We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis on an action packed boardwalk.”
Review of Lankford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lankford Hotel
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

You get the best of both worlds. You're in the middle of all the fun and hussle-bustle of the boardwalk, but your room is a calming retreat from it all. The rocking chairs on the front porch facing the ocean couldn't be any more pleasant. People watching heaven. So the story is, I surprised my wife and two little boys this past Friday by secretly pre-packing our car in Washington, DC and telling them I wanted to "show them something cool." Imagine the eruption in the car when they learned we were heading straight to the beach. Hurray!

This property stands out from others on the beach in that it is kept so clean. Well maintained. This is probably because it's family owned and operated. There are no slackers on the staff--they all have a stake in its success. You won't find mold, mildew, or unpleasant smells here like you will in so many hotels we've stayed in on the boardwalk.

I enjoyed the daily bagel breakfast with coffee and juice in the lobby. My wife, boys and I took our breakfast out on the front porch to eat while watching the ocean and boardwalk passersby. Our apartment was called "The Raven," and it overlooks the boardwalk and ocean from two stories up. Having two bedrooms, a living room, a kitchenette and two full bathrooms is really quite a treat when you're right smack on the boardwalk. We were living large, yet the price was more than fair. It's a great value.

The family who runs the hotel is very nice, friendly, and hospitable. Two of their young children, adorable and well behaved, can be seen from time to time in the lobby being equally hospitable. The customer service was top notch. I've never felt more welcomed anywhere. --John Kennedy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kennedysfs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 174 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had only been dating my husband for about 7 months when he asked if I wanted to come with him on his annual trip to Ocean City, MD. I'd never been to the Eastern Shore and it sounded like fun so I packed my swimsuit and headed out. We stayed at the Lankford and I was instantly in love with this old hotel. This year marked my 14th stay at the Lankford (and 12th year being married) and there is no other place on the boardwalk (or in Ocean City for that matter) that I would rather stay. The location is perfect for walking down the boardwalk to get a slice of pizza at The Dough Roller or frozen custard from The Kohr Brothers. The rocking chairs on the front porch provide a great place to people watch while sipping on your drink from the Alaska Stand. Yes, the hotel is old. It's been there since 1924 - that's what makes it so unique! We were excited to see they are doing some renovations and we stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms in The Lodge. It was beautiful! The owners are so friendly it's like visiting relatives every year. If you're a knitter or into needlepoint they have the Salty Yarns shop attached to the hotel. Perfect for picking up that souvenir yarn or needlepoint kit. Can't wait to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in The Lodge are a bit quieter since they are off the boardwalk. Ocean view rooms can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Lankford for a few years now. We are treated like a member of the family and not just a guest. Everyone is friendly and as accommodating as possible. The location is perfect for a downtown vacation. The beach is wide, the porch and rockers are inviting - a very relaxing atmosphere. This is a nice quiet hotel and not for a party crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAUA95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I have spent many lovely, long weekends at the Lankford. Love this place. The staff is friendly and efficient, the atmosphere is laid back, the furnishings are comfortable and clean, and the price is right! What more could you want. I highly recommend this place for singles, couples, and families. They aim to please.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshine086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at this family-run hotel many times over the past few years. Each time, we are never disappointed. The front desk staff is great, always accommodating. The rooms are meticulous and the employees are hardworking and pleasant. On the Boardwalk and walking distance to restaurants, shops and bars! We love the place because it is peaceful and quiet. If you are looking for a hotel that caters to noisy young adults after hours, this is not the place for you. The best amenity - the wide porch with many, many rocking chairs, which overlooks the boardwalk and ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love the Lankford Hotel and our Lankford family. Next year when we go, we will have stayed the a minimum of once a year for 30 years! The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is old and lacks amenities of the new facilities, but its cleaniness, friendliness, and perfect location more than make up for no pool or restaurant! We have stayed in the hotel rooms and in a variety of apartments. Always happy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family has been staying at the Lankford for more than 20 years. Mary is awesome and her family. We couldn't be happier. The management is great. They accommodate all the needs. On the Boardwalk. Close to everything. Storage for your items. The owners take care of the guests - we feel like part of the family. It's nice when you hear your name; they remember because they care. They do a lovely weekly update handout too for the people staying there. Very personable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
1,000 reviews
6.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#73 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 104 in Ocean City
2,489 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#5 of 104 in Ocean City
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lankford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lankford Hotel

Address: 807 N Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21843
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $71 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lankford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of old Ocean City, the Lankford Hotel is the perfect home away from home. Conveniently located on the boardwalk where we are close to shops, amusements, restaurants and just steps to the beach. We have hotel rooms as well as apartments that come with full kitchens. All of our units have refrigerators, air conditioning, cable tv, telephone and private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lankford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lankford Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing