less than excellent experience at our pool and ask you give us a second chance to earn your business back. Thanks again for your review, we hope to have you again in the future as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights. The rating is accurate and your expectations should be in line with the trip advisor rating. It was a good hotel to stay at, if your looking for great value. Our room was clean and the kids were happy we made it to the beach. The front desk people were very nice. Internet worked great. My kids loved the pool and the ping pong table.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monie_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing Bonita Beach for your beach vacation! Our hotel is a great value but we do offer a higher end experience with our indoor pool, sundeck, game room, fitness center and atrium. Our staff is some of the best in Ocean City. We hope you had an experience to enjoy all the Carousel Group Vacation Package has to offer. Thanks again for choosing The Bonita Beach Hotel for your beach vacation accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonita Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Beach Hotel

Property: Bonita Beach Hotel
Address: 8100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bonita Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Beach Ocean City
Hotel Bonita Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing