We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge and delicious”
Review of Sahara Cafe

Sahara Cafe
Ranked #3 of 426 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Sahara Cafe is a seasonal summer business .
Level Contributor
106 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Huge and delicious”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to OC for 30 years with the family and have been to several of the top breakfast restaurants. Although we had heard about Sahara's (and noted the great reviews on Trip Advisor) we had never tried it until today. As raved about by others, the breakfast was outstanding. Numerous delicious creative options to choose from, as well as the basic traditional breakfasts. My crabmeat and cheddar cheese omelette with hollandaise and hash brown potatoes was wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank PMNYANKEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    105
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most popular waitress ever”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our waitress was the most poplar woman ever! She asked what we wanted to drink and then walked away to greet friends. She made us wait to order while she took pictures with returning customers and chatted. We sat there for 20 min. Finally took our order. When our food was ready she took another 10 minutes to bring it bc she was still socializing. The check was another 20 minutes. She was very nice and I respect that she's probably an icon there..... But that she should still take care if her customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koleandskysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in town”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

You can not beat the Sahara Café for the best breakfast in town and a fantastic price. Joyce is one of the waitress that have been serving customers for years. Great staff, great food, great price. what more are you looking for?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decor was better than the food.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This restaurant has a very unique decor. They are total Dead Head fans and have the concert tickets to prove it. It was interesting. Unfortunately the food was not as interesting. Eggs Benedict came with ham so thick it was bad. Some of the egg dishes were bland. Better decor than food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beezy1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danudej7, Owner at Sahara Cafe, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
While it has taken me a long to respond to your review , I want to thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience at our cafe . I must apologize for the thickness of the canadian bacon on your Eggs Benedict as there is a fine line of giving the customer a good portion of meat but not too much because it may overbear the outcome of the whole taste and consistency of the dish . Pleas try us again and please ask for me personally if I can be of any assistance . Are you a fan of the Grateful Dead ? Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great breakfast stop in OC”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been coming to OC for years, but only found this little gem a few years ago when we stayed at the Sahara Motel. Sure, there are many breakfast buffets in town, but you won't leave here hungry. The menu is very adequate for a smaller place. The omelette's are huge, tasty, and a good variety. From a plain cheese omelette, to the "Big Eddie C", which includes all your breakfast meats, including scrapple. I had this one and was not hungry the rest of the day. Pancakes are HUGE and fluffy.The wait staff are kind and friendly, and several have been there many years. Food was served very fast, even with a full house, my kudos to the cook. Check out the fine print on the menu's. It states..."No service for those with no sense of humor". A great way to start your day in OC. They start serving lunch at 12, but breakfast is there true niche. Our last visit was the first weekend in October and the place was still full every morning. GREAT JOB SAHARA CAFE !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gr8cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danudej7, Owner at Sahara Cafe, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very extensive review for us . We had a very busy season and I like to respond to all reviews when I have the time . We are now closed for the winter months and will open at the end of April . Again thank you very much and hope to see you next season !! , Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahara Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sahara Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing