We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to OC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Md
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Visit to OC”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First visit to OC, so a lot to see and do. Hotel is not exactly in the most convenient locale. Quite a few restaurants, bars, fast food, but a good drive to the Boardwalk. If you're looking for a quiet place to hang out with a significant other, maybe the right place, but kids are not optional. They're everywhere until the sun goes down..... Hotel is relatively new, clean and safe. Rooms are a little tight for more than two with big soft beds, almost too soft. Breakfast typical for most hotels with hot and cold foods. Pool area very nice with a fire pit for the evening dip and dry.

Room Tip: Stay on the bay side at least on the 3rd floor, quieter and a lot more picturesque. Nice sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeaglesRuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    264
    76
    27
    24
See reviews for
436
301
30
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Good - Hotel is a short walk to beach and offers great breakfast. Pool deck is great for viewing sunsets. The Bad - Room was small and show signs of wear even though newer hotel. Carpet was stained, bathroom had crack in tub and dent in wall. Elevator is heard throughout building. Balcony has no privacy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

LOCATION
On bay, 43rd street on Coastal Highway
Next to Makai Condominiums
Rita’s Ice and Dough Roller (Pizza and Pancakes) next door
Bank of America next door
Sunsations next door: for all your beach, toiletry and souveriour needs
Taphouse Market, Beer, Wine next door
Sushi within 1 block
OC Steamers within 1 block

CHECK-IN
** Lesley checked us in. Not extremely pleasant, but very informative. Everyone is entitled to a bad day, right?

BEACH ACCESS
** In order to get to the beach, you will have to cross Coastal Highway, and then walk 1 block to the beach. It is not a difficult walk at all. My only suggestion is to use the crosswalks. Not only is it safer that way, but we actually saw jay-walkers being issued tickets by police officers during our trip.

BOARDWALK
** Boardwalk starts at 27th street. Boardwalk is within walking distance of hotel for healthy individuals. We walked from the Hampton Inn to 27th street, walked the entire length of the boardwalk and then walked back to the hotel. We didn’t have any issues, but we are 2 healthy 30-something-year-old indiv

BUS STOP
** Bus stop literally right in front of the hotel. This bus stops every few blocks, and takes you south, to the end of the inlet. $1 for one way or $3 for a day. This is totally worth every penny if you have limited mobility, or if it’s really hot and you don’t want to walk. If you want to travel north, just cross the street from the hotel and walk up one block. You will find the bus stop there, and that bus goes all the way north. Buses do get crowded at night (after dinner), but they usually run every 15 minutes so there is always another bus on its way.

** Cleanliness is EXTREMELY important to me. Even though we don’t spend a lot of time in the hotel room, I want to make sure it is clean and fresh when we are in it. I would give this hotel a 4.5/5.0 for cleanliness. It is VERY clean, compared to most of the hotels I’ve stayed at throughout the world. The sheets are fresh and clean. The duvet cover is washed fresh for each new guest. The carpet, tiles and bathroom are very clean. The windows are very clean. Not a speck of dust anywhere in the room.

FITNESS AREA
** Fitness room has 3 treadmills, 2 elliptical machines, free weights, mats, medicine balls. See my pics for all of the equipment. Fitness room has plenty of TV’s plus a great view of the pool and bay. Much nicer than most hotel fitness rooms that are very small, and don’t have windows. Fitness room is adjacent to indoor pool.

POOLS
** Indoor pool and whirlpool very nice and clean. Pool is smaller size, which is expected for indoor pools at hotels.
** Outdoor pool pretty large. Outdoor pool closes at 10pm. Towels for pool must be checked-out at front desk, and then returned after use. There is also a little fire pit next to the pool. It’s nice to use at night. You can just sit around the fire and have a few drinks – lots of fun.

** Tiki bar serves bar food and drinks. Nice for a quick afternoon bite.

** On-site laundry facilities. $2.00 to wash your clothes. The laundry facility is located on the first floor, across from the breakfast area. We did not use the laundry facility, but it looked clean and well-kept.

FREE BREAKFAST
** Decent breakfast – nothing to write home about, but good enough for a quick bite before you start your day. While we were there, selections included, eggs, omelets, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, toast, bagels, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, water, tea.

FRONT DESK
If you need anything, ask for Charde at the front desk. She is amazing, very pleasant and has great tips for your trip.

Room Tip: If you have the extra money to spend, definitely choose a bay view room. It's completely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Butchie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at the Hampton Inn 9/7 & 9/8 for our Anniversary.

The location looked beautiful on the website; however the balconies overlooking the bay also overlook the backside of a shopping center & grocery store. Not quite the picturesque view we had hoped for. Also, the balconies have bright lights that are permanently on. This makes it difficult to enjoy the evening view & to sleep.

Additionally, the hotel is located within stumbling distance to the Taphouse; which may account for some of the issues at this hotel.

Each night there were very loud guests in the hallway. These guests weren't just stumbling to their room, they were partying in the hallway & the walls are so thin we could hear all of their nasty comments & rude behavior. We called the front desk each night after the partying continued past midnight. We were assured they would send someone up; however the partying continued with slamming doors & loud drunk people.

I rated the cleanliness low for one reason. When we returned to our room after it had been "cleaned", it had not been. We had accidentally spilled something on the floor & it was still there when we returned. I wonder what else hadn't been cleaned prior to our arrival.

We are frequent travelers & have not been this disappointed in a Hilton Hotel.

As part of the Hilton Hotels, I expected more; especially for the price.

Pass this property up if you are staying in Ocean City,MD.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Obtraveleragain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Enjoyed so much we actually extended our stay. We found the entire staff to be helpful and pleasant. The pool was great, even had a fire pit going in the evening. There's a poolside "tiki"bar with good food and drinks. This was only their second season so very up to date, and very clean. There is a free breakfast and it is very good and staff kept well stocked. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Don't think you could have a bad room. Bayview is very calming and the street side actually let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I can't begin to say enough positive things about this hotel. My husband and I enjoyed every day that we stay there. The decor is so modern and I loved how they related the pictures - black and white to all the different time periods of OCMD. The pool area and pool furniture it top notch and all the greenry and the fire pit just top it off. The place was so clean and the furniture is so nice. Also, loved the heavy doors to the rooms and between the rooms - it made it quite sound proof and having no noise is also very important to us. We would definitely stay there again - and, who ever owns the property really did a great job on this Hampton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the moment we walked into the lobby until we left, the hotel was clean and inviting. The free-form pool overlooking the bay was absolutely gorgeous, and at night, if you want to feel like you are somewhere else, just go to the pool, with their fire pit and lit-up torch-lamps surrounding the pool. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a nice surprise of being able to see the ocean from the parking-lot view. Great choice for a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 103 in Ocean City
2,174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 103 in Ocean City
3,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Address: 4301 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-3241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing