We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average rooms, Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #74 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average rooms, Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have stayed here multiple years. Best thing is the good price and great location, right off the boardwalk and short walk to arcade and carnival for the kids. Subway restaurant off the lobby is a big plus. Rooftop pool is big, but always seems to be cold. Hot tub is nice, as is the small indoor heated pool. Our room is always clean, although the hotel itself could use some sprucing up (carpets, wall paint, etc). Parking is available, although a couple blocks walk and very tight spaces (although this seems to be the norm for OC boardwalk area). Staff is always friendly. Lobby is very small and usually crowed during check-in/out times making it difficult to walk thru during those times. Elevator is slow and small (holds 4 with luggage, max) and quicker to take the stairs. Although they advertise free wifi, but we can never pick up a strong enough signal in our room (regardless of which floor we are on), and we only get friendly excuses from the staff ("we'll be sure to check") when we complain about the wifi. Small inconvenience since so many other places in the area offer it. Overall, a decent place and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    93
    61
    49
    80
See reviews for
153
105
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Based on reviews from TripAdvisor, I chose this hotel for myself and three friends. We attended the Maryland State Teacher's convention. The location of this hotel was excellent. We were less than a block from the board walk and many places to eat. We had two rooms, one was a double and the other one was a double with the sofa bed. I don't usually like sleeping on sofa beds but this one wasn't too bad. I loved the view of the ocean. I would highly recommend this hotel for it cleanliness, the location and the service.

Room Tip: Get a room with the ocean view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tch912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel employees and managers will cheat you out of your money with your security deposits. The customer service is terrible and the hotel is not worth your money. Save your time and money, and find a different hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calebzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmontecarlo, General Manager at Hotel Monte Carlo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
The Hotel in no way or form keeps security deposit with out good cause. In this situation it was underaged students who decided to damage hotel property. The guest were asked to leave hotel when upon the damaged was discovered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

clearfield, pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

hotel room was very nice, as described on the internet.. clean, new carpet and new bedding. very comfortable . outside of balconies could use some clean up. otherwise a very nice hotel. clean pools and a very nice pool and hottub on the roof. love the roof!!!. not much for the continental breakfast., packages muffins and danish, juice . you have to fill icecube trays in the rooms for ice.. no ice machine.

would stay again. good location, near boardwalk. and activities.
parking was tight in the parking lot., BUS STOP RIGHT OUTSIDE THE OFFICE OF THE HOTEL.

Room Tip: side ocean view room with 2 queens and sleep sofa was a nice size room...alot bigger than the just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilcherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Went to ocean city for a last minute trip. Wanted a place up close to the boardwalk. Checkin was very fast and friendly.
Parking was just across the street, close and easy to get to.
Room was clean and nice size, only negative was the bathroom was very small.
Roof top pool area is very nice, indoor pool is very small.
Elevator is very slow, so just use the stairs.
Location is great, just behind board walk and easy walk to everything.

Overall was very impressed with the room and the complex, all the staff was super nice.

I will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperDave498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently wrapped up a week long trip to OCMD & stayed at the Hotel Monte Carlo. Property fairly modern. All room furniture was from what I understand updated in 2012. Flat Screen TV w/ DVD Player. Beds were comfortable. Carpets were sand free. Outdoor furniture on balcony was clean. Met the maintance guy in the hallway & he did a check on my room to make sure everything was working properly, even installed updated clothing hangers in my room. Staff seems to take pride in the hotel property.

Hotel lobby did have that "Subway" Odor, but the smell of fresh bread isn't the worst thing in the world is it? The Subway Rest is attached to the hotel lobby, but still requires you to walk outside & around the front to enter the sandwich shop. Parking was very tight, advised to fold up you're mirrors when leaving you're car in the lot. Perhaps a Exterior Light can be installed to light up the parking area at night ...

Location is great, right down the street from the boardwalk. Only con - we were there for the begining of bike week, was a little loud to say the least when sleeping in the room with all the motorcycles. Would recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMTK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I would definitely stay at the Monte Carlo again. The rooms were clean, the rooms with the jacuzzi were really nice, the bed was comfortable and there was nothing to complain of. Great location very close to the boardwalk, and I definitely suggest paying the extra $20/day for preferred parking. This hotel is what I would expect of a "beach" hotel. There was a DVD player, flat screen TV, fridge, makeup remover wipes in the bathroom, and a microwave and plenty of space in the room. The outside pool was clean and definitely a nice way to cool off. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who isn't looking for anything fancy and top of the line.

All that said - I think there could be a few very minor improvements. The upgrades they made in 2012 to the room furnishings were fabulous. However, I wish they would have upgraded the shower curtain in the bathrooms - it looks like $1.00 cheapee you pick up at a general store. The curtain itself is functional but I think something a little nicer looking would do wonders for the bathrooms. I know in our room the sticker on the fridge that indicates that the fridge is off for energy conservation was worn off making it nearly illegible. So I spent the first few minutes wondering why the fridge was warm until I was able to make out the sticker on the front. Those are really my only two suggestions. Otherwise we had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPinkTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#54 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#43 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#62 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 216 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside all efficiency hotel built in 2000, located just steps to beach, boardwalk and Atlantic surf. Hotel offers seasonal rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, scenic rooftop sundeck, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi rooms, deluxe pillowtop bedding, cardio fitness room, Subway restaurant, guest laundry services. All efficiencies offer small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, cable TV with HBO, alarm clock radios, daily housekeeping service, elevator, handicap accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Hotel
Monte Carlo Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing