We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites
Ranked #85 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
South Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST Hotel Ever”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

WORST HOTEL EVER. We do a lot of traveling and stay in a lot of hotels. The Tidelands was dirty, smelly, mold, plaster on the walls is falling off. Hotel staff has no clue. No hot water 1 day. No blankets on the bed, they expected you to use the dirty bedspread for a blanket. They came in everyday and made the bed, but did not change the sheets. They took the dirty towels but did not replace them with clean ones. Had to call Housekeeping and wait for them to bring them to you. The lobby had couches that were disgusting. Would never have sat in them. The pool was ok but the restaurant did not have most of the food they had on there menu. Booked the hotel through Priceline and they are not being accommodating about anything. Tried to find another hotel, but everything was booked. I'll be a little more careful next time and I will NEVER use PRICELINE again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardoymichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    108
    95
    93
    184
See reviews for
282
92
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

No hot water the entire trip, microwave, fridge kept blowing breaker, and did not work properly, toilet ran constantly, had to turn water off. Front desk staff was not very helpful in trying to get the problems resolved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our room was a king, ocean view. It was a very nice room. The front desk staff were nice and helpful. Housekeeping could have been a little better. The room wasn't dirty but there were just a few minor things that could have been better. My only complaint is the noise level late at night. Not all was the hotel's fault. We had very.very noisy neighbors..very loud talking, doors slamming, children running in the hallways..late at night. But the one thing the hotel should consider changing is the location of the ice machine. Several times a night we were disturbed by the very loud ice machine as other guests were getting ice (in the middle of the night). And our room wasn't even directly next to the ice machine! This hotel also has a covered parking area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked this hotel for my daughters 13th birthday and took her and some girlfriends. We had booked a 2 king Oceanfront room. I called for late check in to make sure our reservation was good and they were aware we would be checking in late, even though I stated that when I reserved the room. When I got there they gave me a 2 queen handicapped room and said it was all they had and didn't give me a reduced rate. I had to park in a dark unlit parking lot 2 blocks away, oh and crossing the 2 bisiest streets in Ocean City with 5 teeneagers. Then our air didn't work, the sheets on the pull out sofa had not been changed and there was sand in it. The hotel responded by bringing up sheets and sitting them on the bed, I paid $200 a nt to change the sheets from the last guest. We basically lost the 1st nt we were there, so in the morning I called to see if we could have a late check out and in between me explaining what had happened a very rude man interrupted me and said no, the check out time is 11, thanks you and hung up! Never would stay here or recommend to anyone!! The only thing they had going for them, is they are on the boardwalk!!

Room Tip: There is no tip good luck and the staff won't help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishL91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A great time was had by all. The staff at Blue Fins was awesome and the front desk was helpful with early check in. The room had no issues except I am used to watching a bigger TV - but who watches TV anyway??? We had 20+ people and had a great time.

Room Tip: Sleep quality is average because we stayed out late and my friends woke me up too early bikes starte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the Tidelands from Sept 9-13...dirty isn't even the word...thank God no bed bugs but the floor was filthy, no maid service involving cleaning of the bathroom or anything...the area by the pool wasn't taken care of..full garbage, dirty cups laying all over and these little bugs flying in the room...thank God I always carry Lysol and Clorox ..dirty yuk!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lisadees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed several times at the Tidelands and have always been happy with our room. Our stay over the July 4 holiday was exceptional. Room was always cleaned and beds made early in the day, staff was always helpful and courteous. Have already booked a October weekend get away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#60 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#72 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#74 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#58 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites

Property: Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites
Address: 409 Atlantic Ave, 5th Street on the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-4180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidelands is centrally located on 5th Street on the Boardwalk in Ocean City, Maryland featuring 133 beautifully decorated oceanfront, oceanview & oceanblock rooms & 2-room suites. We offer deluxe, spacious accommodations with a kitchen, as well as two pools, including rooftop pool with pool bar plus free wireless internet. As part of The Carousel Group Hotels, we offer Carousel Vacation Packages and extras with all stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidelands Caribbean Hotel Ocean City
Tidelands Caribbean Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing