We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and attentive service”

The Shark on the Harbor
Ranked #18 of 477 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: real food * from scratch We believe that great food and healthful ingredients are not mutually exclusive of each other. We buy organic produce from local farmers and seafood from the commercial fishing harbor right outside our restaurant. We feature all natural products - steering clear of preservatives and antibiotics. Whole grains and whole foods are used in the preparation of our menu - which our chefs write twice daily, based on what's fresh, available and delicious. Fresh. Local. Organic. Taste the difference.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

My wife and I came here for lunch, after trying several places on and next to the OC boardwalk and striking out. This place, located a short driving distance from the boardwalk, was like a breath of fresh air.

The service was attentive and friendly throughout. The views of the harbor from our table were gorgeous. The ambience of the restaurant, with it's really high ceiling and glass sliding windows, carried an open, positive vibe. Just a great place to stop in, relax and have a bite to eat. Speaking of which, the food was fantastic! I had a cup of tomato soup with pieces of crab, which was hearty and delicious, and a fish sandwich, which was tasty and juicy. My wife had a crab cake sandwich, which was also scrumptious. Along with the food, there is also a great drink selection, including local craft beers. I had the RAR Farmhouse Blonde Ale, which was smooth and highly enjoyable. There is ample parking in a gravel lot in front of and on the side of the restaurant. Kudos!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Masyunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2018

10 straight years as our last meal before we go home will say it all. The restaurants food is fantastic catering to a meat lover, A vegan and other mixed requests when the kids used to come along. The ambiance dwarfs the food, it is the ultimate Ocean City.
Service is always friendly and helpful. The bread you get up front (along with a special treat that changes) will get your gastric juices flowing.
OK, I only have one issue. Year's ago the facility prepared a dink called the Great White Shark. I LOVED IT. For the past couple of years they will no longer do it. Can we bring it back.

See you next year.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Randler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Found this place by mistake! Great service, tasty food, positive vibe overall. We were family of 3 and enjoyed the place a lot! Has good variety if craft beers with quality seafood menu!
Will return!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank humis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Located in the ocean city fishing harbor, such a classy place, happy hour foo and drink speeches are wonderful I suggest the Chesapeake nachos, the dinner menus is always changing and exciting, they have wonderful inexpensive lunch speeches to and a great view of the harbor and assatuuqe islands

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We knew nothing about this restaurant except that it was #2 in seafood restaurants in OC, according to TripAdvisor. We did not have a reservation, and found the best tables were all reserved. They seated us under a giant ceiling fan, which was uncomfortable. We asked them to turn it down, and the server said she couldn't do it, but she did anyway. The server was pleasant and efficient, but she never asked what drinks we wanted, nor did she ever refill water glasses. The menu talks about "mindful" food, whatever that is, and explains the source of all ingredients, presumably local. Here's the good news: we ordered a salad to split and they carefully composed two separate salads, which were large portions, fresh greens and very interesting salad dressing. (we had asked for something non-dairy) Delightful. One friend ordered swordfish that he really liked. When they brought an amuse bouche, they carefully brought one that had no cheese on it, in keeping with non-dairy needs. Bad news: there seems to be a "minefield" in each menu item, that you don't notice because it's not what you expect. We ordered crab cakes, which were really pretty good, but it came with "Alabama white BBQ sauce" on a wheat roll. I had forgotten to ask about the sauce and when it arrived, was told it was their version of tartar sauce. The sauce and the wheat roll overwhelmed the taste of the crab cake. My friend ordered steamed shrimp which were served in some kind of broth in a cloth bag. She had to take the shrimp out because the broth was so salty. She also ordered a caprese salad with heirloom tomatoes and didn't notice that the mozzarella cheese was fried. Very disappointed, and the tomatoes were very anemic looking. When I tried to encourage her to say something, she simply said she didn't care enough because she would not be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swimmom1dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shark on the Harbor also viewed

 

Been to The Shark on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing