We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a beer on the boardwalk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shorebilly Brewing Company - CLOSED

Shorebilly Brewing Company
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good place for a beer on the boardwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stopped in for a beer while exploring the boardwalk during the end of the high season in Ocean City. I was attracted by the fact that it appeared to offer something different to the generic bar/club/restaurant/grill venues that you could find in any party town in the US.

The bar area has a really cool industrial/surf aesthetic feel, which again makes it stand out from the other places on the boardwalk. It's small and best suited for a couple of people rather than large groups (but it is attached to the restaurant next door).

If you are a craft beer fan, you probably won't be overly excited about the beers. They are good, but nothing special (that' only my opinion though!). What makes the place very good overall is that just having a cool small venue with craft beer is a very welcome sight when all the other options are generic/chains branded or otherwise boring Bud Light swilling venues.

Oh, and the skateboard beer sample is just plain cool.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul80A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“small seating area/ok beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The beer was typical of a small brewery. I didn't love it or hate it. It was freezing out the day we were there, so the cold air coming in through the doors made it hard for me to want to stay long...plus there was only enough room for about 6 people to sit, and I wasn't one of those people. I thought their prices were high for ($6 per beer), but I liked the idea that the sampler came in a skateboard. Their one spiced beer was pretty good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenksoccer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saved by being on the boardwalk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Beer was mediocre at best. IPA was a poor example of the style. Pulled pork sliders were so salty they were barely palatable. Best thing about the place was the beach in full view. FYI - no inside seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlh12495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
446 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“New and Much needed place on the boardwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My beer geek husband was pleasantly surprised by this micro-brew on the boardwalk. The view is fantastic from the porch, service very pleasant and they fill growlers! While we didn't try any food, the menu is interesting, but short on vegetarian options. Next door is Hammerheads which has a bigger menu, the hostess told us that you can't get Hammerheads food at shorebilly, but you could close out your tab and bring your shorebilly beer into hammerheads.
We're looking forward to going back- especially since we rarely go to the boardwalk in season!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved Shorebilly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Being a beer geek I was so excited to see that Ocean City had got its first brewery. We finally got to go there today. While it is small and most of its seating outdoors their beer and food are excellent. We got the 2 lbs of steamed mussels and IPA's while our friends got a skateboard sampler. There waitress was very friendly and was happyntomexplain how They came into existence. For anyone vacationing in OC check out Shorebilly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lifl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorebilly Brewing Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing