We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good overall dining experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bonfire

The Bonfire
Ranked #56 of 412 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ocean City, MD's finest Seafood & Prime Rib Buffet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very good overall dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We didn't get to the buffet till 830pm we thought maybe the food would be old or gone that late but to our surprise everything was fresh and being refilled often even the crab legs. Our server was great she filled our drinks if they were half full. Very clean and well organized. We will definitely return on future vacations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa9397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    229
    92
    59
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food Good! Service.... not so much!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The food was good, no complaints. What we didn't like was the service. The waiter was rude. My 9 year old had a stomachache and just got five baby corn and ate two. They insisted that she ate the buffet and still charged me full price. A friend's daughter ordered from the menu and her mother asked her to try a mozzarella stick from her plate. The waiter yelled saying that they couldn't do that. There are other ways to handle people than yelling. All four of our families will not be going back!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redsoxman, Manager at The Bonfire, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We set the bar higher for our servers and your issues should have been handled in a different manner - we apologize. If you would relay the name of your server, or even where you were sitting, I'd like to handle the issue with the server directly. Thank you for coming to the Bonfire and for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good buffet, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

First time eating at bonfire. We enjoyed it very much. Food was good, many options to choose from, really good crab legs. Restaurant was nice and clean. Service was excellent. Went for the early bird special and saved $5 per person.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“eat your fill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The buffet cuts no corners. Great beef. Plenty of delicious sides. Of course the sea food items are great. Lots of variety , fresh and constantl;y attended to. Even desserts are over the top. Drinks aren't exceptional, but you can't have it all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blockhead48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Above average buffet food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The food is above average for an all you can eat buffet...there's enough variety in addition to the seafood for everyones taste. I skipped the salads and soups, although they looked good, and went straight for the steamed shrimp and clam strips. For the main course there was a nice variety of fish, each with a different preparation and taste as well as fried oysters and fried shrimp plus prime rib, roast beef, ham, and all the sides you could want.

For dessert don't miss the fresh donuts... Our suggestion, top a fresh donut with warm apple cobbler then soft serve vanilla ice cream then hot caramel sauce.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GV27OCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bonfire also viewed

 

Been to The Bonfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing