We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiting long for the wrong food”

Hooper's Crab House
Ranked #130 of 426 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
1 review
“Waiting long for the wrong food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Atmosphere is nice, but it's very loud. I had to shout to talk to the person across from me. The food was satisfactory depending on what you get. Cream of crab is okay... Crab balls taste like shells. Extra large crabs are medium sized at an extra large price. The fried shrimp is good. Prime rib was good but fatty. Kid's mac and cheese came out cold. Everything is VERY expensive. Four members of our party waited over an hour for food. Waiters seemed confused and brought out three additional dishes we hadn't ordered. Service was terrible. We're not in a hurry to return any time soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    132
    106
    86
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with my family. You have to buy a $7 cup to have drink refills. Also I had the $32 all you can eat crab, chicken and shrimp. I had to fill up on the chicken instead of the tiny bits of crab. I will not be returning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jason f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Pennsylvania
1 review
“MD crabhouse without seasoning!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If u like your crabs without any seasoning whatsoever, then this is the place to go! What a disappointment and waste of money. Then i ordered dessert only to be told 15 minutes later they were out of it! Awful experience for a maryland crabhouse!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great food with a beautiful view. Went with a large crowd and the waiter broke our checks down without a complaint. Enjoyed the atmosphere and would definitely come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pebble7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, MI
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go earlier to dinner and there was no wait.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were out exploring OC one afternoon after the kids were cranky at the beach.
We ended up at Hooper's for an early dinner. Huge place, lots of cars, so we gave it a try.

Walked right up and got a table right away. The interior is interesting with race cars, airplanes, motorcyles, and the Blues Brothers on the wall.

The service was excellent and fast, but the food was average.

Soup was not hot and barely warm, and everything was delivered so fast to the table that we had all of our food shortly after we were delivered our Cream of Crab soup.

When we walked out, there were HUGE lines of people waiting to get in. So, our advice is to try an early dinner and get in and out quickly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris_From_Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooper's Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Hooper's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing