We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too overpriced & noisy!”

J/R's The Original Place for Ribs
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too overpriced & noisy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We got there early to beat the rush. We were seated right away and the food was served in less then 15 minutes. The NY Strip was leathery and the steak fries were undercooked. The fish was ok. The only good thing we ate were the ribs. Everything was way overpriced except for the ribs. There were 3 different families there with crying children. Hard to have a conversion with so much noise. We'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRedcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    37
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Thank you JR's for some great food and service..... We thoroughly enjoyed your ribs and all the fixin's at your restaurant. A great time was had bay all, and we will be back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went early to beat the crowd and actually benefited from it being able to order from the Early Bird menu which was excellent savings. We will return!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank melissal660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go to Nicks!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stay in OC every year. Unfortunatly, we couldn't remember if it was Nicks or JR's that we ate ribs ate. We quickly realized that it was Nicks. The ribs at JR's were dry. You get two sides and your not able to substitute a salad for one of your sides. We spent less money at BJ's on the Waterfront and they are a seafood restaraunt. We were very disappointed with the price and taste of the food. My husband ordered a yeungling on tap and he said that it tasted old.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I rarely go to a rib place, but I'm glad we did!
We both ordered the beef ribs, which was a huge slab. The BBQ sauce was tasty, as we're the bens and cole slaw.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynnewithane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J/R's The Original Place for Ribs also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing