We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love The Shark”

The Shark on the Harbor
Ranked #8 of 418 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We love The Shark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I have been taking a yearly week long trip to Ocean City for R&R every April. One of our favorite restaurants is The Shark. We have been there four times in the last three years.
This year we went there twice. On the first visit we ate at the bar and started with steamed jumbo shrimp with baguette, it was amazing. A beautiful presentation the shrimp are steamed in a light wine butter broth. We also had the angus burgers with side salad and fries. Delicious. The food was fresh and tasty and priced right since they were specials at the bar. Generous servings, I had to take half of the burger back to the condo.The food featured is local and so fresh! The bartenders were friendly and attentive.
We decided to make reservations for Lobster nght which we enjoyed. Very nice special served with lobster( large chunks) mashed potatos and veggie, along with bread. A lot to eat!
The restaurant is upscale casual with a nice view of the harbor.
We eally recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Ocean City, we are glad we found this gem and look forward to returning to The Shark on our next visit. You will enjoy the harbor atmosphere, the service and the food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank molly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    277
    80
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant in west ocean city”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was greeted by a bartender who was nore concerned with the NFL draft and serving the wait staff beers to drink for themselves. After seeing the menu i knew i should have left immediately howere i gave it a chance. 40 minutes later i a greeted with gritty steamed clams and a cheeseburger i refused to eat. Learn the basics of food service annd basic cooking before you add out if the norm ingredients and even attempt to pass yourself off as a restaurant. Once again, the WORST restaurant in west ocean city

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank billfisherman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too fussy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Expensive over cooked fish, tasteless meat with inedible over cheesy gnocchi. Overall over rich combinations of foods and flavors. Good service. Go for a drink at the bar and enjoy the view. Eat somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eatingedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in West OC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Excellent restaurant... Exceeded our expectations. Shrimp and lobster dip is amazing with huge jumbo shrimp on top and lots of lobster. Wedge salad was a refreshing change from those that usually are drenched with dressing for flavor. This one had fresh tomatoes, beautiful lettuce, aged blue cheese chunks, and a balsamic reduction with creme freshe on the side. W both had crabcakes and thought they were excellent. They serve ginger beer, which is unique and a favorite. Atmosphere is beautiful. It was a bit loud, but that is by virtue of it being one large room without much to absorb the sound. One of the best meals I've had in a long time, more reminiscent of the care and attention to local, fresh ingredients that you get in France than in the U.S. We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank MeginOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great venue, great food and service to match.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife, daughter and I enjoyed dinner there recently. We had the mako shark, scallops, and rock fish, all of which were locally sourced. In fact, our courteous and very knowledgeable waiter pointed out the fishing boats responsible for our catch. The food was excellent, as was the view from all directions, thanks to the surrounding sliding glass doors. Dining there was a pleasure, and we'll be sure to include it in our plans the next time we venture to Ocean City MD.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shark on the Harbor also viewed

 
Ocean City, MD
 

Been to The Shark on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing