We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food terrible name” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Original Crabcake Factory

The Original Crabcake Factory
Ranked #12 of 412 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steps from the Beach at 120th Street
Wirtz, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food terrible name”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Drove past this establishment for years-thought name reflected "cheap food" but my daughter went there and bragged about the crabcakes. So we tried it--excellent back fin crabcakes! Specials are offered off season.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joannvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCJ, Director of Sales at The Original Crabcake Factory, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Well after 18 years and millions of Crabcakes sold I'd say there's no better name for us than...
The Crabcake Factory...glad you got past that and finally got to see whats made us a staple since 1996 in Ocean City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    301
    122
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Don't plan to return. Average grouper and average crabcakes. Very good fries and chowder. There are too many other better crabcake restaurants in Ocean City.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCJ, Guest Relations Manager at The Original Crabcake Factory, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Well first of all Donald let me Thank you so much for trying out the Crabcake Factory. We also must thank you for stating the Chowder and French Fries were outstanding. Having been in the Crabcake business for 18 years at this location and having sold millions of Maryland Crabcakes to the masses we are very surprised to hear our food described as average. Everyone knows that Marble Falls, Texas, where you hail from is famous for its fresh seafood and crabcakes so we are sure you are an expert and know of what you speak Donald. Our Crabcakes are made fresh daily with no filler and I think if you check the other 400 or so reviews here you'd see most disagree with your opinion. You know what they say everyone has one, so we certainly respect yours, we only wish you had alerted someone as to your issues with the massive fresh grouper or our famous crabcakes at the time you were eating and we could have helped you right then. In defense of Mr. Grouper, that was a special on Fresh Grouper and is not on the menu per se, it sold out to rave reviews and you are the only one I can recall not being happy with the fresh fish that day.

Tripadvisor is a great way to let others know of your experiences. We Thank you again and look forward to your reviews of the multitude of other seafood places you mentioned. Please contact us if you have any further issues. We'd love to hear more from the Marbles Falls, Texas customer base.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton, new york
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely love the Crabcake factory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stop everytime we are in Ocean City!. My husband absolutely loves seafood and for me who doesn't eat seafood, always can find something to eat and never a complaint about the food. This time we even went for breakfast for the first time and must say was a great meal and a great price. We love the staff at Crabcake too. Everytime that we go, its so wonderful that the staff remembers us! Ryan, Meagen, Becca, Eric! Each time we go we meet wonderful people and never feel rushed to leave! Will see you each and every visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kelso2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding crabcakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We go here a couple of times during each visit to OC--year-round. You can make a meal out of their crabcakes--one or two depending upon level of your hunger. VG fries and cole slaw as fries. Skip the sandwiches with bread you don't need. You'll fill up on the rest and not need dessert. Bar drinks are well made. Service friendly but often hurried due to volume. Staff members help each other out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdwardBonekemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oily cream of crab soup”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Driven past this place for years, and wanted to try it. Def a locals place, loud, cramped etc. Tried the cream of crab soup, oily and lukewarm, minimal meat in it but what was there was claw, not backfin. Tried this 'amazing" 5oz crab cake...... meh? moving on. We got our check and got out, the place looks haphazard, no real design to it, shoddy exterior, interior. Waitress was great and quick.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drivinpastya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCJ, Public Relations Manager at The Original Crabcake Factory, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Well first of all let me Thank You so much for visiting the Crabcake Factory and making us one of your three restaurant reviews on Tripadvisor. We have been in business for 18 years and have more reviews than any other in our city so although you didn't enjoy our place we would encourage you to not only leave bad reviews but tell people places you like too. We see you enjoyed Desire Resort in Mexico but your other three reviews were negative. Tripadvisor is a great way to get feedback from our customers and also allows us to see who you are and respond to any issues like this. Had anyone mentioned a displeasure with our Cream of Crab Bisque we certainly could have gotten you something you would have enjoyed. We feature three homemade soups every day. The cream of crab is a bisque which by definition is going to be not overloaded with meat. You mention claw meat as if that is some sort of bad thing. We use claw in most of out soups because as any Marylander knows the sweetest meat is in the claw. Backfin and Jumbo Lump are great for Crabcakes but are virtually tasteless when put into a soup and generally break up and burn in the kettle. We have served millions of bowls of soup and we have found this is what most people prefer.

Crabcake Factory has also served millions of crabcakes in our three locations. Your evaluation of the Crabcakes only used the word "Meh" which is a word used by my 9 year old to describe just about anything nowadays but doesn't give me much insight as to your issue. I am positive you did not find any claw in the crabcake and since you noted the server was outstanding I'm just gonna have to chalk this one up as "Not your kind of place". You mention the "Haphazard" design and the fact its loud and cramped. Yes this is probably true and its likely what has drawn all of our good customers in for 18 years. The sign on the wall says, Its all about the food and we mean it. We are an unpretentious seafood shack with homemade food and Maryland hospitality. I am sure you will find what you are looking for somewhere. We are likely going to stay pleasantly unrefined as, its worked all this years....but its just not for everyone.

We are sorry you had a "poor" visit and wish we would have had a chance to fix your problems.
It seems you didn't have much luck at the places you have reviewed. If you ever decide to come see us again there is always someone there to help you with any and all of your issues and we would love to make your next visit the one to write your first good review about. THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Crabcake Factory also viewed

 
Ocean City, MD
 

Been to The Original Crabcake Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing