We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service, real crabcakes.”

The Original Crabcake Factory
Ranked #14 of 437 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Steps from the Beach at 120th Street
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service, real crabcakes.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

As soos as you walk in, they are welcoming even though they're busy.Not just the hostess and servers but even the busboys are friendly. Crabcakes sandwich isnt cheap but when you get it you see why. . .no filler, lump crabmeat with plenty of backfin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverdog34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    325
    136
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast food.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Some of us ate breakfast and some ate lunch. The breakfast food was good and you get a very large serving; I could not eat all of my skillet because it was very heavy but my husband happily finished it! He ordered a crab cake sandwich and said that is was not the best crab cake he has had but was very good and mostly crab meat with little filler.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Horrible Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am sad to write this because their food is outstanding. We waited over an hour to eat here and they somehow crossed our name off the list even though they never called us. Once we sat down we ordered food but they only brought part of the order and then brought out the rest of the appetizers with our meal. We ended up sending the appetizers back and they were nice to offer to refund the money but we waited for such a long time by that point we were frustrated. They then dropped one of the dinners for our table and we didn't have a replacement until the entire table was done eating. We sent that back and they did try to make it right - they took $50 off the bill and offered to give us free drinks in the morning and to come into breakfast. We opted not to go back because of the experience the night before as it consumed 3.5 hours of our time already!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNeh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCJ, General Manager at The Original Crabcake Factory, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Wow :-( First of all let me Thank You very much for Trying Crabcake Factory Out. It would be pertinent to note that you dined with us on the busiest day of the year and actually the busiest day in the history of Crabcake Factory. I would like to personally apologize to you once again as I did on the night of your visit. The hour wait is fairly normal in Summer. We called the party several times before removing your name as we explained at the time of your visit. When you approached the hostess we added you again and seated you at the very next available table. We also explained to you at the time that our steamers were down and anything from the Steamed Portion of the Menu would take extra long. Unfortunately a food runner was knocked into by another patron and the large bowl of steamed seafood was dropped. We comped $50 off the meal and invited to buy you breakfast in the morning as well. You told us at the time that the food was every bit worth the wait and that you would definately be back. This is why I was a bit confused by this review as we did everything possible to help you. I guess that is horrible service but we did try to appease you as best we could considering the size of the crowds that day.

It appears you changed your mind about coming back but we do appreciate you mentioning how great the food was. Once again I apologize. This is not the norm at Crabcake Factory as you know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two 5oz Crabcakes for $25 what more can I say!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Crabcake Factory was the best food I had in OC. They were not overpriced and the food was served to us in decent time frame given the fact that it was jam packed on a Saturday evening on a 4th of July weekend. I will definitely pay this place a visit when I come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diceburna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cake in Maryland!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Crabcake Factory has the best crab cake hands down. I ordered the crab cake salad and it was perfect. All jumbo lump meat, without any filler. Mmmm! A tad pricey, but well worth it. You can even order crab cakes, have them boxed, iced and shipped. So good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Crabcake Factory also viewed

 
Ocean City, MD
 

Been to The Original Crabcake Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing