We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ky West Restaurant & Bar

Ky West Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #59 of 412 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

since they have switched chefs the food is not good. i'm disappointed about this since it was one of the only good restaurants in ocean city. what a shame. what a waste of a great new restaurant and a great view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing happy hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

First visit to Ky West on a football Sunday. Enjoyed 25 cent wings and $2 drafts. Can't rave enough about the place. Amazing wings- Chesapeake Style (Old Bay) and Thai, perfectly cooked and delicious. Served with carrot sticks, celery and real blue cheese, the plate was very pretty. Most places when there's a special on beer you're limited to one or two choices, here you could get a Blue Moon, Stella, Angry Orchard, etc.
The place inside is beautiful with a really cool water feature in the bar. Our waitress was very attentive and pleasant too.
Unfortunately this time of year they're only open on weekends.
Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgrlBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ky West - An Ocean City Maryland Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We live in the area and get to try many of the local restaurants. We are selective when we go out and look for restaurants that rise above the OC norm. We found that in Ky West! First impressions are always telling ... and the bar and dining areas are stunning! This is a place where you will definitely want to linger over your meal with friends. Very sleek, modern and up-scale! We dined in the bar area which has more of a casual feel ... fireplace, tastefully placed TV monitors (if you just don't want to miss the game!), There is also a comfy couch seating area near the fireplace!! Enough about the ambiance ... what about the food? My salmon was PERFECTLY prepared and the accompanying Thai chili sauce was delicious! The dinner comes with 2 veggies ... so you don't have to get French fries (although theirs are hand-cut and seasoned). I ordered a side salad and sweet potato casserole (a yummy comfort food side dish!) Our friends were also thrilled with the steak and the pan-seared scallops! The meal was also accompanied by a seasonal offering of pumpkin corn bread which was sooo good! Before we left we toured the dining area side which has a beautiful illuminated tropical fish tank mounted on the wall! so sorry that I don't have pictures for you! We also met the executive chef Jay James, formerly of Ruth's Chris! I heartily endorse Ky West ... great food, great ambiance at a reasonable price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“An absolute must! What a dining experience should be. Not a tourist trap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Before sampling the usual over rated, high priced, low quality, long wait tourist traps, you MUST stop into Ky West and set the bar for your dining experience in Ocean City. New to the area, the atmosphere is upscale casual, the staff treat you like friends you haven't seen in a while, and Executive Chef Jay is master. The six of us had dinner last night and we're still talking about it. We had the ribeye with the Demi glacé, crab stuffed rockfish, portobello vegetable plate, the ribs and Alfredo with mussels, crab chowder and soup. I don't even know what to recommend except that you go there. Prices are inline and portions large. Thank you Ky! Great job! Good luck in Ocean City!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptTim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You don't have to travel to Florida to enjoy Ky West!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious. Wings and crab cake appetizer were perfect. Filet Mignon melted in my mouth and the Seafood Pasta was amazing. Staff was so accommodating and friendly. Andrew the bartender is a really nice guy. Ky made sure everything was special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ky West Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ky West Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing