We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”

Macky's Bayside Bar & Grill
Ranked #39 of 426 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
De Soto, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The view was the only redeeming quality to this restaurant. The food was terrible, the presentation was awful. Our waitress did a decent job and the wine was good. I ordered the Mahi Mahi special and my husband ordered the chicken. Couldn't even tell them apart. Stay away.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    224
    115
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
By the sea
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Felt rushed”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I would have given Macky's a 5 star rating had our server at the outside seating area not made us feel so rushed. We had friends in town and we wanted to have a nice relaxed dinner outside because the weather was just beautiful.

We were just seated and our drink orders were taken when server came back to ask if we wanted appetizers. We told her we wanted to relax a bit with our drinks, then we would order. When we ordered our appetizers, our server told us we should consider ordering dinner because the kitchen was really "bogged down" because they were crowded. We decided to place our dinner orders. Before we were even finished our appetizers, the dinners were brought to the table. Not a good thing for a restaurant to make the diners feel like they have to choke down their appetizers.

Anyway, that aside, our appetizers were: Coconut Shrimp, a special smoked fish and scallops. All were wonderful. Our dinners consisted of Maryland Crab Cakes, Andouille Crusted Grouper (Excellent) Ahi Tuna.

Macky's has a really nice drink selection. It is unfortunate that the service was a little off with pushing the food so quickly. It is a beautiful spot and a nice atmosphere and it is too bad that I could not give it 5 stars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edison nj
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go for the ambiance and the view”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I rarely encourage others to this. But, in this case it's absolutely true. Sitting in the sand and watching the sunset while dining is really terrific. Just realize that the food is average and a bit overpriced. If the weather is good, you'll think you're in the Bahamas instead of OC Maryland.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BingieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fun food on the beach”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Neat place. Tables in the sand on the bay. Watch the sunset. Food has gotten better. We need to eat at Macky's every year when we're in Ocean City for vacation. Kids can play in the water.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food was fabulous.....”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We ate on the sand..... the dinners were the best we had all week..... three seafood in white wine sauce with tomatoes..... and tilapia with cheddar crab on top...... suberb meal with a great place to watch the sunset....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRuane4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macky's Bayside Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Macky's Bayside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing