We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but very loud”
Review of The Bonfire

The Bonfire
Ranked #58 of 426 Restaurants in Ocean City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Ocean City, MD's finest Seafood & Prime Rib Buffet
Bear Creek Twp
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but very loud”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We eat here at least twice every year we come down to OC. The food is really good and always hot and fresh. It is a bit expensive but you get what you pay for. We tried a cheaper buffet on the boardwalk and it was so bad we had to get our money back before we even got to eat. The only real down side to The Bonfire is the atmosphere, it is really loud, between people talking, children making noise and the constant sound of plates and dishes clattering but it really cant be helped. Overall a great place to get some seafood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    231
    96
    60
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place was very pricey. The crab legs and the shrimp were good but everything else was of a low priced buffet quality. The soups had a canned soup taste. Some of the desserts tasted like they were previously frozen. I had a craving for crabs and chicken but they only had chicken legs on the buffet and they were labeled "chicken legs" so I know that they were not just picked over. For the price of close to 35 dollars a person I would think that they would be able to have all parts of the chicken. Save your money and spend 35 dollars on a nice dinner at another restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Seafood Buffet”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Buffet leans very heavily towards seafood. Just what you'd expect from a buffet near the beach. For members of your party that don't eat seafood get one of their steaks from the menu! Very good! Could use a little better desert offerings to set itself apart from other buffets.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First stop every year”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Bonfire is our first stop every year. The buffet is always a pleaser, with something for everyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camaroqueen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow Pricey!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Took my wife and two kids (10 & 7) to the Bonfire while on vacation. We walked out spending about $140. Definitely NOT worth it. Although I will say my kids liked being able to go get whatever they wanted, but what they ate was not worth what we paid. I did enjoy eating a lot of steamed shrimp, but for that much we could have gone to a very nice restaurant and had a memorable experience (for the food that is and not the check).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Has2bJustRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bonfire also viewed

 

Been to The Bonfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing