We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is..”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #73 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It is what it is..”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Shore hotel located at a great spot. Boardwalk..sand..ocean..pizza..pubs..free parking..nice rooms..easy to route 50 bridge..poor breakfast..poor room service..desk staff does nice job. Is it the best place in OC...No. It is what it is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamCHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    99
    65
    49
    84
See reviews for
164
109
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Average beach hotel. Parking is extremely tight in the lot across the street. If you can't find a spot there, you have to park about a block away in a second lot. The lobby has a strange odor, couldn't figure out from what. There is no ice machine, although the desk attendant offered to sell me an 8 pound bag. Although advertised on the digital sign out front, the indoor pool and rooftop whirlpool were both closed. The rooftop pool however was open but had lots of sand in it. When we came back from the beach, we found our wet towels from the showers we took earlier, folded and hanging back on the rack. Also, the deadbolt lock on our door didn't latch. The only thing this hotel had going for it is the location... A block from the boardwalk. Next t time we're in Ocean City, we'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRCohen1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Williamsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Place was clean, but elevator was slow and if there would have been a fire theres only one exit. Staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. Rooms were decent size but the bathroom was a little small. The free coffee, juice and muffins were good. The walk to the beach wasent to far, and there were stores within walking distance

Room Tip: I would stay again but only in off peak season. Rooms were decent size, bathroom a little small .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSalt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberland, md
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

i just got home from visiting the hotel monte carlo.. i do have a few cons but the pros outweigh them 100 percent.. ok the cons are the parking sucks. if you afford to pay for the reserved parking i would.. if you dont like we didnt you have a parking lot across the street and another lot a few streets down. thankfully we got parking across the street. i drive a small compact car but it was still tight becuz we had to manuever around a truck.. but the location is prime area so you really dont need to move the car. i think we did only once when we were there and that was just to go out to eat on our last night.. the other cons was the toilet ran constantly.. it was a minor con and it didnt tamper the pros.. now on to the pluses.its great location. its near everything and you are on the street side so its not as noisy as if you were directly on boardwalk.the rooms was very nice, very high end looking, beds were comfortable, very clean, maids were beyond nice..the 2nd day there we only need new towels and they were so sweet and gave us towels no fuss at all. the front desk people were also very nice.. the outdoor was chilly but its september so we swam in indoor pool which was very nice, nice size perfect for us.. love that subway is right there if you need some lunch...the free breakfest they offer wasnt bad either.. we got free muffins, coffee, orange juice, no complaints there. all in all a great stay and im glad i stayed here. its my second time staying here and it will always be an option each year i come.. thank you hotel monte carlo for a great trip

Room Tip: 2nd floor is perfect becuz elevator can be a lil slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel Monte Carlo sits behind another hotel that is on the beach/boardwalk at 3rd street, which makes it a convenient location. I booked a king Jacuzzi room for 3 weeknights in late August at $154 a night. Upon checking in, I learned our dollar did not go as far in Ocean City as it did in Baltimore. I would characterize this as a budget property. Our room was at the front of the hotel on Baltimore Ave. and also behind the hallway with the elevator and stairwell. This combination made it very noisy. I requested a room change and was moved to a standard room, the only room type available during our stay. This room had a more spacious bathroom than our king room and a balcony. I appreciated the ability to move to the back of the hotel, but the manager wouldn’t budge on refunding me the different in room rate, which was $40/night. Bottom line, if you don’t mind a budget property, request a standard room at the back of the property. Otherwise, I suggest spending $200+ a night to get a nicer property.

Room Tip: Request a standard room at the back of the property; the king Jacuzzi room is not worth the extra pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
The Hotel Monte Carlo is by far, a budget hotel. We offer a rooftop terrace with outdoor pool and spa , Indoor Pool cleaned daily by a professional pool company. We were built new in 2000 and have under several updates to the rooms including all new furntiure and bedding with in the past year. We offer a daily light breakfast and free wi fi for all of our guest. Being in the travel industry i have stayed at many "budget hotels" ; this property is not one of them. What we are is one of the busiest downtown hotels because of our ammenties and location to boardwalk. We have had over 14,000 guest so far this summer and with that many people sure there may be sand in places at times. However our staff takes care of it as soon as it is discovered. With as many guest as this location has we are happy that close to 99% of our guest have sent us favorable feed back after check out. Some of those guest have posted there reviews here most have not. However unlike most hotels we do not hunt down our guest and beg for a postive review. For us just knowing the guest enjoyed there stay and will be back is all we need to know. Considering how busy this hotel was this season versus all hotels around us, i would have to say it has been a huge success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

After reading the reviews I was very nervous coming to this hotel. I was very upset about the cleanliness of the pool. It was quite dirty both the indoor and outdoor pool and my daughter only went in one time for ten minutes. Our room was clean with a nice view of the ocean the only problem was the loose toilet bowl seat. Parking is a nightmare, their lot was so, so,so tight. Although there were two lots both were extremely tight and it is very easy for someone to hit you pulling in or out of the spots. I read in previous reviews that the staff was not friendly, I did not have that experience. Everyone who worked their seemed nice. The elevator although some complained it was really slow, it was okay during my stay. Would I stay here again probably not, I would definitely spend the extra money for a nicer hotel since my kids love swimming and we did not have a good experience with the pool and how its kept clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnp1838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Delaware
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent one night in Ocean City at the Monte Carlo. We had stayed here before and liked the hotel and the location so we thought we would try it again. While it looked as though some improvements were made, we were not thrilled with the quality of the hotel this time.

Parking is a nightmare. Around the hotel itself, there may be only 10 parking spaces that are marked 'reserved' yet other hotel guests were obviously parked there (out of state license plates). When we checked in we were told to park across the street in a lot designated for the hotel. The parking was cramped and it was not easy getting our SUV in and out of the parking spaces (there were other vehicles larger then ours to maneuver around).

The room was clean, except for the carpeting which was stained and fraying around the edges. The bathroom was clean and there were enough towels, but the toilet seat was so flimsy it seemed like it had been purchased at the dollar store. It took a balancing act to keep the cheap plastic seat on the toilet itself which was a bit annoying. For what is charged per night at this hotel you would think they could afford some decent toilet seats from Home Depot.

Before check out I called the front desk to ask for a late check out. The clerk was abrupt and told me the hotel was full and this wasn't possible. I just took a chance, didn't need to be so sharp with me for asking! We left 2 hours before check out to walk to the boardwalk for some breakfast. When we returned our key card didn't work and we were locked out. One of the maids tried her key also and her's didn't work, but she kindly went down to reception and got another key to let us in so we could get our stuff and leave.

As the last time we visited, the elevator was painfully slow. It was much easier to take the stairs so we only used the elevator to carry our luggage. Not sure if there is any way to improve it, it's just a little annoying when the hotel is full.

The location of this hotel is great though. Love where it is on the beautiful Ocean City boardwalk. I'm not sure if we will be back here or not in the future since there are so many other hotels in OC that are nicer and have better prices.

Room Tip: We always like the ocean view or city view rooms. They have a nice balcony where you can sit and lis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelrat4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#62 of 103 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#89 of 103 in Ocean City
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 216 North Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing