We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food nice atmosphere”

The Shark on the Harbor
Ranked #9 of 420 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I like to eat and I like when a chef can put together flavors. In short I was pleased. My wife couldnt finish her meal and boxed it. The next morning she said that "that's the best tasting cold fries I've ever tasted" loved it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Homestead27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    278
    81
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Shark is great food and very friendly service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank philstafferontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One awesome/consistent restaurant”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Being a local, I don't go out to dinner very often so when I do I want good service and consistently good food. The Shark is that restaurant. I've actually been twice this month, both times on a Thursday because of the dinner special -- 1.5 lobster, lobster mashed potatoes, fresh vegetables and bread for $20. Everything was cooked to perfection, as usual. The duck 2 ways and eggplant tower (layered with crab meat) are also excellent choices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ocpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Could benefit from friendlier staff”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We’ve been to The Shark quite a few times. It is always busy, so it’s best to make a reservation if you decide to give it a try. We really appreciate that the restaurant utilizes fresh local ingredients in their dishes and offers some creative and unique combinations on the menu. It certainly gives The Shark an edge in a sea of AYCE crab buffets. Some of our favorites here are the lobster mashed potatoes and the crab cakes. The aioli is very yummy. Plus, we love that they have homemade treats that we can order and take home for our dog.

However, this restaurant has one significant downfall, and that is its service. Each time we’ve eaten here, we’ve commented on the icy greeting we receive at the door. There is a particular hostess who is very arrogant and unfriendly, and that always has a negative impact on our dining experience. When we dropped in without reservations last week, we were told at 7:00 that the wait time for a party of 2 would be 2 hours, which we felt to be extremely excessive in the off season. I find it hard to believe that the restaurant wouldn’t be able to accommodate a party of 2 earlier than 9:00 in the evening. But if that’s the case, The Shark should consider hiring more staff members. I wouldn’t wait 2 hours to eat dinner even if it was being prepared by Bobby Flay, and while the food here is a cut above some of the other OC restaurants, it’s still not 5 star quality. With friendlier and faster service, I’d give The Shark much more business.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EllieWhit1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin MD
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of my go-to restarants!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I am a local and this is one of my favorite spots! Great food made with local, organic ingredients (one of the very few in the area). Good views and reasonable prices. The only downside is the service can be a little unpredictable and unfriendly. Good lunch spot!

Helpful?
2 Thank opgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shark on the Harbor also viewed

 

Been to The Shark on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing