We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will stay again”
Review of Bonita Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bonita Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will stay again”
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We had a wonderful time at the Bonita Beach Hotel. Our room was spacious and equipped with a full size refrigerator, sink, microwave, coffee maker and dishes. The rooms were very clean and I have no complaints about the maid service-they even cleaned our dishes which was unexpected!
I'd have to say that the Bonita Beach is perfect if your looking for a clean place to stay for a few nights. I also thought the price was reasonable, but again, we stayed there in September during the off season.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddie622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your great review. The Bonita Beach property has gone under new management of The Carousel Group. We have had great success in hospitality management and strive for nothing less than excellence.

We are making a lot of great upgrades to the hotel as well as adding staff members to help with everyday operations and positive customer experience. Thanks again for staying with the Bonita Beach Hotel in Ocean City, we look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    146
    56
    34
    46
See reviews for
161
116
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

The amount of space in that room was amazing. We had 2 queen beds plus a pull out sofa bed, not to mention a patio and a kitchenette with a full size fridge and dishes. The room was clean except for som trash left behind the night stand by a former guest (guess housekeeping doesn't look behind the furniture). I did think that housekeeping was a little slow in room cleaning, we went out and the room still hadn't been cleaned by the time we got back and it was after lunch. Other than that it was good and Pino's Pizza across the street-- whoa the best pizza I've had in a long time. The indoor pool area was clean and didn't go beyond 4ft which I thought was good for kids. I would definitely stay ther again. K.C.,washington,dc.

  • Liked — size of the room
  • Disliked — slow house keeping
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunbun771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your great review. The Bonita Beach property has gone under new management of The Carousel Group. We have had great success in hospitality management and strive for nothing less than excellence.

We are making a lot of great upgrades to the hotel as well as adding staff members to help with everyday operations and positive customer experience. Thanks again for staying with the Bonita Beach Hotel in Ocean City, we look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Aesthetically this hotel is quite pleasing, given that many ocean city hotels which are far more expensive, look terrible. The room was clean, the carpet and upholstery looked in good condition . It is competitively priced and conveniently located. The staff were helpful and courteous. The rooms are a great size, two queen beds and pull out sleep sofa. We had 2 adults and 4 kids, plenty of room. Cable TV a plus with kids. Thats the good stuff out of the way.

The negatives, I had very little sleep, thanks to the ridiculously loud air conditioning, every time it would come on it fired up like and old furnace, had it just stayed on it wouldn't have been so bad. I preferred the AC noise on as when it went off all could hear was the couple in the next room arguing. The walls are so dreadfully pathetic, I could hear every word. When people are in the hallways it is noisy, but other than the domestic next to me it wasn't a particularly noisy hotel. There are some rooms that open up onto a big hallway seating area, I think on level 2 and 3. I can imagine those getting noisy if people are hanging out there. Warning to parents of young kids. Our patio door to the balcony did not lock, which im sure is a code violation. We had to be extra vigilant that one of the kids did not slip out there. We didn't have a problem but they do have some parking restrictions when they are fully booked, only 1 car per room.

Would I stay here again???? I probably would, but will wear ear plugs next time:-)

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — noisy AC
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flymesomewheregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your great review. The Bonita Beach property has gone under new management of The Carousel Group. We have had great success in hospitality management and strive for nothing less than excellence.

We are making a lot of great upgrades to the hotel as well as adding staff members to help with everyday operations and positive customer experience. Thanks again for staying with the Bonita Beach Hotel in Ocean City, we look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

The Bonita Beach hotel is a great place to stay! I was a little nervous after reading some other reviews, but was very happy with our stay there last week. It was a big "step up" from other "beach" hotels we have stayed at. Other reviews mentioned thin walls and constant noise but we noticed very little of that. I think whether you stay at a one star or a four star hotel the distractions depend on the people in the rooms on either side of you or right above you. We stayed 6 nights and I can only remember two times where I heard anything from surrounding rooms. The pool was small but well stocked with towels and very clean. Most of the parking lot was covered so the car remained cool despite the hot temps! Our balcony had a nice partial view of the ocean. Overall our stay was great.

There are only two slight negatives about our stay. The air conditioner was extremely noisy! It actually woke us up a few times in the middle of the night. The other negative is that there are really not many restaurants within a short walking distance. There is a take out pizza shop and a high end restaurant right across the street but really no family places nearby. You have to walk (or get in the car and drive) about 8-12 blocks to find a place for the family to eat. While I don't mind a nice walk, after a long day in the sun and a big meal I don't want to have a 12 block walk back from dinner.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — loacation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jra500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your great review. The Bonita Beach property has gone under new management of The Carousel Group. We have had great success in hospitality management and strive for nothing less than excellence.

We are making a lot of great upgrades to the hotel as well as adding staff members to help with everyday operations and positive customer experience. Thanks again for staying with the Bonita Beach Hotel in Ocean City, we look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The Bonita Beach Hotel in Ocean City, Maryland has to be one of the nicer places to stay while on a vacation to OC. The rooms were spacious and clean, the view of the Bay was gorgeous and included the sunsets. The view of the Ocean was just as gorgeous. The kitchenette came in very handy for two teenagers who eat everything. The housekeeping was there every morning. The only thing that I can say negative is that the mattresses on the sofa bed need replacement because the springs were popping out. Oh, and watch out for the rude umbrella rental lady on 82nd street!

  • Liked — The proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — The hard sleep sofa mattress
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honibugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Bonita Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your great review. The Bonita Beach property has gone under new management of The Carousel Group. We have had great success in hospitality management and strive for nothing less than excellence.

We are making a lot of great upgrades to the hotel as well as adding staff members to help with everyday operations and positive customer experience. Thanks again for staying with the Bonita Beach Hotel in Ocean City, we look forward to having you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randallstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2007

I read the reviews for this hotel from the various e-spots and had my concerns; but said hey, everyone has a bad day; so I will give them a try. Any issues that I may have had with our room, I made the front desk aware and it was addressed immediately. My children and I loved the hotel pool and it's convienent location to the beach and the Ocean City activities. It is nestled in a quieter area of the beach; however drunk teenagers travel well and may find their way to any area of the beach. I strongly recommend the Anglier Restaurant's cruise which is free with your dinner; it was excellent and so was the food!!!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The51Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We found the Bonita Beach Hotel to be more like a motel than a hotel during our 5-night stay in late June. With that said, as a beach motel, it was fine. Our room was large, clean, and quiet. The king-sized bed was comfortable. The bathroom had energy-saver lights that took a few minutes to get going, but we quickly got used to them. The shower worked fine and there was always hot water. The room had a large refrigerator/freezer, a microwave, a small coffee maker, and a full sink. We had no issues with having our room cleaned, but we always made sure to hang the “service please” sign on our door each morning when we left for the beach based on the comments of other reviewers. Overall, the staff members seemed nice enough and were responsive to any questions we had.

It was an easy walk from the hotel to the beach and to nearby restaurants and stores. (If you like reading on the beach, there’s a neat little paperback exchange bookstore just a few doors away). We had no interest in using the enclosed pool area, but we took a look just to check it out. It seemed kind of hot and stuffy, so it might be a better option during the colder months.

The pictures on the Web site make the hotel look much more glamorous than it actually is. If you’re looking for fluffy towels and pampering, this is not the hotel for you. But if you want a clean, comfortable home-base while you enjoy the beach and the Ocean City scene, the Bonita Beach Hotel is a good choice.

  • Liked — Large room, good location, great beach access
  • Disliked — Room design - no closet doors, no door separating sleeping area from kitchen
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYBarbaraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
304 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#61 of 103 in Ocean City
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#33 of 103 in Ocean City
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonita Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonita Beach Hotel

Property: Bonita Beach Hotel
Address: 8100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2897
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bonita Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Beach Ocean City
Hotel Bonita Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing