We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food in a strip mall”

Tequila Mockingbird
Ranked #63 of 431 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in a strip mall”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not in the heart of anything, way up town in a strip mall lies the cleverly named Tequila Mockingbird. If you've got a jones for Mexican, there are a handful of places in and around OC. This one really hit all the marks for me. I had yummy fish tacos. The restaurant is pleasant. Our waiter was wonderfully friendly and witty. The place was energetic. The price was reasonable. All in all a great place to get Mexican food once you find it. (Just get the address and you'll be fine. I think it's in the same strip mall as the Shop Rite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sargeatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    103
    41
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just average food but still one of my Ocean City favorites”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Family ate here for the second time in a few years. Fun place, great t-shirts, but just average food. Stick with the basics; my fish tacos were good, the fresh salsa is great, but my husband's chicken with crabmeat was heavy. Still, a good option in North Ocean City, has a locals feel and good atmosphere, with prompt and friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank HfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWFUL & RUDE Owner/Manager”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

To start with, the "salsa" was not salsa, it was pico de guillea. The chicken tacos could NOT have been more BLAND. The steak Fajita was TOUGH . The "mexican rice" was like Uncle Ben's wild rice. When we complained, the manager/owner was rude, unapologetic and really couldn't care less. His response was "I have a full house" I don't really care about what you think. I would NOT return nor recommend to anyone that wants Mexican food - because this place does NOT serve Mexican food. DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE - AWFUL !!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just get the fish bowl and call it a day.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The only thing worth going to tequila for is their fish bowl margaritas. While its pricey, it can be split with a friend. The food was horrible. They also tend to get pretty busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naptownfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Seems to have slipped a bit over the years”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As frequent Ocean City visitors, we have had better experiences at Tequila Mockingbird in the past. While acceptable, the food lacked a certain "spirit". It was simply one notch above what could be had at a national fast food Mexican chain. Part of this may have been our arrival in the middle of the afternoon for a late lunch. Assuming that the kitchen was simply "idling" when we placed our orders, this could have been the cause of less than outstanding fare. We will return and hopefully find their offerings are back to what was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila Mockingbird also viewed

 

Been to Tequila Mockingbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing