We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greene Turtle

Greene Turtle
Ranked #136 of 412 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner at the Greene turtle and it was not as good as I remembered it being. After being seated and waiting 10 minutes, no servers even greeted us. I had to ask the hostess to please send someone over.
Kids got burger and fries. No pickle came with it even though the menu said that it did. Dry burgers. Lots of bread.
Also had the kids chicken fingers which were fine. Both came with a side of bagged apples.
Both kids stated that the fries were too spicy for them. They did have pepper on them.
I had the crabby melt. It was average nothing special.
Food seemed quickly put together
Standard sandwich and fries
If you want a noisey spot for kids it could be a good choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linz0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“love the greene turtle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My summer place since I am 13 and now am 30 has been Ocean City. We own a condo there. I always always make sure I make my stop at the turtle. I have been there for NYE as well which is a blast. This one is within walking distance of the condo. The turtle west is great too because its big and open and pool tables as well. Such a fun place with fun people!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank malenag125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt top
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a trip over the bridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were staying at Frontier Town and drove by several times so decided to give it a try. Very good food. Lots of crab dishes, crabby fries, crab cake burger, crab melt. We had all and they were good! Plan on at least $10 a head for a sandwich with chips. Wait staff was very good place was clean. Do not let the green pool of water out front turn you away. There is a nice bar. Everyone in our party of 5 enjoyed their meal. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank familyof5mttop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very dependent on the current chef”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to this friendly, relatively inexpensive restaurant for over 12 years now. We've noticed that as chefs change with the seasons, the quality of the food goes up and down quite noticeably. It used to have one of the best hamburgers around, cooked as ordered, and quite yummy. Now they have changed over to pre-formed frozen patties that are seldom cooked any way other than well done. There are specialty items on the starters menu that I often order as my full meal but I no longer order hamburgers here. My wife won't give up on them and orders her medium rare burger every time...and at least half the time sends it back for being way too overcooked.

For a golfing group, a family looking for good selections for children, and large groups out for a fun evening, this is still a pretty good choice, but it sure isn't the place it used to be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Bar service was great. The BBQ chicken flatbread and chicken tenders are a must have. Will definitely eat here the next time we visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLDPETERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greene Turtle also viewed

 

Been to Greene Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing