We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had higher hopes”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jonah & The Whale Seafood
Ranked #312 of 426 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Had higher hopes”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I like to visit local joints as opposed to going to Subway and Jimmy Johns for lunch. Unfortunately, they would have been better choices as these sandwiches were uninspired. They were not BAD; just not GOOD.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sangiof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    40
    23
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“On a budget”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Want AYCE seafood but on a budget?

I've been here many times over the years and found out something different this time. Last day of vacation and money was running low. Two of us wanted AYCE seafood and the other two just wanted a decent meal. AYCE seafood buffet $27.99 - $2.00 coupon, AYCE seafood pasta bar plus salad and desert bar $14.99. Also had regular menu items, prices varied but reasonable.

I had the pasta bar, got angel hair pasta in a scampi sauce with crab, shrimp, scallops, clams and mussels, went back for seconds!

The quality is good, the selection decent and does include crab legs, and the price compared to other places like this in Ocean City is very good. I have never had a bad meal here and always left full.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DireWolf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It was...alright.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The buffet was overpriced to begin with, especially for an "early bird special" price. The selection was limited. Food was not prepared well...overcooked mostly. It is sad when the food is better at Golden Corral. I would not go back.

the service was good though, no complaints there. The service was my only reason for giving it a 3.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lionkingfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great crab legs!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Great Crab legs great price and great service. We always make this place a tradition when we go to OC. Can't beat the price for such good food at a buffet

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jokirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is the worst restaurant that I have ever been to there was nothing at all good about this place tried the crab legs, shrimp, and baked fish could not believe everything was bad how can you screw up baked fish IF YOU'RE IN O.C. DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank david5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonah & The Whale Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Jonah & The Whale Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing