We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant ever!!!!”

The Shark on the Harbor
Ranked #10 of 431 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: real food * from scratch We believe that great food and healthful ingredients are not mutually exclusive of each other. We buy organic produce from local farmers and seafood from the commercial fishing harbor right outside our restaurant. We feature all natural products - steering clear of preservatives and antibiotics. Whole grains and whole foods are used in the preparation of our menu - which our chefs write twice daily, based on what's fresh, available and delicious. Fresh. Local. Organic. Taste the difference.
Stanhope
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever!!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We tried The Shark because of all the positive articles we read. We have to say it is probably one of the best restaurants we have ever experienced - and we eat out alot. The menu is very different but offers something for every taste from gourmet to small plates to bison burgers. The scallop ceviche, steamed shrimp, filet mignon, and Chesapeake chicken were beyond excellent. The staff - especially Dan - are incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, attentive, and courteous. The manager/hostess checked on us and made us feel very welcome. The place is small and has a lot of local customers so it is a good idea to have a reservation. They pride themselves on using fresh, local, and home-grown ingredients and the food tastes incredible!!! We hope to go back many more times before we leave Ocean City. Well done Shark owners, chefs, and staff. You are truly a five star restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    288
    88
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic service.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Shark on the Harbor is a favorite of the local community. Hardly a day or an evening goes by without many locals patronizing this "favorite of the locals." Using local, organic foods as much as possible, the menu contains choices for everyone: from meat lovers to seafood aficionados. Executive chef/owner,Travis Wright, is constantly searching for new menu choices, while keeping the favorites of his faithful patrons. Some menu favorites of the locals include: the eggplant tower, the Bayou crab cake (one faithful patron boasts of eating his running total (as of August 2012) of 80 Bayou crab cakes)and during the "off season", especially during the winter, the varied choices of delicious homemade soups. In addition to the food, the staff, especially the bartenders, really do their best to make the customers feel comfortable in a relaxed and casual atmosphere. Don't miss making this one of your dinner choices while in Ocean City, Maryland.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ronjones11640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you love fresh and organic”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you're visiting the Ocean City area, you don't have to dress up but reservations are a must even off season at the Shark. Overlooking the inlet harbor this restaurant has a casual relaxed atmosphere so if you're wearing shorts, you can come as you are.There is a huge bar in the center of the room around which you can eat, drink and watch the local teams or special events on the few TVs which really don't interfere with hearing the people near you. The menu changes nightly depending upon what the fishing boats bring in that day, mahi, wahoo, tuna, rockfish, lobsters, etc, but our favorites include the Eggplant Tower, a highrise of breaded eggplant interspersed with fresh crabmeat and shrimp in a light tomato sauce, their braised short ribs over bok choy with garlic mashed potatoes and of course, their version of delicious Maryland crabcakes. If you're looking for a great meal, don't mind some background noise from the crowds and enjoy watching the boats at the dock, visit the Shark on Sunset Rd in West Ocean City. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franandjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happy Hour at it's best!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

OMG, this was a great stop! We were visiting OC and needed a place to have a drink while watching our Bronco's get tromped. We found The Shark on TripAdvisor and after looking over the menu on their website we knew we had found our kind of place! And indeed we had! We sat at the bar for happy hour and enjoyed the wonderful food offered on the happy hour menu! We had a delightful time there ... the food and the service were both outstanding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudiNeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coal cracker”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Saw this restaurant on trip advisor. When we arrived it was not too busy and we had second thoughts but we were never left down by the advise on trip advisor so we went in. It was very good, very fresh, nice variety, some very unique items to choose from on the menu. Until we finished our dinner, the restaurant was very busy. Would return next trip to ocean city!

Helpful?
Thank AD2BUKTLST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shark on the Harbor also viewed

 

Been to The Shark on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing