We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but some problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites
Ranked #78 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here. We know not expect anything super nice, its a boardwalk hotel - overpriced and over-used. Our room was pleasant enough, but our toilet was giving us problems, and our phone did not work. They brought us a phone. On the third day it would not flush at all. We waited for the cleaning people to come, but they never showed up. That afternoon, we reported the toilet problems. We reported again, after dinner. At 10:00 pm that night, we had to ask the desk person to contact the night manager. She came to our room and was a little "snippy". She said that it was the "first she heard of it". Maybe, but she could have been more polite about it. She jiggled the handle and said it worked fine. It worked sporadically after that. We said that we also could not use our in-room phone because it would randomly go into speaker-phone mode and the dial tone would turn on by itself. She again was snippy and then replaced the phone. I don't know why they weren't nice about it. I was going to ask for another pillow since the pillows were a little flat, but I didn't want to bother. So nothing major, but for the money, they could at least be nice and provide the basics.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracyann91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 613 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

the tidelands caribbean hotel and suites was a great place to stay! convenient to everything, great pools and the staff was very accomodating and helpful with any request that we had. the beds were very comfortable and the a/c was wonderful! usually when we go on vacation my husband ends up fixing the a/c but it was perfectly cool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The People were great! Didn't like the tight parking but that is what you get when you stay at a hotel on the boardwalk. Hotel is older but it was clean and you could not ask for nicer people! Pool was clean and enjoyable. Great Location

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryBethWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The employees were super nice and helpful and the rooms were large and clean. The location was excellent but parking was a bit limited. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to enjoy the pool, but we will next time around. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dellenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. Paid over $300 per night [room 53?], for starters the hallway smelled, once in the room we found mold, very dirty floor, comforter had yellow spots. Other than location, this place sucks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had heard some not so wonderful reviews from friends but room was already booked so I decided I'd make up my own mind and I was VERY happy with my experience. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, they made me feel as comfortable there as if I were in my own home. Rooms were nice and the location was PERFECT. I was very pleased with my stay at Tidelands and I will absolutely be using them again for my next OC getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a king room- TWO king beds and a pullout sofa. Right on the boardwalk, one minute walk to beach. Great location. The person we had taking care of our room was great. She gave us extra coffee and wash clothes when we asked. She was very kind to my son who has autism-She talked to him and treated him very nicely. Overall - we had a good experience. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jddeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#84 of 104 in Ocean City
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#7 of 104 in Ocean City
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 104 in Ocean City
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites

Address: 409 Atlantic Ave, 5th Street on the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-4180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $74 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidelands is centrally located on 5th Street on the Boardwalk in Ocean City, Maryland featuring 133 beautifully decorated oceanfront, oceanview & oceanblock rooms & 2-room suites. We offer deluxe, spacious accommodations with a kitchen, as well as two pools, including rooftop pool with pool bar plus free wireless internet. As part of The Carousel Group Hotels, we offer Carousel Vacation Packages and extras with all stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tidelands Caribbean Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidelands Caribbean Hotel Ocean City
Tidelands Caribbean Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing