We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Depsoit refund for Senior Week” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #71 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Depsoit refund for Senior Week”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hi, I was told initially there would be a $50 processing fee deducted from a mandatory $400 cash deposit. The $350 would then be returned by money order 10 days later, provided there's no damage to the room. I don't like this policy seems a credit card deposit would have been much easier. Second, I understand the potential damage unsupervised teenagers can do. So, to make my daughter happy, I went along with the program.

The staff seemed friendly enough and was happy to answer any and all my concerns regarding senior week before my daughter's stay. This is why I'm having an issue with the return of my money. In today's economy of tight budgets, why is the Hotel Monte Carlo being so cavalier with my money??? I was told initially that the money would be returned within 10 days. Twice, I've called over a two week period to be told it's in the mail. Then I was told they could only purchase 3 money orders a day, am I the only one that thinks this is BULL? But, meanwhile my money order was in the mail, so I was told. Being told the money is in the mail repeatedly is an issue of trust, considering the excuse was not lost in the mail, but oh, the Monte Carlo could only purchase three money orders per day is why my refund is delayed. That's absolute bull, I did check with USPS, there is no three money order purchase limit! Considering checkout was the 11th of June, today is the 8th of July, 10 days anyway you slice it have past. Where is my money???

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    90
    57
    47
    76
See reviews for
148
99
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were looking for a place close to the Boardwalk and this was certainly a good choice and free parking was a plus. Ideal location for our 3-night stay, other than not directly on the ocean (which means slightly quieter) The hotel is on 3rd Street which is very central to the Boardwalk. This allowed for a nice walk south to the amusement rides and games as well as being able to walk north in the opposite direction for a little quieter stroll. There were many families enjoying themselves and we were certainly one of them.

We visited OC so that my husband could share his memories and places visited from 35 years ago with his parents. Although much has changed, he said it had the overall same feel as when he was a kid. Nice to see some things don't change.

The service at the front desk left quite a bit to be desired. We were rarely greeted when we entered the hotel. Staff would stare at computer screens rather than offer us a simple hello and a smile. Not impressed. The manager (without greeting us) noticed that I was listening to him talking to his staff. The moment he noticed me, he stopped talking and just stood there, eventually walking away into the back room without acknowledging us.

The room itself was lovely and roomy. Since there were 3 of us, it was nice to have the sofa to sit on and read etc. vs. having to sit on a bed all of the time. We did use the frig but not the micro. There wasn't any silverware or dishes....so be sure to pick up some plastic ware to eat your leftovers. Perhaps they have some at the front desk.

Room Tip: The street level can be quite noisy, so you may want to request a higher room. Our 5th floor room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Countries46States
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed here before and find that the location, cleanliness & employees are always great. It is nice that the hotel is located right off the boardwalk so you don't have to deal with the noise from the boardwalk itself. You don't have to cross any streets to get to the beach which I find is a plus. The only noise we heard was from the bar located a street over and that was because they had a live band. The room was clean and there is no musty smell that some other hotels have. The maid cleaned the room and took the trash out- and we did not have to request that this had to be done (I saw that others had a problem with the maid service). All the employees are very nice and very helpful. This is a family hotel and I felt very safe coming and going.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I visited Ocean City, MD for the first time last weekend. It was an excellent weekend all around! Weather was great, beaches clean, big & free:-). & so much to see & do! The Hotel Monte Carlo was such a great place to stay!!! I found it on trip advisor. Modern clean room with really comfy bed & I was on 5th floor with balcony, a great place to chill at the end of the day & a great nights sleep to do it again the next day:-). I will definitely visit OC, MD again & will definitely stay at the Hotel Monte Carlo!! Just off the boardwalk & bus stop, that u can ride all day for $3 - covers all of OC - no need to drive anywhere & absolutely no reason for anyone to drink & drive!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I was at the hotel 3 nights.the hotel was very nice.the room was clean and very nice.you have to park your car in a lot across the street.the pool is only 3 feet deep! No not joking! Its also on the roof. The maids at the hotel dont vacuum or do any cleaning..no ice machine. But they sell you ice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishJohn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was not happy with my stay at this hotel at all. I found it lacking in all areas but one- the location. Set on 3rd street and a very short walk from the Boardwalk is the only real perk of this hotel, but if you are looking for a good hotel experience do NOT stay here. Things that I did not like were as follows...

1. I found an old DIRTY sock in the bed linen our first day of a four day stay.
2. I had to ASK to have my room cleaned. They didn't just automatically clean it everyday as most establishments do.
3. The free breakfast was a real joke. They only offered prepackaged muffins and juice.
4. The advertised heated indoor pool was NOT heated.
5. You have to PAY for ice. It is not free.
6. The customer service was polite but less than accommodating.
7. One of the hotel staff STOLE my son's travel DVD player. We checked out of our room and a bit later I realized it was missing as my son wanted to watch the player while traveling. I went back to get it but the clerk would not let me go back into the room or call housekeeping to see if it was there. The clerk took down my number. We got home and emptied the vehicle in case I was wrong, but it was not there. I am still waiting for a call that will never come.

Even WITHOUT the DVD player incident, I was extremely unhappy with my stay. I will never stay there again and I write this review as a warning to others. Stay at this hotel and you will not be happy with experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
This review written is the opinion, please note opinion of this guest and not fact. No staff member on our staff removed anything from this guest room, and until this review was posted we had never even been contacted about this. We do not offer an ice machine in our hotel because all of our rooms come with small refrig in room at no additinal cost and offer ice trays for small amounts of ice if you need it. We do sell 8lb bags of ice for your coolers , in our lobby which most guest find very conveinant to purchase on their way to the beach for the day, and they dont have to walk blocks to find ice for their coolers for the trip home or a day trip away from hotel. Just step off elevator and 8lb bags of ice for cheaper than even local large discount department stores sell the ice for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Rooms are small. No coffee maker. The location was ok. Probably won't use this hotel again.It was noisy at night.The pillows are terrible. They never came to clean our room,take trash. Was hoping for more.Front desk staff was helpful at times. Felt disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123beachbabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#66 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#75 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 216 North Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing