We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet was just OK...”
Review of SKIPJACK GRILL - CLOSED

SKIPJACK GRILL
Cuisines: American
Description: This is the restruant in the Commander hotel in oceancity md
Restaurant details
Description: This is the restruant in the Commander hotel in oceancity md
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had breakfast at Skipjack which was a 1 minute walk on the Boardwalk from our hotel on 13th street. You can choose to sit inside or on the patio with a beachfront view (of course we chose the beachfront view!). Be sure to come before 930am or you will not get beachfront seating and it will be very busy.

We ate from their buffet which was $11.75/adults, $6.75 for children (drink not included). The buffet was meager, there was only about 7 hot things to choose from, cereal and some fruit. Among the hot items were eggs, cheese eggs, pancakes, sausage, bacon, country potatoes and grits.

I feel that the buffet wasn't worth what I'd paid. They need to add more items to their buffet. If you are looking for a large buffet selection, I recommend going to the buffet at Castle in the Sand.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stonegyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We paid the Skipjack Grill another visit on our family trip to OC. Another great experience! Everyone is very friendly, food was excellent, restaurant was clean. This restaurant is located in the Commander Hotel. I highly recommend the breakfast buffet. It is not huge but has enough choices to satisfy all 5 members of our family. Milk and juice is on the buffet. Food is keep well stocked and fresh. We have been coming to OC for 20 years and this is the cleanest breakfast buffet I have had. Will definitely go back next year.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank familyof5mttop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went for breakfast and it was very good. The only dissappointment was the price of fruit. They charged $3 for a bowl of bananas that would probably cost .20 in the market. The strawberries were 4, I think.

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank babyblueize314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Let's see where do i begin i have been coming here long before i thought to stay at the hotel , but let's start with breakfast for the price you will never beat the Buffet the cooks keep it fresh and well stocked and the staff always have been the greatest and this is just some of the reasons i always eat,and drink here .Also the best view if you are here for the Air Show . So it's been 6 years since i have i started to eat here and i have see great things from the staff and i always get the best bang for my buck here so try it you will not be let down they even know what i want to drink as i am walking in the door unless i change it up on them .

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spitz17325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not your typical beach buffet. The buffet at Skipjacks is the best breakfast buffet we have had in OC. I wish we discovered it sooner. Exceptional service by a friendly staff. Very clean and great food. Can't wait to go back in July.

Date of visit: May 2013
2  Thank familyof5mttop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SKIPJACK GRILL also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing