We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fast service, perfect pint 'o the dark stuff. Don't be discouraged by a long line.”

Shenanigan's Irish Pub and Grille
Ranked #23 of 441 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Shenanigan's Bar & Grille is an Irish themed restaurant on the boardwalk overlooking the beach. The only Irish bar in town, we are surrounded by great people and have amazing food. We offer an extensive drink menu, serve traditional Irish dishes, and have an excellent draft beer selection. Come get your Irish on!
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

First visit with my family. With English/Irish roots, we have a high standard for anyone calling their pub Irish.

Shenanigan's delivers.

Long line up out front? Don't despair. There's a good turn over rate and the bus boy clears and scrubs tables clean in 70 seconds (he was a blur).

Our choices: curry waffle chips as a shared appy (wow), Chessie's crab mac 'n cheese (a nice sharp Irish cheddar), Cally Shannon burger (with avocado, Irish cheddar, etc), Crab Cake Feast (choice of 1 or 2 cakes) with garlic mash and mixed veg, Irish Rover Ravioli, and the Poacher Boy salmon broiled in a Guinness glaze, topped with mango salsa, with garlic mash and a fresh tasty coleslaw.

Despite being very busy, our meals were delivered quickly and piping hot.

Frozen lemonade drinks for the girls were refreshing but very much on the sweet side rather than the expected tart side.

My Guinness was an exemplary pour. Complete with shamrock on the head.

We are here to end of the week and will absolutely return.

The only disappointments?
1. I didn't leave room to try the bread pudding, and
2. finding out they're not open for breakfast.



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cartoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Owner at Shenanigan's Irish Pub and Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Appreciate the good review!

Slàinte,
Greg, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 435 of 727 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Love this place! We come back every time we're in town. It's fun to eat right along the boardwalk, I prefer outside, but even inside is fun. The french dip sandwich is my absolute favorite and their waffle fries are killer. My husband loves their fish and chips and thinks theirs is the best in town. I had a mango daquiri that was delicious - if not a bit small for $6.50. Love that they text you when your table is ready so you can check out some things on the boardwalk while you wait.

Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Owner at Shenanigan's Irish Pub and Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Appreciate the amazing review, Stacey!

All the best,
Greg, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stopped in for a few drinks on our first night after a long drive. The drinks were very cold and they offered a nice variety of draft beers. The live band was fun and entertaining. The decor is great. Nice little place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank deso014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Owner at Shenanigan's Irish Pub and Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thanks for the great review!

Cheers,
Greg, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was our 4th year at this restaurant. Last three years were great, this year not so much. Waitress was clueless - she offered "mayonnaise" as a salad dressing choice and had to be asked twice for nearly everything we asked for. We had to send a steak back that was supposed to be med-rare that came out like shoe leather. The shrimp in one of our pasta dishes was also way-overcooked. By the time the re-done steak was returned to the table, the other 3 of us had long finished eating. It's too bad this place seems to be going down hill. Maybe it was just a bad night. The last three years we would have rated with 4 circles.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Owner at Shenanigan's Irish Pub and Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry to hear this visit wasn't as great as the past three years. Your steak should have come out perfect the first time and I'll be checking back with my team to ensure this was just a one-time thing.

I'd really like if you came back in. I know we're still the place you love!

Cheers,
Greg, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Went here our last night in Ocean City for a late dinner with the kids. The live music was fun and engaging and the kids danced after dinner for a bit. The bar was reasonably full for a Thursday night but we got right in at a table. I had the County Cork Curry Chicken with veggies only and it was very good. A nice sweet curry sauce that had good flavor. The family had the Reuben (which she said was very good but was deli corned beef, not a real brisket which is our preference) and the kids had the pasta and burger and were satisfied. The bill was less than we were expecting. Good beer selection and reasonable prices on that as well. Will be coming back on our next trip to Ocean City for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Owner at Shenanigan's Irish Pub and Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thanks for the great review, Justin!

All the best,
Greg - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenanigan's Irish Pub and Grille also viewed

 

Been to Shenanigan's Irish Pub and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing